We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before back in 05 service not good, once they have ur money they do not care, room clean and spacious but not beilli” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seashell Resort Koh Tao to your Saves list
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/1 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Stayed here before back in 05 service not good, once they have ur money they do not care, room clean and spacious but not beilli”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before back in 05 service not good, once they have ur money they do not care, room clean and spacious but not beilliant. Small bath which I expected but again no hot water, not the best in koh Tao but if ur I lt after basics for diving then maybe it is a good choice. Just don't dive with then, such a money orinated

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    67
    72
    55
    47
See reviews for
21
104
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gröbenzell, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have booked 2 rooms for 6 persons on the website of Seashell Resort. After recieving the confirmation we took the fairy to Koh Tao. When we arrived, the lady at the reception told us that they did not get any reservation and as we showed her our confirmation she told us that this would not be her problem. We told her that our credit card has been charged as well but she said she doesn't care.
Now we went to another hostel with really friendly peronnel and good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with 3 other friends and it was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our time in Thailand. We stayed in the family room which is absolutely huge, comfortable beds, brilliant air conditioning, and has a great bathroom with a good power shower. Not only this, it is also great value. But without doubt the main positive of this hotel is the brilliant beach bar and restaurant. It serves great food all day, for incredibly cheap prices and then at night, seats are put on the beach with fires providing a great atmosphere. The hotel is also in a great location, minutes away from all the wild night life of Koh Tao, but still far away enough for you to get a good nights sleep. The hotel services are also good with Internet available pretty much all day. It also runs a really cheap laundry service which we took advantage of. No problems with this hotel, can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were traveling to Thailand for a very short holiday. We had never been before and were unsure where to head. I am quite into scuba diving and my partner likes a shady resort with good air conditioning.

We choose seashells because of the pictures on the web site and the location on Koh Tao. Koh Tao and particularly Sairee Beach is very crowded. The infrastructure can not deal with the number of tourists. All the resorts seem to have similar problems, unfinished not properly landscaped gardens, noise from the roads and clubs, and rude, exasperating and difficult guests. The Thai people are generally very polite and hospitable. What we received at the Seashells was a definite feeling of atmosphere and tension. I felt this was because of the rudeness they received from the guests. When people were polite and friendly we got a polite and friendly response. The bell boys and cleaners were very lovely always smiling and helpful.

The rooms at the Seashells were very nice with good aircon, big bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Very nice. We moved rooms because of the noise from the club at the next door hotels pool.

The garden is needs some serious work. There is what appears to be a sink hole in the garden which looks like its swallowed up one of the little bungalows. None of the paths had been cemented in with all the slabs loose and unstable. The grass- never sure why they bother with grass in such hot places was all dead and crusty.

The breakfast was good, in some places very sweet but I think this is how the Thai think we like it.

I would not stay here again. This was mostly because of the location. The area was very loud full of lads on tour groups. When we got up early for breakfast about 7am there were people on the beach out from the night before trying to be cleared off by monks and shop keepers who were met with cries of "just one more fag love". When walking around Sariee beach you very quickly come across large piles of rubbish and bad smells. You get the feeling that the area can not cope with the number of tourists in the space. Everything has gone up very quickly with little thought. Saying that there are some lovely areas in Koh Tao we walked around the island and its very pretty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The pool villas are really nice and bright, the rooms with garden view are very dark and damaged due to damp.. We looked at both and decided to stay in a pool villa for one night. The pool looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for many months, the water was almost green because of dirty tiles.. The smaller pool, that I asume is for children, wasn't even clean enough to use, full of dead insects.. Even if it would have been possible to stay in a smaller cottage for less money we didn't think it would be worth it because of the pool. Since we travel with a small child we prefer a place with pool, so that we can relax there while he sleeps during the day.

The staff was mostly friendly. The bad thing is that internet is not included, you have to pay for wifi. Since it was rather expensive to stay here we were kind of expecting it to be included.. Breakfast was ok, nothing special..

