We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT stay here!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1/51 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Woodbridge, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Do NOT stay here!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We hadn't booked anywhere in Koh Tao and were approached by one of their 'reps' on the ferry over from Koh Samui. He offered to take us to view the Coral Grand Resort and the Montra Resort. The rooms at the Coral Grand weren't good enough so we went onto the Montra. The pool here looks really good and the rooms seem fine but don't be lured into booking because of the pool!!

The staff are very unfriendly and unhelpful, the resort is right next to the pier and the beach you have access to is tiny. It's not on the Sairee beach as they lead you to believe.

The room was actually good, with a nice bathroom but we paid around 4500THB for it which is alot in Thailand. We only stayed two nights because on the first day, after eating at their restaurant, we both got food poisoning and were sick all night and day. We've eaten all over Asia and have never been sick before! We had fishcakes and the Pad Thai...when I mentioned our sickness to the reception they ignored me (or pretended not to understand).

The resort lacks any kind of buzz or atmosphere and the 'restaurant' is more like a cantine.

I hope they manage to turn the hotel around and improve it but, until they do, please don't spoil your holiday by staying there.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pismai, Assistant General Manager at Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2010
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you so much for taking time to review our resort.

We appreciate your review and will take every complaints to improve our service.

I never had any reports about your complaints about the food poising. May I ask who did you complain to?
Our food is very fresh and we get new material so I don't know how this could happen to you. We are taking care about fresh food a lot especially for seafood and fish.

I apologize if you feel that our staff was unfriendly with you usually the thai hospitality is very famous and our staff is trained to show this hospitality for our guests.

Our resort is very new and we are improving every month to get a relaxed atmosphere especially around the pool to grow a nice garden. Also our restaurant is still improving.

We are aware that our beach is not as big as on the further Sairee beach but we offer free shuttle service to Koh Tao Coral Grand once per day (go and back) so our guests can enjoy the big beach over there. If we have high tide all the beaches in Koh Tao are very tiny, because we have more rocks than sandy beaches that is why Koh Tao is popular amongst divers.

At any rate, we are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations . Please accept our sincere apology.

Sara
Assistant General Manager
Koh Tao Montra Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    92
    46
    31
    19
See reviews for
28
117
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I honestly didn't recognise the hotel from some of the descriptions below. We spent 4 nights here (got a 4 for the price of 3 deal through agoda.co.uk) as the island was pretty full and all the budget stuff had either gone, or was racked up to a ridiculous price, so this cost us about £50 per room per night, which I ws happy to pay.

Breakfast was good, but not great. The pool was always clean and not too busy, and the room was kept spotless and big enough for 2 people sharing. It's on the Mae Haed beach, which is not as nice as Sairee - but as that's only 10 mins walk away we went there most of the time.

if I was looking for a luxurious 5* honeymoon-style resort then I don't think this is it, however if you want to visit Ko Tao and stop somewhere with a few fringe benefits and aren't concerned too much about trying to save a few hundred baht here & there then I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

we booked Montra Resort from Germany as it was one of the few 4 star resorts on the island and had a clean, modern look.
These are our experiences upon arrival, I have to mention we only stayed a few hours before we moved to another hotel. So I cannot comment on food.

1. Location right next to the ferry on the most unattractive part of the Beach.
2. The hotel has no charm whatsoever, it has the athmosphere of a cheap motel. If you are looking for that typical island feel, don´t go there.
3. Room were dark, tiny balcony with view over the pool. And they smelled of wet concrete like on a buidling site.
4. Far too expensive for what it is worth, there are millions of better places to stay on Koh Tao, with so much more authentic athmosphere.

Koh Tao is a beautiful island which is not yet run over by major tourism. After we moved out of Montra Resort we stayed in Sensi Paradise Beach Resort and loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

my friend and i stayed here for 7 nights. we were biten alive in our room and the room was crawling with ants. the service was poor and the staff most unfriendly. the pool is nice if you dont mind swimming with dead insects. you have to be up at the crack of dawn to get a sun lounger and towel. we had to ask them to clean our room several times. food was terrible. upon leaving they charged us both an extra 3 % for using our credit cards. DO NOT STAY HERE.....NOT WORTH THE MONEY!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.