We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort - Bad Tree house Bungalow” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Palace Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phi Phi Don
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viking Palace Resort
Save
You added Viking Palace Resort to your Saves list
| Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort - Bad Tree house Bungalow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The viking resort is very beautiful and peaceful. The hotel owned beach is something out of a post card and long beach is literally a two minute walk. The staff are friendly and the food is really good.
My partner booked the tree house bungalow, with its own private beach as a surprise for us both. We have been to Phi Phi before and stayed on the other side of the island in something similar and we both loved it, but fancied a change. The tree house is beautiful, and very clean. It is about a five minute walk from the main resort.
The second that you take the five minute walk from the main resort to the 'private tree house' the music from the pier is amplified ten times. In fact I think it might be louder here than in the actual bars. The private beach could not be any less private. It is in fact the island football teams football ground, and they play every day at around 5pm. They make sure that they place the football goals right underneath the tree house and they feel the need to shout and scream for approximately two hours. The tree house is also directly located on the footpath to long beach, so expect people to be walking right on by from the very early hours of the evening to around 5pm (just before the football starts). I think the music finishes around 4-5am, so you should get a few hours sleep just before the sun comes up...
The resort is nice, and if your staying in one of the main, big bungalows then its worth a stay. However I would not recommend the tree house to anybody.

Room Tip: Dont choose the beach bungalow. In fact, if you want a relaxing and peaceful stay go to the East si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    66
    39
    42
    23
See reviews for
12
108
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked to stay at Viking for a night on our way to Koh Samui but found the Viking to be a part of paradise and decided to spend all our time there instead. Our rooms were like huts in the tree tops and with magic views of the beach and surrounding jungle. After four nights we had to move to another hut which had wonderful views of Tonsai and the bay. Although disappointed to have to move we found this hut just as nice and not nearly as difficult was the climb up the hill. The beach at the Viking Nature resort was clean and the water blue and warm. So inviting that we easily filled in our days just lulling around in the water or laying in our hammicks reading. Althought we were told Tonsai was only excessable by boat we soon realised that we could easily walk the 15 minutes into town for better meals and restuarants at nights and then catch a long boat home. The only down side would have to be be most of the staff who have very limited English skills and not much interested in trying to understand us. Overall thought I would have to say that the Viking was on of best resorts that I have ever stayed at world wide (as long as you don't mind climbing stairs!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband, son of 9 months and I have been staying here for one week and it was in one word GREAT!! it was our first long distance holiday with the baby and i couldn't have ask more than what we got here!! the location is so amazing!! With private (beautifull) beach and everything you expect when you think op kih.phi phi.
First of all, when we got there, they switched us immediately from a apartment higher up, to a treehouse at the beach because its a real nature resort with all big treehouses but mostely further high up, very good to reach but not with strawler and baby. so that was very nice. the treehouse was small but convienent. I did not see any cackraoch or whatsoever, yes there are gekkos and musqeetos but it is a NATURE RESORT people..
they brought us every day two bottles of water, did everything to make it all relaxed for us, played and babysitted on my son, we even brought a girl from the staff with us on our boattrip to babysit while we were snorkling etc, an idea they came up with!
The food is really nice and i think the breakfast is fine too, we had incl breakfast and we had every day coffee, tea, scrambled eggs, toast with jelly, fresh fruits, juice etc.
Overall; the resort is really nice but the staff here makes it perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've stayed in a bungalow on the top of the steep hill overlooking the blue see, shark's point and phi phi leh island. You can spend hours enjoying this view on the hammock on your bungalow's terrace.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just came back from there, look forward to tell everyone which beautiful place is this resort.
The only place in which is worth to stay in PhiPhi!!!! the most romantic place I have never be!
It has an unique and wonderful natural atmosphere I had never experienced before.
We had the Three House n1, it was really very simple in comparison to the others but really "love on a shoestring", we had a beautiful little beach jut for us...
some times you can heard the music from the town but if you don't want to hear it is enough to reserve a room more near the reception. from the town is a little bit far (15min walking) but just a little bit and the street is so nice that is a pleasure! you could find some little animals but if you want to experience yourself as a part of the nature what can you expected? :)

Room Tip: As much near to the reception as much quiet and far from the town. M5 and TH3 are simply great. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It's very impressive pulling into Viking Resort on a long boat (make sure you get the free boat from the pier), but the service here isn't great. We waited a long time in reception before anyone ackknowledged us, the booking had been messed up, so we ended up having to pay for a better room, and the level of English was really bad (we found everywhere else on the island to be very good).

The beach in the day was amazing, which is lucky as it's a boat ride (or very precarious walk) into the main 'town'. The food in the restaurant is pretty disappointing, and there are much better options for food in the main area of PP.

I'd second the idea of bringing a headlamp, and wouldn't recommend Viking for anyone who isn't comfortable getting a bit off-road to get to their bungalow!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just loved this resort vs all other hotels and guesthouses we saw in town. We just showed up and got very lucky - a beautiful room in villa M3, for a way better price than advertised online (granted, it was low season)... This house has an amazing veranda with beach views, and it is quite close to the reception area too. Careful, though, when walking at night! The place was very clean and we had no problems with bugs or anything else during our 3-night stay there. As for service - some of the staff are really nice, but the people at the front desk could certainly be friendlier.

Room Tip: I cannot say anything about the huts or any other room with outside/shared bathrooms, but the villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Palace Resort

Address: | Between Ton Sai Beach and Long Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Viking Palace Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Viking Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.