We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant at the end of the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rimlae

Rimlae
16 Moo 1, Baan Haad Sai Ree, Ko Tao 84280 , Thailand
077-456-505, 077-456-504
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 124 Restaurants in Ko Tao
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant at the end of the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great seafood restaurant. The barracuda was well cooked or if you fancy cooking your own BBQ'ed fish that's also on the menu.

The restaurant is away from the main parties on the beach, so a lovely and quiet/romantic setting if that's what you are after!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is by far the most beautiful - breathtaking even - restaurant we saw on Koh Tao. Canopied wooden huts, warm lights, excellent views of the water, romantic atmosphere... The food was great, albeit pricier than at other restaurants we visited. We were there rather late (9:30pm) and the restaurant was almost empty. We had the feeling they were impatiently waiting for us to finish so that they can close. On other nights we passed by and it still seemed a bit empty, perhaps due to the higher prices or the fact that it's at the very end of Sairee beach, perhaps a bit too long of a walk for those tired from scuba diving. We really enjoyed it, though, and would recommend it, especially to couples who want to have a romantic dinner on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Just beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well worth the walk along the beach. The prettiest most gorgeous restaurant on Sairee.Excellent Thai food made me very happy. Like eating in a softly lit luxury treehouse :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gutted! Amazing place let down by awful service & overpriced food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile


We walked the length of the Sairee Beach on our first day in Koh Tao and found Rim Lae at the northern end. It is quite possibly the most beautiful restaurant I've ever seen- canopied wooden huts nestled in the rock under palms and fairy lights. It's absolutely stunning.
Having looked at the menu we noticed it was pricier than elsewhere on the island (expected) so decided to leave it to the end of the week. We visited on our penultimate night and sadly came away very disappointed.

It was very quiet when we arrived (about 8:45pm) which was a shame as we like restaurants to have a bit of a buzz about them.
The waitress who greeted us obviously didn't want us there. She wouldn't crack a smile no matter how much I smiled.
(You shouldn't expect great service on Koh Tao, It's a laid back place - but this girl was noticeably unpleasant).
The food was decent, but twice the price of other good restaurants on the island and due to lack of service we felt robbed.
When we finished eating we were the only ones left and the bill arrived before we requested it.
We left feeling really disappointed. When a place looks like this you have to work hard to spoilt it. Unfortunately the staff at Rimlae succeeded.
FYI - during our stay we had lunch twice at Sensi Paradise. It is similar to Rim Lae but at the very opposite end of the beach. The service here was 100 times better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Amazing View, Great Outdoor Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were here four times during our stay at Koh Tao. This is how much we love this restaurant. The setting of this place is amazing, offering great views of the sea and beach. Enjoy the sun and sea breeze and food at the same time. Food was great, we especially loved the seafood barbecue and Pad Thai, and of course the thirst quenching fresh coconut!

Food was served fast, and waiting staff was quite efficient, and friendly. We even made friend with a waiter who came to talk to us every time we visited.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rimlae also viewed

Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
Ko Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Rimlae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rimlae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.