We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare bungalow” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wind Bakery and Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wind Bakery and Resort
Save
You added Blue Wind Bakery and Resort to your Saves list
14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Ko Tao, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nightmare bungalow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked a fan bungalow for just one night for 450B. The worst of all was: as I was preparing to shower, I saw a parasitic worm "swimming" on the water on the floor. But there was more. Toilet doesn't flush -- you have to throw water in it from a bucket. I suppose it has never been cleaned -- spider webs everywhere. A cockroach was on my bed as I got back in the evening. It was also scorching hot, not enough ventilation in the room. Windows and door don't lock safely -- and there is a sign alerting to "recent break ins in Koh Tao". Staff careless and unfriendly.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    31
    21
    25
See reviews for
4
35
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 6 nights after attending full moon party in Ko Phangan.

Ideal place for to just chill out. Located right on Siaree Beach, but far enough along not to be disturbed by Ko Tao's main pier.

The food was excellent in the restaurant and very reasonably priced. Rooms are all individual bungalows so plenty of privacy and peaceful.

You can definitely stay elsewhere for cheaper (£6 a night for fan room for 3 people) on Sairee beach, but this place is perfect for staying to chill out and not have everything based around diving.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The bungalow room was dirty, full of mosquitoes as not properly sealed off with mozzie nets.
The windows did not lock up safely which was a worry with our stuff in there.
Staff were very careless and unfriendly. They did nothing all day but sitting and eating - you had to literally get up and ask when you wanted a drink or food at the front pateo.Don't expect a smile or kindness...

Did have Wi-Fi.

Beware, monkeys run around in the evenings and may nick your stuff.
When the tide is in there's no beach here, and very little when out, so if you want to lounge on the beach and not on a patio this is not the place.

Rooms are relatively costly here and at all the main beach front diving resorts unless you're paying for a diving course.

BEWARE: MANY (!) DUBIOUS (!) diving schools. Cheap, but if you value your safety go elsewhere! The term "Sausage Factory" springs to mind.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid June 2012. The man at reception offered us a bungalow w/ fan for 700 bhat a night. He managed to offer us a nicer bungalow, very spacious, pretty big bathroom.

Pros: Good value, Good food onsight, good location (very close to the beach and the village), staff was OK, fan worked great
Cons: Lots of ants in the bathroom (really, i would be surprised if there wasn't.. but it's still unpleasant), Cockroaches in the frame (they didn't really come out but I saw a couple living in the crack and you can hear them moving at night).

Be careful of the mosquitos... if you are anything like me, you will be covered!

Room Tip: Try to get the bungalows with the light brown frames.. they seem a bit newer and much more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a bungalow with fan. It was fine and right on beach (but can't really swim here)! Food is good at the restaurant and it's right where all the action happens... Bars, restaurants etc. Friends' bungalows was not that good,toilet broken etc, and they also encountered the infamous rude reception lady!

After the 3 nights moved across to other side of island and found amazing place (montalay resort) with infinity pool on beautiful beach for same price. But more isolated, so depends what you're looking for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a bungalow - basic at best..And for 500THB per night I was expecting a little more. The rooms were cramped and infested with ants, the bathrooms were very basic and not that clan.

On the plus side, the restaurant was good, the western food wasn't the best but the Thai food, excellent!

On the whole - you don't get what you pay for I would have thought 300would have been fair, definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We luckily did not stay at that place but made the mistake to go there for lunch lured by their sign of homemade bakery and pasta. Staff was rude, didn't even bother to come to our table, then took our order. The tagliatelle were a pile of overlooked tasteless noodles, hardly had anything like that for years, the Indian curry set only contained 2 tiny pieces of chicken which were hard as rock. Food must have been cooked ages ago and was microwaved. Really a place to avoid

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Wind Bakery and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wind Bakery and Resort

Address: 14/2 Moo 1, Haad Sairee, Ko Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Number of rooms: 327
Also Known As:
Blue Wind Bakery Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wind Bakery and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.