We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of positives ... few niggles tho” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Haad Tien Beach Resort to your Saves list
The Haad Tien Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of positives ... few niggles tho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in a castaway (top of range) beach front cabin/villa. We loved it, right on the beach, great daybed overlooking ocean.... just what we wanted

Food ok but could do better .... not as good as the Amanjirah resort that we had just spent 7 days at and Haad Tien is 3 times the price hence should lift quality to match resort price. The worst pizza I've ever eaten .... I didnt complain as its Thailand and all the cooks were Thai, so not their fault and probably a stupid thing to order on my part!

The beach cocktail barman was great... fun friendly and excellent cocktail skills. So were most of the staff especially the adoreable porters who were fantastic and so keen to please and go out of their way to help. In fact all the Thai staff were great. Was a bit perplexed by the very serious female German? who I think was the manager ..... clearly she is not naturally cut out for the hospitality industry as was a bit like a german prison warden/old school mistress who did'nt look happy at all.... she was not outwardly rude when she gave us a tour of our room but just odd, robotic and not the thai smiley welcome that Thailand is famous for! Anyway we named her Hilda Von Trap and got some amusement out of it and just avoided here wherever possible. Sounds mean but first impressions last and this is a very expensive resort by Koh Tao standards.

Pool was aaamaaazing .... loved it! Beach was also great ..... had to wade out to snorkel as is low tide season, but was very pretty beach and kept spotlessly clean. Only down side was the bit of construction work that was going on but to be honest after a few excellent strawberry daquiries we didnt really notice!

Yes would def reccomend and probably return as is a beautiful natural resort that is trying hard to keep with nature.

Room Tip: they all looked great depending on budget/occasion ... castaway was great tho despite the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    254
    119
    65
    44
See reviews for
137
513
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is the third time we have visited Koh Tao and every trip is more memorable than the last one! This time we stay at Haad Tien for 7 nights. The resort is set very nicely on a secluded bay with a clean beach and away from the crowds of Sairee and Mae Haad. This is exactly what we wanted. Yet you have the option to take the evening or afternoon shuttle to town and enjoy the variety of restaurants.

We stayed in the Castaway Villas right next to the pool, 208 and 207. Fantastic location! The pool and beach both were less than 50 ft away. The vill was clean, well equipped and had all the amenities of a five star resort. The pool was also beautiful and the water temperature was just perfect. A few suggestions for the villa: It would be nice to have a folding table in the villa for placing the food tray when dining outside in the balcony or in the room. Also it would be nice to have hooks for hanging clothes in the toilet area and inside the shower area. Otherwise it was perfect.

The shallow water on the beach was great to just relax and lay in the warm water but as pointed out by the other reviewers, not the best for snorkeling, especially when the tide was low. Even at high tide, the bay is fairly shallow and one can stand up to their shoulders in water 20 or 30 meters away from shore which is fun. The majority of the coral is bleached but if you can swim out towards the far right end of the beach there is decent coral and marine life to be seen.

Breakfast was good and we ate at the restaurants and ordered from the pool bar several times and found the food to be reasonably priced and tasty. I know the other reviews complain about the staff being inattentive but my view is that they are Island people and tend to have relaxed views about everything. A few smiles and an informal chat goes a long way and we had wonderful service from everyone, especially the General Manager who was always around to check on everything. The housekeeping supervisor was also great and we loved the figurines made on the bed with our towels. My only comment on the service is that the russian lady at the reception is not very friendly or welcoming, she is not rude but a smile or a welcome when you first arrive at the hotel is usually expected. We did not get any. Instead were just asked for our passports and credit card. Seemed more like going through Russian immigration!

Overall had a great Holiday and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Controversial experience: nice location but ordinary rooms, basic furniture, and poor staff (in comparison with other experience in thai resort). Make sure the workers have finished to build new bungalows and that you are not
coming in the low tide time (the beach gets muddy). Overpriced for what it offers

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Haad Tien is a lovely spot but our stay was disappointing.

We got the cheapest option, a cottage for $3000 baht and while cute it was really small and easily crowded by our luggage. The service wasn't great, particularly the beach bar, there seemed to be way too many staff around who while pleasant seemed more interested in each other than us . We felt like we were intruding often, our queries were brushed off with one word answers and we waited for service even though there were plenty of staff around.

