We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kao tao luxury getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Haad Tien Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Haad Tien Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Kao tao luxury getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 4 days here for our honeymoon in October. Whilst the weather was wet it still felt like a paradise getaway. We stayed in the Castaway cabins which were luxurious and with lots of privacy as well as an almost private section of the beach. The cabins are almost new and in a very clean. The small touches like a pot of water to dip your feet in before entering the cabin were well thought out.

The happy hour drinks were great and it had a real social atmosphere as we mingled with other holiday makers. I recommend people take advantage of this.

Kayak hire was a tad expensive.

Breakfast was standard buffet however the orange juice was more cordial than juice. The view from the breakfast room was to die for.

The free shuttle to town was great because it meant we weren't limited to the resort's cuisine and activities.

Room Tip: Castaway cabins well worth the additional dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    229
    103
    59
    31
See reviews for
116
459
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Way too expensive. The resort is lovely and a high class no doubt but you can have very nearly as good for a fraction of the price elsewhere on the island. The location is nice if you want to stay there and not leave much as they charge a premium for taxi service and won't let in regular taxis through the gates.

There is supposed to be good snorkeling in the private bay but only in the times of the year when that side of the island has calm seas, which it didn't when I visited. No nearby nightlife/restaurants without taxis.

The prices for food and drink approach double the island norm and don't include a 17% combined tax and service charge. I didn't eat there in the evenings as a result.

One day they refused to serve food to about 20 people sheltering from a rainstorm in the beach bar, whilst everyone watched one group happily eat by themselves. This was at lunch time also.

Better value to be had elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passau, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best resort in this area. Wonderful beach, you can watch Sharks ± 100m outside.
Beautiful cottages, daybeds outside the cottage with wonderful view, outstanding infinity pool, perfect service.

For nightlife you need to go by pickup to another beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
thank you for the wonderfull feed back, and yes the Bay is called Shark bay
where the black tipped shark can be seen often, along with baracudda and green back turtles.
the resort is proud to be associated with the natures that surounds us, hence the style and design of our villas and cottages reflect the ambiance of a real tropical hideaway .
wishing you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent three nights over Christmas at haad tien and it was amazing! When we arrived we were given a free upgrade worth an extra 3000 bhat a night so that was a lovely surprise!! Our bungalow was beautiful! Very nicely decorated, big comfy bed, fridge, satellite tv, rainfall shower etc. Bungalows were cleaned every day and fresh towels for showering and pool/beach were changed everyday. We had a lovely outside seating area with beautiful views of the pool/beach. The only slight negative i could say about the bungalow would be that it isnt that well lit at night and the bathroom is only seperated from the room by a curtain, it wasnt a big deal to us but that might put others off.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area is stunning, and just a few steps away is the gorgeous private beach! we had three days in koh tao before arriving at haad tien and I'd say its one of the best on the island! I've been travelling south east asia for two months and this has been my favourite beach hands down! Its good because its private so there are no touts etc and with it being in a private bay its hard to get to so not too many people come here from outside the resort. The hotel also have kayaks for rent, which is fun to do.

The free breakfast was pretty good, huge selection of food to choose from. However, i wasnt overly impressed with the lunches/dinners we ate here. we definitely had better else where at a fraction of the price! I think if i stayed here again I would eat out every night, the resort offers a free shuttle bus to mae haad three times a day or to sairee beach for a small fee. There are some fantastic restaurants in mae haad and sairee beach so you dont have to eat all meals in haad tien. I think i expected so much more from the food as everything else about the place was fantastic! but this definitely wouldnt put me off, id stay here again and highly recommended it to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your feed back, much apreciated and you have been direct as well.
we can say now that the menus have been changed, a new chef has been brought on baord.
now we are developing a more traditional Thai food menu to enhance the geusts experiences,
lighting in the rooms is also being looked at to give a more brighter look in the evenings for those wishing to read a book or add some makeup.
thank you both again for choosing the haad tien beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our first anniversary here. It exceeded all our expectations. It has a beautiful beach to itself, the restaurant food is delicious and the rooms are very clean and spacious. We had booked the Haadtien Pool Villa. It has a private plunge pool. It is well secluded so theres good privacy.
There is a shark bay very close to the beach and it has some beautiful marine life. We rented a kayak and got to see beautiful sea turtles and flying fishes.
The dive shop close to the resort is a very expensive. We dove with Bans (in 1/3 the cost). Bans provides pick up n drop so u need not worry about travel. All and all I would highly recommend Haadtien

Room Tip: Definitely book the Haadtien Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
we are delighted that your expectations were met, and yes it was your first Anniversary that was a special ocassion to spend your time with us, our haad tien pool villas offer privacy then a short walk down to the beach.
our Dive shop are a bit more expensive of course as they cater for a smaller dive team, of 4 to 6 persons with their own boat making them a specialised team to dive with, understanably people have their own budget to work off, they now offer a discount for all Haad tien guests who dive with them.
thank you both for staying and choosing the haad tien beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff is kind to preserve the environment and take care of the old trees.

The food is various and excellent. Shakes of fruits were limitless.

The beach is like paradise, white sand, beautiful trees, big swimmingpool, ...
The bungalows are nice and clean. Very comfortable.

Nice staff but could be better.

We had a great stay and have a nice memory of it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
we strive to maintain the environment at all times, may it be the beach or suroundings
our policy is to be as one with nature to work with it and nurture the gifts it has given us.
we have a wonderful beach 350 meters in total with the name of the resort (Tien )comes from the indigenous tree on the beach.
the feed back for the food and services have been discussed with our staff and managment thank you.
a training porgram will be introduced mid year for all our teams to bring up their Hospitality skills.
thank you again for staying with us.
Best regards, the team and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for our Honeymoon in December 2012 and were not disappointed.

We emailed the resort beforehand to let them know it was our honeymoon but the room wasn't decorated or anything.

We booked a Getaway villa which was very close to the pool and not far away from the beach at all. The villa is quite basic but still lovely all the same.

I found the staff to be very friendly and the food prices at the resort were quite reasonable. The shuttle was handy but they should provide the shuttle as complimentary to Sairee as there isn't much to do at the Pier.

The beach is secluded and clean and trust that it was probably the nicest on Koh Thao.

Pros
Beautiful beach and pool
Lovely rooms
Nice restaurants
Friendly staff
Free wifi
Free movies

Cons
Bad lighting in rooms
no hot water
Screaming kids at the pool
Hard and uncomfortable bed

Room Tip: Getaway room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at The Haad Tien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
our apologies for not setting up the honeymoon standard set up as what is meant to be done.
we have set a new policy in place to ensure this never happens again.
the team strives to imrpove on a daily basis to ensure our guests feel welcome and special.
three points you mentioned in regards to the lighting we are working on the adjustments to add a more brighter light in the rooms, for the bed not sure if you did inform us, we have an additional duvet matress cover for the bed base to add the softness, hot water problem for your unit was rectifed we found a faulty unit, our apoloigies again,
we hope to welcome you back on your anniversary in the near future!
The team and Managment of haad tien Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haad Tien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haad Tien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haad Tien Beach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Haad Tien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haad Tien Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.