We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill fast!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Buri Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Buri Resort
Save
You added Sunset Buri Resort to your Saves list
14/3 Moo 1Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Ware, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Going downhill fast!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Unfortunately I can't think of any positives for this place apart from its close to the beach and pretty quite but that's probably because there's not a lot of people around.

The staff are not very friendly and are lazy to the extreme, even for Thailand! We paid 600bht for a fan room which was big but smelled of very strong damp and was looking very used. We stayed for 4 nights as it was in a good position but the room wasn't cleaned or sheets changed in that time and we even had to ask for toilet rolls.

We're used to run down rooms but this was probably the worst and the attitude of the staff added to the bad vibe. Oh and do not swim in the swimming pool as it hasn't been cleaned for a long time!

Biggest problem this place has is that no one can be bothered with anything. Such a shame.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    17
    17
    33
See reviews for
8
29
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes the rooms were somewhat old fashioned, but it was a large room in a great location on the beach. Everything is within walking distance from it and there are some good diving/snorkelling places around. Lovely local family were there most of the time and lots of beach volleyball being played. Exactly what we needed - safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived in Koh Tao having not booked anywhere and were horrified by some of the prices being asked for some rooms (we are on a budget!!), so we reached Sunset Buri and found these rooms going for 500 Baht, located on the ground floor near reception and took them.

The room was big and spacious, with a fridge, fan and hot shower (which was one of the best I have used in our trip round South East Asia). The room did smell a little of stale cigarette smoke and looked a little dated, but other than that it was clean and comfortable.
The Staff were very accommodating, and had no issues with us moving to a different room (we only moved to access the wifi from a local cafe ;-) ) and also agreed to a discounted rate of 450 a night as we were staying 6 nights.

With regard to some of the comments relating to theft on here, we always took our key with us whenever we went out, and never had any issues. The room was accessed by hotel staff for cleaning when we were out. We did see that the keys were left at reception and easily accessed by others, so can only think that the thefts reported below were done by other opportunistic travelers.

The resort itself was ok, nice pool area, spoilt by the pool itself! We did use it, but the water was mirky with dead insects floating on top - it didn't seem to be cleaned often. Sun loungers etc all appeared to work and be in good order.

Think it was referenced in another review, but the resort does seem to be bombarded by locals in the afternoon who use the pool. Wasn't a problem to us, and there was still plenty of room.

All in all, decent room in a good location on an ok resort. Good value for money when compared to some prices we were quoted, sure you can get bungalows for 350/400 baht at other resorts, but these were full!

On a side note, I can't find the restaurant on TA, but we ate at a restaurant called Su Chili (4 out of 6 nights!), located near by, and would highly recommend it - dive masters from several companies were in here on every occasion we went - well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Buri resort for almost a week and were pretty happy with it. We stayed in the main building above reception and were happy to have a clean, spacious and quiet room.

The staff were friendly (if not very talkative) and the rooms were cleaned when we asked for them to be so all in all it was a good stay.

The location was a couple of minutes walk from the beach but not actually on the beach itself. I'd recommend this place for people looking for clean but simple, no-frills accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Tried both the air con and fan rooms (we weren't too bothered by the heat) and both were basic but clean and had everything we expect of reasonably priced accommodation. The rooms had fridges- really helpful for drinks etc, and the huts were in a nice garden setting, with little balcony areas.The location was fantastic, right on Sairee beach and only a couple of minute walk from the bars and restaurants of Sairee village. The staff were lovely and arranged for us to be taken to Nang Yuan and back on the resort's own boat when we asked advice on how to get there. One negative however, the pool was dirty during our stay and only cleaned on the day we left- so we didn't use it. Being right by the sea, however, it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. Can't comment on the restaurant as we only had drinks there, but there are loads of nice restaurants within a few minutes walk. For the price, it was definitely fine and in a faultless location, but if you expect luxury, pay a little more and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: We visited in August and found we didn't really need to pay the extra money for air con, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Do NOT stay here. The staff are horrible and whilst we stayed three different rooms were broken into, including ours. The staff just brushed it off with a truly unbelievable act of arrogance and threatened us with "problems" if we told people not to stay there, as we mentioned that we would do that if they didn't help us solve the robbery situation. I have met some reallly horrible people in Thailand before, as well as many lovely ones, but never have I stayed anywhere with such awful staff. In addition the pool area gets overrun with people who are not staying at the hotel leaving no sun loungers for guests. Stay away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg,
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here ONLY because there was NOTHING left on the island. Unfortunately we were stupid enough to go to Koh Tao without booking accommodations, after a full moon party at Koh Phangan, and the island was booked solid.

The room was smelly (not totally unacceptable given this is a common problem in humid countries), but also our air conditioning did not work, we had a GIANT hole in our ceiling, there were cockroaches and to top it all off, our balcony door did not close. Not only did it not lock, but it actually wouldn't even close. The girl at the front desk was completely unhelpful and I would have likely had more success talking to a wall. I told her the door was broken, she came to shut it for us, because we hadn't already tried just simply shutting it (heavy sarcasm), and then just shrugged her shoulders and told us it wasn't a problem. Um....it kind of is. Not only will our room not lock, but in case you hadn't noticed, it is very hot outside and we are paying for air conditioning, not to mention we would rather not have a room full of bugs. She just kept shrugging and then suddenly no longer understood english. We asked if they could send a maintenance guy or something....maybe give us another room (which fair enough they did not have one) but it was all lost on her, and unfortunately we were stuck there. We had to jimmy up a lock system by tying the door to our sink...it was ridiculous.

Oh, and the room was not clean, the towels smelled and the bedding was stained. Def. used my sleep sheet here.

One good thing, the shower had good water pressure. And hot water.

Room Tip: Get a good room by going somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Buri Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Buri Resort

Address: 14/3 Moo 1Sairee Rd, Ko Tao 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Ko Tao
Number of rooms: 42
Also Known As:
Sunset Buri Hotel Koh Tao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Buri Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.