We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dusit Buncha Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dusit Buncha Resort to your Saves list
Dusit Buncha Resort
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 54 Ko Tao B&B and Inns
3.5 of 5 stars 157 Reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“Not bad..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The resort is a way away from the main beach. There is no beach there however for most of the year. Scooter rentals in Koh Tao are a tricky business as many try to rip you off, so being far away is not ideal. The resort rooms were nice but up a really steep hill. The service however was appalling, not one single person spoke english of any sort, making it difficult.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your feedback - we do really appreciate it as it helps us to improve and provide a better service to our guests.

We have reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above.

I am happy to confirm that we now provide a free shuttle service to Sairee beach. We have also employed a number of English speaking staff to work at Front of House and in the Restaurant to eliminate any issues that may occur.

We do hope you visit Dusit Buncha again

Kindest regards

Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    24
    18
    22
See reviews for
22
69
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The gems are the view from the pool area over the sea and Koh Nang Yuan beach and from your house if you are lucky. The sensation of living in a jungle with noises and company (we came to enjoy the 3-4 gekko's in our villa as they eat the ants, although they do make noises at night). And lastly, the ability to snorkel from the resort area.

The finish of the place is concretish and although only 3 years old, it's generally worn from residing in a jungle.
You will feel a bit isolated and it's not the easiest way around if you are after an active holiday. On the other hand Sairee Beach seems pretty struck by main stream turism and there's even a party castle; what a shame. At Dusit you won't notice this at all.
The service is average; we though had a bad experience with booking.com, booking a day in advance and getting a confirmation wasn't enough; the resort wrote us the next morning that they unfortunately didn't have room for us the first night anyways....

We enjoyed the food, although not spectacular and slightly resort priced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and the geckos). We are sorry about the confusion with booking.com and hope you accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to see you again here at Dusit for some snorkeling and sunset views.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We are happy with our choice. Two days before arrival, we wrote email to them for arranging transfer and that’s for free. Once we arrived at the pier ,we couldn’t find them so needed to call and they provide the transfer after 15 minutes. It took about 10 minutes from the pier to the hotel. Our tireness gone after seeing such a stunning view of Ko Nang Yuan ( opposite island ) view with very blue ocean and clear sky. We booked for Superior Villa 5 nights and got upgraded to Deluxe Villa which is quite near to lobby area. The room is quite big enough with thai style decoration. The food is ok with reasonable price. Staff are friendly. Highlight is the snorkel spot just in front of the hotel with plently of fish

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Ranjeet

Just wanted to say thank you for your review of our resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your room and the services provided to you. We would love to see you again in the future for some more snorkeling and hillside sunsets!

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hotel property is very beautiful and spread across area. Reaching to this place is a challenge. Hotel is located at extreme north-west of the island. However easy it looks on the map, approach is tiresome - there is a steep (60 degrees angle) long walk from gate to the reception which does not end there. To reach your room from reception is another TASK! All this is even tougher when you are stepping out of the hotel as now you face a steep climb that exhaust you enough to not be able to go around the island. Taxi service provided by hotel is at fixed hours with no flexibility at all. There is no public transport and even if you hire a bike or car the road that leads to hotel is pitch dark at night for over 2 kilometers. Rooms are big and bathrooms are as big as room with no bath tub. We felt they have wasted space to give this a rustic look.

Breakfast was very limited and sausages had house fly. Butter served was past due expiry date (expiry date 6/Nov and we were at restaurant on 19/Nov) and when inquired we were instead advised that it is still good till end of year. Iam adding a picture as proof (funny). Restaurant is officially open till 10PM. When we went to the restaurant at 9PM, we were told that it is shut as chef and staff had left for the day. At 11PM we called reception asking for tea bags (missing in-room pantry), there was no one available to understand what Tea Bags are and apparently there was no one except a guard at reception who did not understand english.