If you travel with a small child - have in mind that they only have cribs/cots for really small children (like a cradle) and we couldn't use it for our son that is 1 year since he stands up when he wakes up and then would have fallen out.. This is very common though, it is hard to find a place with a real crib/cot.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the pool villas, they are much brighter and less damp. Not all pool villas are by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Welcome to an amazing located resort.. Get a ocean or pool view deluxe room but don't expect to be anything more than a number..
No care, no service, no English when you have a problem..
In the middle of everything, it is truly the best in this location, but like someone commented earlier- Thailand is about service!! None here..
Wifi is nearly non existent.. Buffet breakfast is the same everyday and cooked with minimum love..
The island is over inhabitated so no deals get done when buying or diving..
Shame that this beautiful spot is tainted with such a lack of tourist love..
Take Koh Toa for what it is and you'll leave happy.. A tourist money machine..
I'd stay here again but keeping in mind not to expect amazing treatment..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We usually stay at the Simple Life Resort but fancied a change so selected the Seashell as the reviews were mixed but the resort facilities looked nice.

We booked a poolside villa through Agoda and arrived to be taken to a room which wasn't beside the pool. We mentioned this to reception who checked the booking and said it's the right room. I called Agoda (long distance) and explained to them that the "poolside" villa is not beside the pool but that there is another villa in front of it so you cannot even see the pool let alone claim that the accommodation is beside it.

As amusing as this was, the property's owner came to talk with us and she told us that the poolside villas are just a name and that they are near the pool but not necessarily beside the pool...we had to laugh or else it would have spoilt the start of the holiday.

The poolside villa in the pic looks like a very cute modern built stand alone building. In our rush to book the trip we didn't realise that in fact each building is actually two separate rooms so we had a shared balcony / entrance with the room next door. This was our own mistake for not checking. A little disappointing at the lack of privacy but not the end of the world.

The pool at the SeaShell is a decent size, looks clean but as mentioned by others, it is very often busy and in use by the dive school.

The breakfast is in the cafe restaurant on the beachside. amazing views as you wait for your breakfast but the choice of breakkie is limited and on the meagre side. You get one OJ and one coffee with the breakkie. Additional drinks are charged.

As we were staying with SeaShell, our friends wanted to do their OpenWater so they arranged this through the sea shell dive shop opposite the restaurant. Our fun dives were well run but our friends were charged 9000 Baht each for their Open Water when it was agreed at 6000 per person. As I was present during the price discussions I asked the Geordie sales guy what was going on as we had agreed 6000 for the OW students. He apologised and disappeared inside to the office,spoke to his colleagues came back and said "they don't have their own gear so it's 3000 Baht for equipment rental...the 6000 was agreed for the course only"

The owner was called again and looked equally as unamused to see me again. the situation was explained. She then said "ok what is the problem? You agree to 6000 for open water but have to pay for bcd and equipment". I'd obviously bored her as she walked off mid conversation which even left the dive office staff shocked.

Later that evening we bumped into Khun Oh who is the Manager at Simple Life Resort. After the warm hellos he asked where we were staying and all was explained including the debacle with the OW course fees. His response was "they do this many time and not good for Koh Tao".

The following day, after a day's diving we returned to the dive shop (reluctantly had to use SeaShell as we had prepaid a few fun dives) and we saw Khun Oh there with the lady owner of SeaShell. The final outcome was that the guys doing their openwater were refunded 3000 Baht each. We don't know what was said or done but we accepted the refund gladly.

This isn't a warning not to stay at Sea Shell as many others have had an enjoyable stay. It is simply an accurate account of our experience. We have now made 6 trips to Koh Tao and continue to return but would not stay at sea shell again.

Room Tip: if you want a poolside room which is actually beside the pool and dont want a shared terrace / balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashell Resort Koh Tao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.