We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Andaman Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Andaman Beach Resort to your Saves list
Andaman Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   65 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were very excited about going to the Phi Phi islands until we saw the resort.......not really a resort. The pickup from the boat was efficient, just found the guy with the sign and he put our luggage into a trolley and wheeled it and our 6 yr old on top to the resort around 10 mins walk away. The checkin was quick and we had our bungalow near the beach.
The breakfast was not good......egg station, coffee terrible, hot milk for cereal, ran out of bread for toast. Kitchen and egg cooks very unhappy, not friendly, not helpful. No bar for drinks. Did not have lunch or dinner here so cant comment on food.
Room was more like a backpackers style, very old, no reception for TV, hot water for shower is intermittant. Nowhere to charge phones or computers.
Pool was ok, nice and clean, but not on the beach as the photos suggest.
There is a school next door which starts the national anthem and singing early, so no sleep in here.
The complex is beachfront with lots of boats on beach, there is a roped off swimming area a bit up the beach.
In all, we would not recommend or would stay here again. We paid far too much money and as I said before we are very disappointed as this was part of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    91
    112
    59
    77
See reviews for
62
147
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Restaurant on the beach, only few steps from the beach, quiet beach. Scooter rentals available, however, on the island there is hardly any to be seen. A few villages.
Food in the restaurant is good and really cheap, the service is excellent. Other residents hailed as being in the familiar and the place is a genial and peaceful atmosphere. The rooms are big and clean, with a big terrace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Upon arriving on the ferry from Krabi. you must look for the man with the sign of your hotel and walk there. It's about a 15 minute walk but they will carry your luggage on a cart and be prepared to walk fast through a crowded dirt path. I was quite pleased to arrive at this pretty hotel with a nice lobby with english speaking reception. The bungalows were not quite ready but they accommodated us quickly. They were clean and the pool was nice. This hotel is on the beach but you can't relax on the beach here because the speed boats pick up and drop off passengers. There is a small area roped off a bit away. Breakfast was good but inconsistent. One day it was ground coffee and eggs, the next day instant coffee, no eggs and fried rice. We are a family of 5 so our rooms were attached which was nice and they provided a cot for an extra charge. I would stay longer on Koh Phi Phi next time.

Room Tip: attached rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had booked a 3 person bungalow here for our 7 day stay on Phi Phi. Initial impressions were favourable in terms of location, outdoor pool and helpful staff. However, on entering our bungalow, we found exposed wiring, a hole in the ceiling of the shower/bathroom, damaged and seriously dated furniture and the sliding entry door to the bungalow came away from the surround when I attempted to open it. An immediate complaint to management produced a swift response and we were moved to another bungalow. This was in better repair but there were stains on the ceiling, the shower dripped constantly and the external walls were cracking. Several of the sun loungers around the pool were broken and the supplied sun lounger mattresses were old and dirty. Breakfast was ok but not inspiring and we didn't risk dining later in the day. Beds were comfortable and the air conditioning effective and relatively quiet - not so the guests in the adjoining bungalow, whose every move could be heard through the walls. All of the staff were helpful but this place needs a makeover!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

All accommodation on Phi appears to be average so the title of this review is not really a negative. This hotel is in middle price range which is about right. The hotel is a little tired and could do with a make over but if you are only staying a couple of nights it is okay. Cleaning staff were thorough. The pool is okay but not great, however if you on Phi Phi a trip to long beach is best. The location is fine and walking distance to the town, bars and harbour. The staff are really nice and very helpful, especially the boys who collect your cases from the ferry or transport them back.

Room Tip: the superior rooms are better than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in andaman beach resort for one week. When we arrived to the island there was a guy waiting for us even we hadnt asked wich was great-he carried our bags to the hotel wich actually was pretty far from the harbour. The hotel is the last one of the street so you cant here bass from the parties here, you can focus on relaxing;) The hotel is right on the beach so you can eat breakfast watching the gorgeous view! the receptionist gave us free wifi for the whole week. we had a deluxe room wich was great, could have had more lights tho...the Shower is large and fantastic ,theres actually a seat there. the sink was dirty but we didnt mind. The bungalows looks also confy not as bad as some of the rewievs lets you know. I had read bad rewievs
of this hotel so i didnt expect it would be so good. The pool is clean and nnice to chill in, but it is pretty small. Whole area is well kepted and confy. it takes 5 minutes to walk to the main shops but there are restaurants and shops on the wayy there also. the party beach/bars are on the other side of the bay so it takes bout 15 minutes to walk there. The hotel staff is friendly. i recommend the hotel for everyone. The photos dont do justice for the hotel, its much better. Anyway pleasent stay, would return here anytime. One thing was irritaiting tho...the power points didnt work at all and there were only few of them in our room

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were slightly concerned about previous negative reviews before arriving but the hotel was far better than our original expectations.
We upgraded our room from the std bungalow to the hotel style room for a small increase and was well pleased with our accomodation....spacious,clean with a nice bathroom and separate shower room which was a first for us in Thailand having experienced wet rooms throughout our travels.
Slight negative was the positioning of the air con above the front door which struggled to pump the cold air through the room for a while.
We did encounter a leak in the bathroom but the staff were there in minutes to resolve the problem.
The pool area Is lovely with plenty of space and shade if required.....
The pool was really quiet up until lunchtime when the hotel was then invaded by the tourist day boat trippers visiting the island who waded through the grounds on thier way to thier lunch which spoilt the privacy a little.
The hotel had signs up saying only hotel guests allowed in the pool but some of the day trippers obviously cannot read properly!!
The location of the hotel is fab...right on the beach and just a short walk to bars and restaurants.
Breakfast was good with all you would expect inc muesli and yoghurt.

Reception staff were really friendly and helpful.

Did not eat in the hotel.....it looked like it was catering for the masses of day trippers.
For eating out look no further than ANNA'S approx 10-15 mins walk down in the direction of the pier......it really deserves its high T/A rating without being anymore expensive than its competitors.

Internet great, free of charge and accessible in room.

We really loved phi phi and staying at the adaman enhanced this experience.
For middle budget travellers we would recommend this hotel to stay and would stay here again if coming back to phi phi

Room Tip: Upgrade to hotel style room if budget allows, std bungalows looked small with little natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andaman Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Beach Resort

Address: 65 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Andaman Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Andaman Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Andaman Beach Phitsanulok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andaman Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.