The reason why we choose this hotel was due to proximity to Nangyuan Island. Hotel website also gives "mis-leading" information about availability of Kayak from hotel to Nangyuan. They DO NOT have any kayaking facility. When inquired about Kayak, were advised to rent one from Sairee beach (3-5 kilometers far).

This place is absolutely not for honeymooners, people suffering from any heart, asthama, or any other physical ailments. This is also not handicap friendly hotel. Not advisable for old people and with children. Not at all value for price of THB3000 for a night. There are much better places at Sairee Beach with same price.

Room Tip: Please stay close to reception if at all you choose to stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were imediately blown away by the beutiful surroundings. That evening we ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was ok, the major letdown being a Thai Elvisimpersonator singing covers very badly... Which was fun for half an hour the first day, not the rest of the meals for the entire stay.
The staff was almost unable to communicate in english, and things that were decided upon like taxis etc were forgotten.
Even nature itself were against us as nightly a choir of extremely loud frogs were making it impossible to sleep for more than a couple of hours... This might be seasonal though.

Overall beutiful hotell very secluded that ultimately was not worth the cost.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review of our resort, we really appreciate all your comments as this will help us improve on our current services. All your comments have been fed back to our resort manager and we would like to let you know that we have recently employed more English speaking staff to aide with bookings and services.

We hope you will visit us again in order for us to show you the improvements we have made to our resort.
Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Manager ar front desk was lovely and so accomodating, not sure of his name but would do anything for you.We were upgraded on arrival which was a great surprise. Rooms were quirky, lots of wood everywhere in hotel but i guess its staying close to nature!only problem realy was there were quite a few ants in the bathroom so wed to get bug spray!!!!Room had amazing view, staff were generally fine, location was a bit out of way, you needed to get an open backed truck which everyone travels in to the town so you may need to book or wait a few mins til they get you one but no problems. Its at the furthermost point of island so walking isnt an option. The menu had very funny ways of explaning the dishes :) basic enough menu, it could possibly be better. More fresh foods like fish, vegetables etc and less pasta/pizza/sandwiches. Great place to stay though, pool is like an infinity pool really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Claire
Thanks so much for your review, we are so pleased that you were happy with the service you were provided, especially from our manager Anek. We were more than happy to upgrade you and are glad you enjoyed our unique rooms.
We would love to see you back here in the near future.
Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The resort is placed at the end of the hilly site of Sairee beach. This is the last resort found there. To walk from the pier, it takes about 1 hour plus. The pickup will be waiting at the pier once you inform them of your arrival schedule.

The staffs at the receptionist were very welcoming and accomodating to our needs. They gave us a free upgrade to the junior suite from superior room, nearer to the beach and less walking distance to the restaurant, because my wife was pregnant.

The rooms were fantastic, huge, clean, open shower and most importantly quiet and creates a zen mood. The sunset can be seen directly from the balcony, which is also facing the Nang Yuan islands.

The restaurant was reasonably priced and acceptable taste. They also have room service.

The pool - facing the sunset and the twin islands, a site to behold during sunset.

They is no need of gym as the cardio workout is done after circling the hotel up and down hill twice..;)

They have complimentary taxi service to Sairee 3 times a day.

Overall, an excellent resort. I would normally give an 8/10, but owing to the hospitality of the crew, i give a 9/10.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DusitBuncha84360, Guest Relations Manager at Dusit Buncha Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi There,

We at Dusit Buncha Resort just wanted to say a big thank you for your review of our complex. We are overjoyed that you were treated so well and the services provided to you here were to your satisfaction.

We would love to see you and your family here again.

Many Thanks
Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dusit Buncha Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Buncha Resort

Address: 31/3 Moo 1, Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Buncha Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautifully laid out resort makes us the ideal choice for both couples and families. We have a wide variety of accommodation to suit all needs and budgets. Dusit Buncha Resort is the only Resort on Koh Tao that uses a solar cell system for almost all of the bungalows to save electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dusit Buncha Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Buncha Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dusit Buncha Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.