We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing, romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Haad Tien Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Haad Tien Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
4.0 of 5 stars 786 Reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing, relaxing, romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What an amazing resort! The view from the room was absolutely amazing, and the room spotless. We stayed in room 511, in a pool villa, right at the top of the resort. We basically had the best view and no one could see us while relaxing in our pool.

The resort in itself is right on the beach, 2 steps from the coral reef and its wonders. I highly recommend this resort if you like snorkelling and diving. It is also a great place to just unwind.

We were a little disappointed with the spa since it was not open while we were there and had to have our massages done on the bed, not ideal. And the food at the resort wasn't exceptional, it was just ok.

Overall, very very nice place!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Pool villa, room 511 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    229
    103
    59
    31
See reviews for
116
460
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Starting with the downsides just to get it off the table:
It is 5 min shuttle/taxi ride to/from Sairee beach. Though there's a free shuttle service it's only 3 times a day in a little awkward times. any other time will cost you 200 BHT PP (150 to the pier). As the place is a bit far away you can't really walk out and find another place to eat - have to take the shuttle.

Otherwise, the place is amazing.

Rooms: all are very close to the pool & beach. well equipped and very spacious. bed is nice and the outside sitting area is really cool (though take mosquitoes repellent).

Beach/Pool: Stunning. No other word. free snorkeling gear and a lot to see event 5 meter from the beach. You can also ask for some bread to feed the fish. The beach is very relaxed and is really secluded. The pool is also very cool with a Jacuzzi as well. Bar is in between and you can always ask to bring you some coconut shake or some food.

Restaurant/Bar: Prices are higher than in Sairee as you would expect of a secluded hotel but not too expensive. Lots of variety for Thai/Fish/Burger and food is quite fine.
Dinner also provide BBQ seafood which i liked.

Staff is very nice and will be happy to arrange any request/recommendation.

Room Tip: There are closer rooms as beach-front rooms, but actually all rooms are close to the beah
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamakura, Japan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Rating this resort is really difficult. Our first impression upon arrival was very lukewarm, as we had been on Samui in a cheaper resort which quite frankly was nicer and better equipped... The beach was also much smaller than we had imagined and the service encountered on check-in was much less friendly (the check-in process was overall quite unpleasant, partly because you get driven from the pier to the resort in the back of a truck and herded in like cattle, wait for quite a while and then encounter staff who are rather abrupt in manner). After adjusting to Haad Tien though, it grew on us and in the end we didn't want to leave.

Our bungalow (we went for a Castaway Villa - definitely the way to go!) was right on the beach - could hardly be closer to the water if you tried. The location and hence the view is idyllic - so lovely that it makes up for the overall unappealing aesthetic of the resort (the pool area is quite ugly and all those cut lawns feel a bit dry and barren for our liking) The bungalow itself was basic (not the luxury we had expected for this price in Thailand but in retrospect I guess you pay for the location) but nice - the shower is not huge and is quite dark/enclosed but works well and spits out hot water in ample supply and good temperature. The toilet feels a bit public for our liking - you have to be careful as the people in the bungalow next door can see right in if you don't fully close the curtain on the toilet door. The bed was comfy and big and looked right out to the turquiose blue sea - wow. The best feature of all though was the deck outside - the lounge/sofa thing is stylish, well designed and was perfect for getting a bit of work done as it turned out we needed to do - there were even some powerpoints available out there, which were really appreciated. The one drawback was the deck is not really very private, since the people next door gaze right over to you, but we were fortunate in that they weren't there much anyway.

In terms of facilities, the restaurant was really good. We're vegetarian and really into food so can be hard to please but they managed to keep us happy the whole time we were there with a fabulous range of fresh vegetables and a very good chef. We tried some other places around the island and none compared (although it is pricey, so be prepared to pay for it). The snorkeling gear they rent out free of charge was passable - much better than what other resorts have been able to offer us in Thailand. The snorkeling is average (much of the reef is dead but there are still lots of interesting fish) but still very much worth doing and is more fun than simply swimming. We took a private tour around the island which we enjoyed, although a bit more information from reception (they really aren't great) would have been appreciated - we went with no cash but it turned out we needed cash to get onto the island included in the trip. There was no information available at reception about any activities except diving trips so even the snorkeling was something we needed to enquire about. Not sure if anything else is on offer.

