We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected - pictures are deceiving !! Not a very pleasant experience for the price we payed !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Buncha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Buncha Resort to your Saves list
Dusit Buncha Resort
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 157 Reviews
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected - pictures are deceiving !! Not a very pleasant experience for the price we payed !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This resort is not what the pictures present it to be - the place is dirty and everything is busy falling apart and one can clearly see their is no maintenace done regulary. In addition the managing hand envolved seems to be missing - staff not trained properly - and the entire feeling of beieng welcomed is not what you will get here . I generally don't like to critisize , however this place realy doesn't meet up with what they charge - should have known this from the 3 star rating - hope this review can save the next person from going - !!
The other side of the Island is awesome !!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi there

We are very sorry that your stay at Dusit Buncha Resort was not satisfactory.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above. In addition, we are re-evaluating our inspection processes to ensure these type of issues do not occur in the future.

I am happy to let you know we do now have a maintenance employee on site to help speed up rectification of any problems as well as a number of new staff to welcome you to the resort.

Again, we are terribly sorry that your first experience with Dusit Buncha was not a good one and we do hope you visit us again.

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    24
    18
    22
See reviews for
22
69
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Maybe its because I was on my honeymoon when I stayed here but I have travelled all over SE Asia.
This was just so quiet peaceful and relaxing, we saw 3 types of room and opted for the detached villa on the seafront. What a view of the Nangyuan Island from anywhere in the room, with our own private beach. The room had everything but you wouldn't find these views anywhere. Bathroom was very big and contained everything you would ever need. Yes its 10 mins drive from the town centre but well worth it. We didn't need the pool we had our own pool on an enormous balcony with our own sun beds and dining area. It beats everywhere else i have stayed in Thailand by a mile. This luxury was at a very affordable rack rate of @6000 baht / night.
I had the time of my life with my new wife and many thanks to the staff for making it such an enjoyable memorable stay, the manager Tony could not have been more polite or helpful !

Room Tip: The beach front was our choice and yes you could hear the boats in the morning which is why many cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi there

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had one of the bungalows on the hill, every time we needed to walk to the pool we need to walk down the hill and stairs, then afterwards back up the hill. My wife and I are quite fit healthy people, so we didn't really mind. Unfit or older people might not appreciate the steep walk, especially if they get a cottage high up the hill.

The rooms were exquisite, we enjoyed the luxury, the bathroom was amazing and we generally had an amazing stay in these rooms. Our bungalow on the hill had a deck in front with deck chairs, what a great idea! We had some friends visit us, when they visited we sat on the deck having drinks.

The pool had a clear view of Nang Yuan island, we watched some great sunsets from inside the pool. The restaurant was also worth a try for any meal, an enjoyable breakfast buffet was included with your meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,
Thanks so much for your positive review of our resort, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very happy to hear you were so happy with your room, location and food and would love to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited this hotel whilst in Koh Tao Thursday luchtime 17-01-13 with a view to staying here, so we walked in the reception to which we were hardly greeted ,oh not a good start, so we walked down to the Restaurant which had a great Sea front location we thought ok lets see what this is like?
We sat at our table for nearly 20 mins trying to catch one of the 3 waiters attention who were chatting with each other
we were the only people sat there so we were starting to get frustrated.
After a further 10 mins we got up and walked out i voiced my opinion to the waiters who began to laugh at me!!
What a joke of a place!! take my advice give it a miss as there is a great resort next door called the Aminjirah well worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Adele & Phillip,

I'm so sorry your visit to Dusit Buncha Resort was not satisfactory and would like to let you know that we have recently employeed more front of house staff to greet guests and more restaurant staff in order to make your dining experience more pleasurable. We would love to see you again in the future in order to make up for your previous experience with us.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The resort is a way away from the main beach. There is no beach there however for most of the year. Scooter rentals in Koh Tao are a tricky business as many try to rip you off, so being far away is not ideal. The resort rooms were nice but up a really steep hill. The service however was appalling, not one single person spoke english of any sort, making it difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above.

I am happy to confirm that we now provide a free shuttle service to Sairee beach. We have also employed a number of English speaking staff to work at Front of House and in the Restaurant to eliminate any issues that may occur.

We do hope you visit Dusit Buncha again

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The gems are the view from the pool area over the sea and Koh Nang Yuan beach and from your house if you are lucky. The sensation of living in a jungle with noises and company (we came to enjoy the 3-4 gekko's in our villa as they eat the ants, although they do make noises at night). And lastly, the ability to snorkel from the resort area.

The finish of the place is concretish and although only 3 years old, it's generally worn from residing in a jungle.
You will feel a bit isolated and it's not the easiest way around if you are after an active holiday. On the other hand Sairee Beach seems pretty struck by main stream turism and there's even a party castle; what a shame. At Dusit you won't notice this at all.
The service is average; we though had a bad experience with booking.com, booking a day in advance and getting a confirmation wasn't enough; the resort wrote us the next morning that they unfortunately didn't have room for us the first night anyways....

We enjoyed the food, although not spectacular and slightly resort priced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and the geckos). We are sorry about the confusion with booking.com and hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to see you again here at Dusit for some snorkeling and sunset views.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We are happy with our choice. Two days before arrival, we wrote email to them for arranging transfer and that’s for free. Once we arrived at the pier ,we couldn’t find them so needed to call and they provide the transfer after 15 minutes. It took about 10 minutes from the pier to the hotel. Our tireness gone after seeing such a stunning view of Ko Nang Yuan ( opposite island ) view with very blue ocean and clear sky. We booked for Superior Villa 5 nights and got upgraded to Deluxe Villa which is quite near to lobby area. The room is quite big enough with thai style decoration. The food is ok with reasonable price. Staff are friendly. Highlight is the snorkel spot just in front of the hotel with plently of fish

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Ranjeet

Just wanted to say thank you for your review of our resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room and the services provided to you. We would love to see you again in the future for some more snorkeling and hillside sunsets!

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Buncha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.