We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avarege hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge to your Saves list
Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   157 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Muang | Phi Phi Don, Koh Phi Phi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avarege hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Location right in town at harbour. Which is nice. Helpful staaf to help us get a room for a night for a fair price.
Very poor isolated rooms, and with connecting doors, alot of party noise. When calling reception, they where quick and effective to quite down the neighbours. Swimming pool is nice and plenty of shadow if needed. Good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    32
    32
    13
    17
See reviews for
11
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights few days before Christmas.
We had to compromise on the price (about 80$ per night per room) for a quite basic hotel, because Ko Phi Phi in December is very expensive.
Overall the hotel was OK but doesn't justify the price.

The good: location is close to the peer so no need in extra transportation (or long walking) after getting here from Phuket or Krabi. Also it is in the "town" where all the restaurants, bars and shops are located.
Rooms are OK. Service is OK.

The bad: it doesn't have a good beach nearby. You need to take a long boat to long beach or another beach. Breakfast was basic and not tasty. Price is too high.

Bottom line: reasonable compromising.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms were nice however the cleaners needed prompting to clean and give us toilet paper.
Breakfast was terrible. No variety and the staff were not helpful at all.
We left a night before we had to and they did not offer us a refund.
Pretty average - however it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is not too bad, and location couldn't be better. It's situated in the middle of Ton Sai with quick access to the beaches, dive centres and shops.

However, we found that a few aspects weren't up to scratch in relation to the amount we were paying.

1. The wifi was completely unserviceable, and we were told day after day that "someone will be in to fix it in the next two hours"

2. The rooms sometimes went uncleared for days at a time. After two days of no cleaning, we had to go to reception to request that it was done (and even then it took them a further 4 hours to sort it out)

3. Breakfast was rubbish. Not a lot of choice in comparison to other (cheaper) hotels. However, the biggest disappointment with the breakfast was the service we received. Unhelpful, unaccomodating and rude staff greeted us each morning so that in the end, we went elsewhere each day to find breakfast (the phi phi bakery is highly recommended!)

For the price, you could find somewhere much better to stay on phi phi. For reference, we were at first charged 1700 baht per night. This was then reduced to 1500 baht. However we spoke to some other guests and found that they were paying only 1300 baht per night. We definitely feel that we were messed around a bit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here in jan 2013 on my visit to phi phi island and had a very enjoyable stay the rooms are a very good size, the rooms are clean and come with air con and fridge and television, there is a good channel on the tv also that shows a programme called logs and dogs its about lumberjacks and there best friend, this is the only hotel in asia that i found had this channel.
This hotel has a swimming pool and all of the rooms face east to west which means yu either get greeted by sunrise in the morning or generous lashings of beautiful sun in the afternoon ... the location is quiet and the resturant plays movies which is great for the kids and the nearby cocktail bar has fire shows that the children can interact in.
An amasing time totally splendid...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked this hotel online and was not expecting to much from the reviews and price but chose it for location, only a quick walk from the pier and close to restaurants and shops.

I did not spend too much time in the room as I was diving a lot so it suited me because of location.

I would not recommend for a honeymoon but for visiting Phi Phi for diving and shopping it is ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel in early April 2013. For the expense you can get SIGNIFICANTLY better. The rooms were ok, bathroom was no good, door to the room didn't shut properly, no in room safe, the pool was a little stinky and the staff a bit abupt. We found much nicer accomodation for half the cost elsewhere on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge

Address: 157 Moo 7, Ao Nang, Muang | Phi Phi Don, Koh Phi Phi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaokoh Phi Phi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.