Most disappointing though was the snorkeling - we'd chosen the bay because it apparently had some of the best snorkeling and we only had one night on the island to make the most of it. The day we arrived they had no fins and we didn't feel confident going out to deep without them as the sea was a bit choppy. The next day the tide was out for most of the day and it was impossible to snorkel unless you could get out to the drop off which you could only do by boat or picking your way through the coral. We tried to get on a snorkeling trip but the resort wasn't running one due to rough seas and said our side was the calmest on the island when we asked about other bays. So all we could do was wait and hope the tide came up enough for us to get out to the drop off before we had to leave. Unfortunately it didn't and we had to sit and watch as numerous snorkeling boats came by and let people out to snorkel right in front of us while we were stuck on our beach. It sucked and we couldn't help but feel that the resort could have done more to help, we saw a heap of other guests try and snorkel all day and fail and thought the staff should have offered to kayak people out or something, there was certainly enough staff to spare.

The resort is fine, we had bad luck, but I feel there is better value on the island and if you're only going to be there for a short time like we were I would recommend going to one of the busier beaches like Haad Sairee with more accommodation options, save some $$ and go on a snorkeling trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Great service (happy hour 5.00 - 7.00 pm, free pier pick-up, wifi, transport to the island´s village, etc.), nice location, we liked the swimmingpool.

Rather disappointing (hide-away) cottages. New ones seemed to be more okay. Still (little) construction work going on when we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We arrived at Haad Tien with alot of excitement as it was very much portrayed as being luxurious. We could only afford to stay in the cheapest accommodation - a 'cottage', and we must say we were a tad disappointed. The Cottages had previously been Divers lodges so weren't built for purpose like others in the complex. The room was small although not a problem, but the bathroom was strangely large and had the feel of a changing room, which is what it possibly was. It could easily have been halved to make a larger living area. The windows were open-air with mesh over so we had to wedge the door shut with a towel to enable the a/c to do it's job (the door wouldn't stay closed on it's own). The map on the site doesn't show the cottages - the 3 cottages are just set back between reception and the restaurant.

The rest of the accommodation looked lovely so if you can afford it go for these as they looked very modern. It was such a shame that there was so much construction - luckily we were away from the swimming pool and new buildings so it didn't affect us, but it ruined the ambience of the beach and beach bar.

Other people commented on the lack of transport to the pier - we had a lovely afternoon out one day - we had a free transfer out at 2.00pm and got the last one back at 9.30pm which was just right, and FREE! check the collection point - we waited in the wrong place and had to call the resort. We would highly recommend getting the shuttle to the pier and getting a taxi to Sairee beach which is much more beautiful than the one at the resort.

Food was nice whilst not special, and the mass of coral was dead unfortunately so didn't offer good snorkelling, unless you love sea cucumbers! The water was quite murky for the first few meters, but could've been due to the floods that were a few weeks prior to our visit.

Once the building work has finished it will be lovely, assuming you spend more on accommodation than we did! Staff were friendly too and had a range of DVDs to borrow and free wifi which was good.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My Girlfriend and I, enjoyed 5 nights of sheer bliss at Haad Tien during the end of April.
We booked a Getaway villa which was lovely, luxurious, with a good view of the sea and fairly private. They have a big bedded veranda, which we used often, to relax on, enjoy cheese and wine on, and even both enjoyed a massage on it.
After visting Koh Tao for the second time, last time having stayed at Jamakhiri, I think if you weigh it all up this has to be the best place to stay on the island.
IMO This is by far the beach on the island. You can also snorkel from here and if lucky view the resident Black-tip reef sharks.
The only down-side was some construction that is currently going on at the resort, they are builing a big rim-flow pool in the middle as well as about 5 or 6 new getaway villas behind this. Construction was said to be finished at the end of April but it looks like it could well be going on till August! Check before booking. The irritation came in the afternoons when relaxing on the veranda, one could hear the hammering and angle grinding in the distance, which we quickly resolved near enough to the agreed upon 5pm silent time, but still irritating none the less.
My advice would be , If you're planning to visit, wait until the construction is done. If you're dead keen to visit now, just know during the day there will be a bit of hammering and wood sawing, not bad but could be an issue for some.
Breakfast is excellent! Staff are really sweet, didn't have any dinners there. Rent a scooter and drive into Sairee or other restaurants at night. Try the new Darawan restuarant (near Bans Diving resort) for sunset and dinner this was a real treat!
Can't wait to back to Haad Tien and beautiful Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Getaway villas 301/2/3 or Castaways, not Hideaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haad Tien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haad Tien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Tao
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Tao
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haad Tien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haad Tien Beach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Haad Tien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haad Tien Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.