We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Superb Beach Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Seashell Resort Koh Tao to your Saves list
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/1 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
3.0 of 5 stars 238 Reviews
Belgium
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Affordable, Superb Beach Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm writing this review by one of Seashell Resort's three swimming pools. From this lap of luxury with an iced fresh coconut drink to hand I can see the soft, white sand of Sairee Beach fringing kilo metres of turquoise and acquamarine sea .

No, it is not a hostel - nor is it the Ritz . We are a family of three.and we enjoy our luxury too.

The Seashell Resort fits a good budget in heavily battered currency - the dreaded euro.

It is simply perfectly located and is close to myriad bars and super rest aurants .

People come to the beautiful island of Koh Tao for its unspoilt beaches and some of the best diving in these parts. Looking out to sea from the Seashell's poolside rooms which are ON the beach, one can see see see the magic Islands of Nang Yuan a good,mere 10 minutes by boat taxi.

Rooms at Seashell Resort range from cheap with a fan to airconditioned luxury. All rooms are en suite and the Seashell Restaurant offers a great selection of European, American and Thai foods.

Room Tip: The family rooms are connecting, 1 king size, 2 single beds, 2 nice bathrooms and very peaceful. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    56
    65
    47
    38
See reviews for
18
92
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the seashell resort in july with my girlfriend. We were staying in a poolside villa wit a/c. The room is nice and clean during the day but at night comes alive with wildlife from ants to mosquitos. We were all over thailand before we came here and only had a few odd bites, but we were eaten alive here an only at night... I dread to think what was biting us all night. The location is perfect right in the middle of everything. The pool is...ok but the kids pool has a lot of scum and stuff floating in it it looks truely disgusting... The staff are very rude and the least friendly hotel staff i have ever encountered !! I wouldnt advise staying here if you hate ants or hate rude arrogant staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Reserved through www.booking.com for one night before head off to Samui, found it look great on the site and nice location. Of course, I do agree with the location but a bit down with the free wi-fi for public area but only lobby and restaurant not at the pool. Network quite poor, but might be good if you paid for it, as they provide the password for a fee.

Two row in the middle of shower, the water cut off while I was rinse my hair, both evening and next morning that I have to used the drinking water to rinse and wash my face, around 30 mins the water come back to function again.

The nice thing was free shutter to the pier and pick up as well, but you need to ask them for that detail. They are not willing to tell you all about their service at first step. All you need you have to required and find out, if not you will miss their service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The location is perfect as it is right on the beach, but at the same time on the main road. Stayed here for 8 days as we took our diving certificate. The price is really good if you buy a diving package. if not it is mid-budget. We stayed in a bungalow w/fan and no aircon. We managed without, but if you suffer from heat you should consider airconditioned room.
Enjoyed our stay very much.
If there is one negative thing it is that theres ants, or at least in our room. We had a bag of caramels, and some cans of soda that were invated by ants.
As it is i the middle of Sairee beach it is short walking distance(3 minutes) to the shops, beach bar(Lotus) etc. and 10 minutes walking to beachclubs, such as fishbowl, etc.

Breakfast inculded if you want.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This resort has a great location between the main road and the beach and the rooms and reception look fantastic, but they let themselves down on too many fronts for me to recommend it. For starters our triple garden view room had a definite "drain" smell which didn't disappear for the duration of our stay. The shower also sprayed all over the place resulting in a permanently wet bathroom. The gardens, path and pool area are all unkempt which lets the whole resort down. No free wifi in rooms so you have to go to reception to use wifi or pay to use one of their computers. The restaurant across the road on the beach is where you have breakfast - its a buffet with quite a wide selection (western style, fruit, thai food) but EVERYTHING was cold and tasteless - oh and runs out towards 9.30am! Suggest you get there super early if you want anything vaguely warm or fresh. In fact the only day we enjoyed breakfast was the day we went diving and missed the buffet - they allowed us to use our breakfast coupon later on in the day and got freshly cooked fried rice and a cup of decent (and hot!) coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely room with a nice 4 poster, very clean and in a fantastic location about 2 mins from the beach!
Recommend lotus bar, turn right as you leave the hotel and it's down a road on you left, really cool place with live music on the beach.
Can't fault the place at all and the staff were polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Seashells has a good dive school, but otherwise it is a really bad place to stay on Koh Tao. We wouldnt normally comment on tripadvisor (giving most places the benefit of the doubt), but feel pretty strongly about this place. To put it simply, the staff are terrible. They resent any question, particulary any request for new towels or to sort out the bed bugs in your bed. Most of the time we would turn up to reception without any form of acknowlegdment. You will ask for something (such as clean towels) after waiting for 24 hours, and they will stare at you like you are crazy. The restaurant staff dont seem to be able to listen (they delivered every order late and got most things wrong as well). I know it is pretty damning to give a bad tipadvisor review, but I feel very strongly about this place. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Please do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashell Resort Koh Tao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.