We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility, luxury with stunning views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone
Save
You added Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone to your Saves list
9/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility, luxury with stunning views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at this lovely hotel. We couldn't get a room on the beach as we needed a family room, so we stayed at the paradise zone which is set in the hill overlooking freedom beach and sharks bay. No need to worry about getting up the hill to the hotel, as they run a free shuttle bus between the two hotels which is great. You can use the facilities of both hotels too. The Koh Tao freedom beach resort has a lovely pool right on the beach. You can hire snokelling equipment from the little shop in reception. Very cheap too. There's a lovely restaurant for lunch. After you can enjoy a beer and food as the sun sets back up on the hillside resort. Spoilt for choice. Our family room was infact 2 bedrooms with the kids having 2 single beds plus their own tv,
and the bathroom was just off the entrance hall so nobody got disturbed at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with fresh towels for bathroom and beach everyday. Would really reccomend this hotel if you want a little bit extra. For us as a NON diving family it was perfect.would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    22
    17
    12
See reviews for
26
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Thailand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked us up for a 7 night stay after a recommendation from a fellow traveller. It turned out to be a mistake and we decided to just stay for 3. The reason for this was primary the overprice for what you get in terms of service and overall "feel".

When we booked we got promised a taxi pick up from 7-eleven just down the street, a 5 minute drive. We sat there and waited for just about 30 minutes before we started the walk instead. This was not very pleasant considering we had our 7 months baby with us in the gazing mid-day sun. As well as a lot of bagage as we are backpacking in Thailand for 3 months.

We merely got a "sorry" by the receptionist when we came complaining about it, and got the excuse that the driver was new and that she had told him to take the drive 3 times over the walkie-talkie. Worst excuse ever?

The interiors and linnens etc feel worn-out and should be changed, especially as they are making a good effort trying to be a exclusive resort. Our outdoor bathtub broke in a way so we couldn't turn it of upon our first use of it. It somewhat feels the establishment is slowly falling apart because of bad maintainance/management. This place is not worth the money, spend it somewhere else.

Room Tip: Sea view is the only reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunovice, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Deluxe Paradise room with "jacuzzi" in the room in March 2013. The taxi from the hotel waited for us at the pier and took us to the hotel (20mins journey). So far so good. The receptionist with a poor English was highly unfriendly and check in process was sort of nightmare. We didn't get vouchers for the breakfast right away but after 2 mins conversation and finding the voucher from the otel with confirmed breakfast. The room was slightly smelly and aircondition just above our heads was too noisy. The jacuzzi was full of ants and due to poor water pressure we couldn;t get any hot water to the jacuzzi so we didn't use it. However the view from the windows was breathtaking as well as views from reallyinfinity swimming pool. Also the staff in the restaurant were highly unfriendly and didn't care at all. Ignorance, poor English, we got a differend food than was ordered etc. Food quality fair. Breakfasts were the worst from all the breakfasts I've ever had. A la carte - american (eggs,ham or bacon, 2 toasts, butter,jam,orange juice, tea or coffee), continental (youghurt,tea or coffee, 2 toasts, jam, butter, eggs) or Thai. It takes 20 mins to get this really poor breakfast. The pool area wasn't too busy. It's not a big deal to get to the Beach Zone of the same resort - 5 mins walking but do not try to climb up to Paradise Zone from Beach Zone and use complimentary transfer that goes every 30 mins. It must have been a nice resort few year ago but not anymore. Some furniture needs refurbishment. I don't recommend to stay in this hotel but definitely recommend to visit the restarant vith amazing views and take a swim in infinity pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to a few nights in a nice resort. Ko Tao resort was fully booked so we opted for the Paradise Zone. The infinity pool with a view of the ocean was just beautiful and we spent many hours hanging off the side of the pool getting lost in the sunset. The rooms were a bit small but very clean and comfortable and cleaned daily. I don't know why they kept bringing us fresh towels everyday though, we had a huge collection by the end of our stay. We only ate once at the restaurant and were quite dissapointed. The food was bland and slightly over priced. Other than that, I highly recommend the Paradise Zone! The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the half hourly free shuttle service. Chalok Baan is really quiet and pretty and was the perfect place to completely unwind.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great value hotel that i would highly recommend!

The rooms are big and beds are "ok" for Thailand. The service is good and friendly with cleaning daily. Pool area looking out over the ocean is really nice and the restaurant has some great thaifood though not the best on the island and a bit on the pricey side.

The only bad thing is that its a bit far far from most bars/restaurants and up in the hills.
You can catch a ride to the "city" on the back of the hotel pick up thai style with the staff but its not always easy getting a ride back to the hotel in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June. There was only one other room taken whilst we were there which was wonderful. The rooms are spacious with amazing views. No one had mentioned how beautiful the beach is in front of the ko Tao resort, a small bay, the water is a shallow lagoon. We dived each morning with Samui Diving which is based at the resort. This is the easiest diving I have experienced, the boat takes you from the beach in front of the hotel to the dive boat which is moored a couple of minutes away. We had time for breakfast each morning, the complimentary taxi would take us down to the dive shop for a 7.30am start. We would be back by 12.30 and would spend the afternoon relaxing by the infinity pool which has an amazing view. We found a restaurant which served some of the best food we have found in Thailand, and so cheap. When you exit the hotel head downhill, pass the seven eleven and the restaurant is about 5 mins further on. There is no name outside, just a black and white yin and yang sign. It opens at 6.00pm and is busy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Ill start on a positive, the view is amazing ! best spot & the best pool. Our room smelt faintly of sewerage, the previous occupants dirty towels were still on the hook behind the bathroom door, there is no wifi available and the food was average. Not worth the price they are charging.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone

Address: 9/1 Moo 3 Chalok Baan Kao, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Paradise Zone Hotel Koh Tao
Paradise Zone Ko Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko Tao Resort - Paradise Zone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.