We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Koh Tao Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chintakiri Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chintakiri Resort to your Saves list
Chintakiri Resort
19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Koh Tao Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Great hotel with really great staff. Rooms and pool are fantastic. The food and drinks in the restaurant were better than at other places we ate at in Koh Tao. Free Wifi around the hotel and the room was also a major plus. The only negative was the music in the restaurant!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    86
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
190
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This is a very over due review. Stayed here in Jan/Feb 2009 and had the most relaxing time. Hotel was amazing, room and view spectacular. The breakfast was so good every morning, fresh fruit and yogurts. It was my birthday while I was there and they came and sung happy birthday to me at breakfast :)

Loved Koh Tao and still plan to go back sometime soon. This part of the island is amazing, loved the beach, the fishermans restaurant and most of all the reggae bar-spent many a drunken evening in there. Such good memories, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Chintakiri was our final destination of a month 'flash' packing around Thailand and we both agreed it was our most favourite of the whole trip. Such a beautiful location with stunning views across the bay. The room was excellent, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was the most comfortable of our whole trip too.
The infinity pool, although small was just right and it was lovely to take a dip and rest on the edge gazing over the breathtaking view. The staff were really friendly and the food superb. There was a good choice at breakfast and we actually ate dinner there each evening of our three night stay.
It is just a short 2 minute walk down to the beach and a VERY steep 5 minute walk back :) but worth the climb for the stunning view.
We only wish we had found it earlier in our trip and could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Quiet and a really nice hotel. It is far enough away from the nightlife so you get a quiet room and a good sleep. The hotel is on the side of a big hill but amazing view especially at sunset. The staff who work here are extremely friendly, helpful and laid back as well. We stayed here for 3 nights and had an excellent time. We hired one of the hotel scooters to get us up the hill which was heaps of fun.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We booked a week and ended up staying almost two and loved every minute. Chintakiri is a beautiful, stylsih resort built on a cliffside and the views really are incredible. The rooms, the staff and the location were just fantastic! It felt like paradise.

Koh Tao is a brilliant place with tons to do. There are beautiful beaches, clear water, snorkling to die for, fishing, diving etc. Everything is easy to organize & reasonable. We preferred the southern end of the island and found pretty much everything we needed between Chalok Baan Ko and Thain Og Bay where there were plenty of decent restaurants, beach bars, shops and of course a trusty 7-11!

The only challenge was that steep hill which became a little much in the scotching heat. Although the staff would pick you up on a motorcycle if you called, we think a more formal system would be better. The other cliffside hotel, Koh Tao Paradise Zone, had free taxi shuttles on demand from Chalok Ban Ko beach and taxis always waiting to take guests up the hill. We think a scheduled shuttle up & down the the hill 1/2 dozen times a day would be really appreciated by the guests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Highly recommended hotel! My husband and I were on our honeymoon in October 2010 and we chose this hotel after the recommendations that we read on this site. Hotel on the cliff (and therefore need transport to get to him), charming and courteous staff, always smiling. The rooms are on the height overlooking and the view is Spectacular. The hotel is located in the third-largest beach on the island ("Chalok Baan Koo") and very quiet for couples looking for quiet! Delicious food! We definitely go back to the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

Chintakiri was an amazing spot on Koh Tao. It had a beautiful view and the staff was fantastic. We stayed during New Years, and they offered a plentiful and delicious (though compulsory) buffet dinner. The restaurant was great and not too expensive.

During our stay we could hear a lot of music coming from another part of the island - as there was a 3-day long new year's rave festival going on. But I imagine that otherwise, Chintakiri is a quite serene location.

As everyone has mentioned, the hill from the main road to the hotel is steep. But it's not THAT bad.

I'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chintakiri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chintakiri Resort

Address: 19/59-77 Moo 3, Chalok baan kao, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chintakiri Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chintakiri Hotel Koh Tao
Chintakiri Hotel Surat Thani
Chintakiri Resort Surat Thani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chintakiri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.