We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overal we had fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added View Point Resort to your Saves list
View Point Resort
Chalok Baan Kao, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Ko Tao
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overal we had fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I was there with my girlfriend recently and we had such a wonderfull time the wiew from our room was great, the hotel location is right on the beach but at night there is a party on the beach and the noise can be destorbing at times overall it's not so bad and i defentlly recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    66
    22
    18
    10
See reviews for
27
156
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We recently had our wedding at View Point resort 24 August 2013 and also stayed in Villa 7 and I cannot rave about them enough! Ali and her husband went above and beyond to make our day as perfect as possible. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt like we were there only priority even though the resort was busy. The food was spectacular and so much of it. All our guests couldn't stop eating. Drinks where great and the service was impeccable. Ali was there for whatever we needed and they were both on hand the entire night of our wedding. Many guests commented it was the best wedding they had ever been to and of course my new husband and I defiantly thought it was. It was everything I had dreamed of and more, the entire day and night went without a hitch! Perfect!!!
On our wedding night we came back to a room that had been completely tidied and beautifully decorated for us with big bouquets of flowers orchards on the bed etc. We had a post party the following day which was also catered for by View point in our villa, again the food was spectacular and the service amazing. Not only did they bring what we had ordered they also decorated with gorgeous fresh flowers in the lounge, bathroom, outdoor area and on the buffet tables. Again it was absolutely stunning.
Onto Pool Villa 7. This is out of this world. It is so amazing, the outdoor shower, the views the infinity pool, just everything. We had all 35 of our guests over on the day after the wedding and everyone fit in comfortably around on the different balconies and in the pool, to give you an idea of space.
I would whole heatedly recommend View Point Resort for anyone planning a wedding or just a holiday on the beautiful Koh Tao. You would not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: Its is worth paying the extra to stay in the Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We came to the hotel for dinner one night and had a fantastic time... although we may have only had dinner we were fortunate enough to be shown round a couple of the hotel villas and can definitely attest to the quality and luxury that View Point has to offer. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who showed us to our seats. This was a table set away from the main restaurant on an open air verandah. Completely romantic and beautiful as the sea lapped at the shore line no more than a meter or two away from us. We proceeded in tucking into some really lovely food and the tuna tartare is a must. The chef, as far as I'm aware is relatively new to the hotel and has by all accounts transformed the menu and his east meets west take on the menu is very clever and the flavours are incredibly complimentary. We stayed all night eating and drinking and after talking to the very friendly staff were shown around a poolside villa. Although it was dark what struck us straight away was there were great views of the ocean and the villa was completely secluded. The rooms were large, with a huge bed and a very large outside area with a large pool. The best bit in my opinion was the semi outside nature to it with the shower room being open to the elements so to speak... The elements being 35 degree heat, i imagined having a nice cool shower after a spot of sunbathing quite refreshing. All in all a great place to stay and the restaurant is a must whether you're staying there or not!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at View Point just over a week ago. This was the final stop in our tour of Thailand and I'll start with the positives! Wonderful view, amazing wildlife and awesome pool - we had gekkos, land crabs, cats, squirrels and all sorts visit us. My fault for not checking properly but I didn't realise that Pool Villa 1 lounge was also outside....I'm a bit freaked out by spiders but we coped by just keeping the bedroom door shut and using the mosquito net at night - our friendly gekko in the roof also kept them at bay!

Most of the staff were really helpful and couldn't do enough for you but I can't help thinking that viewpoint trade on the fabulous views and just don't get the customer service quite right. Breakfast was always cold and things were always missing - every morning. We ate at the restuarant once and was disappointed that there was only 3 dishes to choose from and mine turned up 20 minutes before my partners! You don't mind this when you're paying less money as most places in Thailand will serve you your food when it's ready but you don't expect it when you're paying more money.

All in all it's a beautiful resort but please, just tweak your customer service and you'll have an amazing resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for our honeymoon, pool villa 1. Never wanted to leave! Awesome view of ocean, pool was refreshing and the privacy was well needed after a long adventurous vacation in the jungles of Thailand. Staff was very informative and friendly. We ordered room service the entire time, a bit expensive but worth not leaving the room! If you can afford to stay at least one night I would highly suggest here. Worth every baht.

Room Tip: Best place on koh tao!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

When you read the other reviews, you will notice quite a big difference between the reviews for the villas and those for the cottages. The cottages are lovely, with a beautiful view over the bay and a large terrace (our teenage children stayed in one of them), but the villas are absolutely stunning. We stayed in villa 1 and the wow effect never stopped: when you open the front door, you look straight into your own pool which looks as it it flows right into the sea behind it. The views are breathtaking and we could have easily spent all day just watching the sea with the occasional longtailboat passing by. We loved the design, which captures local authenticity, respect for nature and modern architecture. A lot of thought has gone into making the guests as comfortable as possible, providing all the amenities you might expect from a 5-star hotel (bath robes, slippers, umbrella's, beach towels, etc) plus so many other thoughtful things like flashlights, mosquito repellent fresh fruit at the reception. The staff was professional and extremely friendly, going out of their way to make our stay as nice as possible. Breakfast was included and so very good, with an amazing choice of fresh fruit juices, smoothies, breads and patisserie, warm dishes, homemade muesli and yoghurt. Even though the room was quite extensive, it was a wonderful way to spend the last days of our holiday in Thailand. If you are looking for a place that feels like a little piece of paradise, this is it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Tao, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Wonderful place, minimal bamboo design, delicious food and superior atmosphere with the wave soundtrack. In this place you can feel the see sorround you and you can taste it in your plate. After bangkok you need to come here and relax

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Address: Chalok Baan Kao, Ko Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Tao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your View Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage View Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.