The biggest gripe we had about Haad Tien was that they refuse to arrange motorbike rental, or to recommend a trustworthy rental company. We have read about so many motorbike scams on Koh Tao that we weren't willing to hand our passports over to anyone without such a recommendation (and in fact the hotel recommended we don't), which meant we had no transport and were stuck at the resort. The few times we got taxis to other places on the island were really expensive - from memory about US$15 one way - and not convenient either as you can't explore as you please. This works well for the resort as you are practically forced to eat there - fortunately for us the restaurant was good so it didn't totally ruin the experience. For us though, the best part about being in Thailand is trying all the exotic fruit, and without transport you simply can't do that properly... longans, durian, mangostein etc are not available in the resort.

When we got to the end of our stay we extended for one night but were told the same room (211) was not available and that we had to move. The room we were shown to was located beside the pool, a long way from the beach, despite being called and charged as a Castaway Villa. We hated the pool area (not big pool fans in the first place) and the thought of being placed on the lawn at the back of the pool didn't appeal so we asked to cancel. After booking a non-refundable ferry ticket we were told that actually they did have one more room we could stay in - right at the far end of the beach (218). From the look of it we gathered it is probably seldom used and it felt a bit older and smaller than the other bungalows but its location was second to none - on the rocks rather than the powder white sand, but overlooking the entire beach - a totally awesome view which we really enjoyed. The short story here is that you need to be really careful with your room allocation - half the Castaway Villas are a total ripoff for what you get in terms of location, the other half are awesome. If your number is 210 or above you're in for a treat.

Room Tip: Go for a Castaway Villa and make sure it is set right on the sand as they do not all have the advert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The property sits on Shark Bay, which is gorgeous & perfect for snorkeling. It is not on a main beach - fine for us, wanting a quiet little escape, but do keep that in mind. We stayed in a Haadtien Villa - a very roomy "hut" with very simple wood & white linen decor - really cute. Very private feeling inside. The grounds are very pretty, tropical, & simple, no over the top gardens. Service was very good throughout. Food (both Thai & Western) & drinks were great - not exactly top notch, but great for SE Asia standards. Breakfast was included, & was ok, nothing spectacular. Fried pumpkin at the beach bar was fantastic & the guys there make a nice Mojito (and many other drinks). We enjoyed Happy Hour every day! Do rent a kayak - fun & good excercise, & try snorkeling even if you haven't before - it was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

To start with the positive things:
- The location of the hotel, the bay itself, is amazing. Great beach and very nice sea.
- The hotel offers free ride to the main village twice per day. Its a very nice service as in Thailand you either have to pay taxi or rent bike.
- The hotel as setup, with the bungalows around the cliff, the pool and trees looks wonderful. Somehow it fits very much with the environment and makes it look so tropical. Very picturesque.

The 2 problems we had were:
- the hotel seems quite new, and there are lot of constructions happening here and there ,a bit noisy sometimes.
- The staff is a bit "stiff" and i wouldn't say very helpful...

For Koh Tao though, for someone that needs "high quality" accommodation i believe its a nice choise.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms starting with 1 are the best... the beach side villas, although seem nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

fantastic bungalows in a serene, jungle-type setting. breathtaking beach in a secluded bay. each bungalow with a lounge-bed outside. food was pretty good. pool bar closes at 7pm (?) and there are no other bars, so hit the town if you feel like you need to... the sand on the beach is powder soft (awesome), but after around 11am the water is milky due to this fact, so snorkeling isn't too good unless you swimmout about 100 meters. you can always grab a kanu and drift along the rocks surrounding the bay for great snorkeling though. would highly recommend at least a short stay when on Koh Tao. we would have stayed longer (2 nights) but unfortunately they were fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Very expencive restaurant 3 times than in town, stuff in the reception unfreindly and unkindcas they makevyou afavour they let u stay in their hotek.
Other stuff are very nice and speak good english.
Pay attention to the kind of room u book
Because some are high and u need to claim.
Good for couples , less with families.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haad Tien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haad Tien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haad Tien Beach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Haad Tien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haad Tien Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.