We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will not disappoint!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1/51 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It will not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was perfect. We stayed here for three nights. We had a pool side room and it was huge. Breakfast was lovely but make sure you get there early as other guests left the containers open and a few bugs got in. It's right beside the beach and a short walk away from the pubs and restaurants. Really enjoyed staying here. If you're visiting Koh Tao make sure you do one of the snorkeling trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    40
    30
    18
See reviews for
27
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel five nights. We had arrived quite sick from the boat trip (it had been stormy and 90% of the boat was seasick) and surprisingly upon arrival there was a young man holding up a sign with my name, a lifesaver! Once the checkin was done our luggage was carried to the room and we could relax.

The room: very spacious, the bed is very big, air conditioned, nice pool/beach view and there was a little sofa to relax on. It had a balcony where we could put things to dry. The bathroom was also big and spacious, the shower and bathroom are separated by a wall. The room was clean and we never heard our neighbors.

The restaurant was very good, it had been recommended to us by friends. You can eat all day which is a nice thing.

We didn't rent a scooter since everything is so close.

Overall, the hotel was nice and clean, the staff was always helpful and smiling.

Would go back :-).

Room Tip: We had a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you look for decent hotel, with good location and very nice swimming pool so this place is good for you.
Breakfast wasnt good at all so don't expect anything.
Ladies in the reception were nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I came to Montra directly following a week of parties in Koh Phangan. And this is exactly what we need to rest, relax, and recover.
Montra is an easy walk from the pier and within easy distance of the main part of town where you can find restaurants, shopping and the 7/11.
Our room had a huge comphy bed, tv, fridge, and hot shower. We could easily have slept 3 or 4 people here. And it overlooked the large infinity pool where the temperature was the exact right cool temperature.
The only recommendation would have been for the staff to be a bit more English speaking and helpful. But by reading other reviews, it doesn't appear everyone feels this way, so do not let it defer you from staying here. They were able to call us taxis which was a great help.

Room Tip: Personally, if you want to look out your door and see the pool and ocean, I would highly request one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

pros:
- huge pool
- big rooms with big beds
- clean
-friendly staff
- very nice beach (but not big)

cons:
- feels a bit rundown
- breakfast not great
- pool dirty in some places

we paid around 60 euros for a regular room and it was totally ok for that price. just dont expect a great hotel, the overall appeal is somewhat average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I plus 4 friends all stayed in this hotel in Sept 2012.

This hotel is situated 1 min stroll from the ferry piers and the little harbour area of Koh Tao.
The hotel is well equipped, has a lovely pool, great staff who are happy and enthusiastic and rooms also have the biggest bed you will ever encounter.

Hotel is slightly dated but I think this adds to the appeal.

Fantastic 3 night stay in this wonderful hotel and I thank the staff for such a great time,

Ps - superb massage parlour a few steps outside the hotel entrance. Cheap and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room (3rd level delux) was very clean and spacious and probably worth the upgrade it you can. I wouldn't stay on the ground floor as it would get foot traffic right past your room but second floor would be fine.

The bed was enormous and comfortable and appears to be the same for every room. Our room had everything you would want and included a nice balcony and seating. You can tell that the place has been well designed and could be made into something very special but it appears to be half finished at this stage and lacks some upper market polish to finishings and fittings. Don't let this put you off though as this doesnt really affect guest stays. When they finish the bar area above the restaurant it will be absolutely fantastic. The location is absolutely perfect. 3 min walk from ferry and mae haed shop area and absolutely quiet at night. Easy 10 min walk to best restaurants northward up the paved footpath.

The breakfast is lack luster and is a bit of a downer. Absolutely fine for filling you up in the morning for a days activities but could be better by Thai hotel standards and what you pay. The pool and swim up bar are perfect and the gym functional if not very basic. My ratings are based on the price and expectations for koh Tao, not Bangkok. So 4/5 I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa

Address: 1/51 Moo 2, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Koh Tao Montra resort is one of few bigger luxury hotel/resorts on Koh Tao. Offering great beach front location and the biggest swimming-pool with massage tub and swim up-bar. We have distanced our self from the smaller room sizes Koh Tao is known for with rooms from 40 - 100+ sq m. Being located in Mae Haad makes it a more quite and relaxed resort with easy access to shops, restaurants and other activities, and should you require more bars and night clubs during your stay it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the busy and famous Sairee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Montra Hotel Koh Tao
Koh Tao Montra Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.