We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haad Tien beach resort - amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Haad Tien Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Haad Tien Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Haad Tien beach resort - amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just got back from two weeks staying at Haad Tien beach resort and it was amazing. We stayed in a pool villa which was sublime. It's our fourth time now there and frankly there is no other place like it for the price in the world. Staff were all amazing as well and the food was lush. Go and experience it I dare you. James and Sam x

Room Tip: Pool Villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear James & Sam
it was a pleasure to have you stay with us again, thanks for the great feedback on our restaurant and service, and of course the pool villa with its great view., we hope to welcoem you both back in the near future.

Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    254
    119
    65
    44
See reviews for
137
513
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed one night in a deluxe bungalow directly ON the beach. I don't think my words will do this resort or shark bay justice. The bungalow was beyond perfect. Every little touch...from the pot of water with coconut ladle to clean your sandy feet off before walking into your bungalow, to the private padded lounges on the beach as well as a padded couch on your deck allowing you to admire your peaceful view of shark bay. Each little addition made me fall more and more in love with Haad Tien. Their restaurant is all open air with an option of sitting on the beach. Their dinner was cooked to perfection and their breakfast spread had anything your heart desires. And shark bay is the most beautiful spot on Koh Tao. *It is a super pricey resort...but I can see why.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Both,
thank you for a wonderful review, delighted we have met and exceed your expectations.
its true its hard to describe the resort and the bay in a few words, a destination that must be seen and experienced.
have passed on your comments to all departments, we try to add those small touches that add to a guests experience.
thank you both once again, hope to welcome you back one day.

Best regards, the Staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed four nights here and enjoyed it very much. The room is nice and clean, it has a rustic look to it (don't expect chrome and glass!) and everything is made from or uses natural substances like wood and bamboo. It looks like a perfect seaside home. There is a mosquito net supplied over the bed, and you can request burner coils from reception. I found the aircon a bit noisy, but I am a very light sleeper, and it probably won't bother most other people.
The beach is stunning, and the prices for lunch and drinks at the beach bar is really very reasonable. Their fish and chips, and spring rolls, are recommended as is the coconut smoothie!
We booked a snorkelling trip through Dive Wishes, and it was lovely. Four of us were taken by speedboat to the best snorkelling spots around the island, including the famed Japanese Gardens. This is a must-do if you love snorkelling as the snorkelling closer to the beach is not that exciting, although if you're lucky, you'll see a reef shark or a turtle.
Dinner at the restaurant was also very good, and we thought not too expensive. We tried a variety of their food and were very satisfied with everything.
I had a lovely massage at the spa, and it is a really nice little spa, but small, so if the resort is full, book your treatments early or you might be disappointed.
The pool is really nice, the best loungers are at the pool, the ones on the beach are not that great. There is a very shallow section of the pool which is great for children or if you like to lie in the water. Clean beach/pool towels are delivered to your room every day, you also get 2 bottles of water per day. The mini bar prices are not extreme.
I would recommend this resort to those who want a peaceful, relaxing holiday with the added bonus of snorkelling or scuba if you want to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Deasr Both,
thank you for a wonderful review, your comments are valauble, we work off them
as we do otehrs to imporve our standards. will pass on the feed back on the fish and chips and spring rolls, The manager of Dive wishes sends his regards and thanks.
Chef and his team runs a very good Resort kitchen, we are loking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The resort is exactly like the photos, our beach hut was beautiful, clean and so comfortable. The resort itself was idelic. The beach was beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved it there and would stay again. The food and drinks were lovely and I would recommend having dinner on the beach front. It is so romantic and the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Castaway beach villa right on the golden beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Both,
Thank you for a wonderful review and comemnts our staff will be delighted
yes the beach does a lovely setting for a Romantic Dinner under thetars.

we hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff & Managment

please use only haadtien. com to book with us! our only web iste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Haad Tien - we had 3 nights in a Castaway Villa which was an amazing location right on a gorgeous quiet beach. The room was very nice and clean, however considering the price I was expecting something slightly more luxurious. The pool area is lovely and the food and drinks at the beach bar and also the restaurant were pleasant and reasonably priced. The staff were generally friendly however again considering the price we paid I had expected just a little more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Both, thank you for a great review, delighted we were able to exceed your expectations,
as a top end 4 star resort we offer a good service, could you be kind enough to give me some additional information on what you expected more, john@haadtien.com
hope to welcome you back in the near future.
best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really loved this resort. The days spent here were definitely the best part of our trip to Ko Samui and Ko Tao this time. We booked last minute (literally just minutes before arriving) and checked in rather early. At first it looked like we would have to wait for the room - no problem with that - but then it was immediately available, what a nice surprise right away.

The beach here is wonderful, although we noticed that one had to venture a bit further to actually find crystal clear water and see coral and fish, so we rented a kayak for snorkeling. I cannot say the snorkeling experience here was really amazing compared to some other places nearby, but it was still very enjoyable, and this is not a diving resort anyway.

Service was very friendly, and our getaway room was very nice indeed. Free wifi is always a plus. The room was very far away from the construction noise nearby that only bothered us during breakfast, though I have to confess that my review would be very different indeed, if this was not the case.

Prices especially for the minibar, kayaking and happy hour a the beach bar were all reasonable, which is not always the case in this kind of secluded high class resort. Breakfast was good and varied.

I'm giving this 5/5 for everything except 4/5 for the distant location. Perfect location would be a secluded beach near the center of the city, without any construction nearby - impossible, I know. Still, the hotel does offer free transport a few times daily that is helpful for exploring Ko Tao.

Very much recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Many thanks for a wonderful review on haadtien, we are delighted we were able to meet your expectations, it was a pleasure to meet you both upon arrival and able to get the room faster to you, its our culture to assist, we offer value for money without trying to be overboard.
looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, The staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I'm suprised that the Haad Tien is only number 8 for accommodation on Koh Tao as looking at what else was on offer it was definitely miles ahead of the rest! The beach is beautiful - clean, white sands, crystal clear water. It is quiet too - the resort is the only one on shark bay. We stayed at another higher rated hotel on trip advisor earlier on during our stay on Koh Tao and were very disappointed.

We stayed in a hideaway villa - it was perfect for what we needed. It was clean, spacious and we were very pleased. There was a large decking area outside with our own sunloungers to relax on. There was some construction work going on near to the resort which meant that noise could be heard around the reception area - ask for a room away from there and down the beach, we couldn't hear any noise in ours.

We went down to Sairee beach one day and it was disappointing - I had been to Koh Tao 7years ago when it was still relatively undeveloped but now the accumulation of bars and backpackers has totally spoilt the beach and there was rubbish everywhere.

The only downside was the breakfast here - everything was covered in flies. They have obviously tried to cover stuff up but as the area is open aired the flies were still there. I think the hotel needs to think about keeping the food somewhere undercover. We hardly ate anything at breakfast due to this.

The resort is quite secluded - they offer a free shuttle to Mae Haad at certain times of day but we didn't find much in the way of restaurants/bars there. We ate in the hotel restaurant at night and the food was lovely - overpriced for Thailand but still not European prices!

If you want to stay away from the backpacker crowd on a beautiful beach then head here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from reception - you can hear the noise from the construction near there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
wonderfull review and feedback, thank you.
the hideaways do offer ample space and a lovely balcony to relax and enjoy the nature that surrounds the haad tien, agree with you in regards to the construction next door cannot be heard once you move away form the reception area.
Breakfast all steps have been undertaken to keep a clean and safe buffet area.

looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haad Tien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Tao
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haad Tien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haad Tien Beach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Haad Tien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haad Tien Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.