We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wow where do I start. After reading reviews on tripadvisor I was very sceptical to book this resort.
I booked for 2 nights and went there with NO expectations at all. Boy was I amazed.
The staff was very friendly.
The room was extremely nice and made up in honeymoon style. We had the most amazing view from our balcony.
This was paradise - I will definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    247
    135
    79
    59
See reviews for
75
346
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My partner and I loved staying at The Phi Phi Beach Resort. Everyone was so friendly and chatty, gorgeous sea views from our hilltop villa, beach front restaurant with yummy drinks and food, and a plethora of banana lounges with umbrellas. The highlight of our trip to Thailand was definitely staying at Long Beach. Make sure you do a day trip to Maya Bay and the lagoon. We have recommended the hotel to all our friends and family, and will be back again to stay some day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a superior seaview room for 2 nights late April and it was amazing.
The people working there were very kind and helpful and the food & drinks were great.
The only downside was how steep it was to get to our room, but can't complain about that when the views were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We came here for a 3 night stay left after the first night, the staff are rude, the resort has tons of construction, breakfast is outside and covered in flies, the rooms are patched up with tissue to stop flies getting in, there are stairs which are 40cm deep times 100 to get to your room, you really feel like you are so vulnerable in this resort. You are truly in captivity and require a taxi boat 300 each time to get to civilisation. There's rubbish bottles plastic bags littered between all the rooms. Please save your self money and heartache and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

All the publicity shots are wonderful and this is a beautiful location accessed via a long-tail boat from town or a 40 minute strenuous walk. They have their own private beach which is part of Long Beach which houses some other hotels. The rooms which overlooked the water are well worth it and quite special. They are very clean and well maintained all with decks and free drinks and fruit in the fridge on a daily basis. The trouble comes when you decide to eat their food. The hotel is very close to town by boat, but getting back after dark gets more expensive by the hour post Sunset and more difficult to land. This makes having a dinner in town a little more difficult to manage and/or it makes you feel like a captive audience, at least for dinner. The menu is uninspired and the food of unpredictable quality. Breakfast, while free, could use some sprucing up. If this were a lower cost hotel, I would not be mentioning the food, but because it is isolated, the quality of the food is more germane. It would also be good if the hotel had a store with some essential items would be nice as well. I also believe that the hotel policy related to the use of its "free" boat to town needs to be better articulated. The desk says you can only use it if you are checking in and out - it runs a few times a day - but I saw people using it to go to town. There are boatsman waiting to take you to town, but it would also be nice to know that as a guest, you can use the hotel long-tail boat. Staying in town is mostly for the younger age groups but town is a fun place to visit, buy things and eat. For people wanting a wonderful view, and more isolation, this is the place to go.Final note: WIFI is free, quite reliable albeit low-bandwidth.

Room Tip: The rooms with clear views cost more. Go during low season and really save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

If you are not traveling on a budget and is looking for a place to relax in Phi Phi, this might be the place for you. When looking for places in Phi Phi, it is hard to decide for a perfect hotel since you can get different experiences at different spots of the island. Since we were trying to stay away from the hussle of the Tonsai Bay area (where you can find cheaper hostels and inns), based on the reviews we saw and the beautiful bungalows of the hotel, we decided to go for thr Phi Phi the beach. We had 4 nights in the island, so we couldnt have chosen a better hotel. the beach in front of the hotel is amazing, that blue neon ocean, with so many fish to snorkel and watch.. comfortable beach chairs.. we loved it! the staff and the food of the restaurant (in which we had lunch and dinner a few times) were awesome. the front desk people were not so friendly, but the overall experience is worth it. The bungalows are spacious, clean, with goodies, water and refreshing towels delivered for free everyday! the views are breathtaking!
Few things to keep in mind: the bungalows can be very high up in the hill and there is transportantion available in the front desk, however, they are not available all the time, so we had to walk up a few times (and down too). So, for the elderly or people with physical disabilities, this is not recommended. Also, you will be a 40 min walk from the busy tonsai bay - or a 10 min boat ride at 100 baht/person. So you will be away from different options of restaurant and shops. Taking a trip to that area is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Background:
My friend and I were first time travelers to Thailand, in our late 20s / early thirties. We were hoping for a place that was separated from the mayhem of the town, but still accessible so that we could enjoy the nightlife. We traveled at the beginning of low season (May), and while we overall found the hotel suitable, it didn't fit our needs.

Overall Impression:
+CLEAN - this is not a trivial matter on Ko Phi Phi Don, where based on the experiences of some of the travelers we met on the island, it is quite possible to find bed bugs, etc. in other less expensive hotels. This hotel was very clean and reasonably comfortable.

+RUSTIC - the rooms are individual cabins with a balcony, which is cool - but they are in fact cabins [i.e. lots of unfinished wood paneling]. That said, there is AC & basic TV if you'd like.

+GOOD SERVICE - Our experience with all of the employees at the hotel was positive and friendly. They were quick to help us with our bags and accommodating to our needs. There is also an activities desk that can provide good guidance for snorkel, scuba, etc. The breakfast buffet had lots of western and asian options and the food was tasty.

+FAR FROM TOWN - this can be good or bad depending on your preference. At first we thought this was good for us, but we ended up being stuck at the hotel during the night because the waves were too big for the longboats to taxi us in and out of town [this is the only way to get in, unless the tide is low in which case you are a ~30 min walk away on the beach.] We were there during low season, so the hotel was very quite. There are two bars at the hotel, but both were empty.

+SCENIC - the view is undeniably gorgeous and it is right on the beach. Given how all the cabins are staggered and on a hill, you are likely to be able to see some part of the ocean, if not immediately from your window then from your balcony.

Overall, we realized that we needed to reset our expectations a bit on Ko Phi Phi Don - you will get less hotel for more money relative to other parts of Thailand. We felt isolated here, but I can see how others may like that because the main town is a little grimy. This hotel was good, but wasn't quite what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.