We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but next to extremely busy route for long tail boats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Nelspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice resort but next to extremely busy route for long tail boats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The noise from constant long tail boats passing by will make me consider another resort if you want to relax on the beach. Because it is so close to the main harbour where ferry from Phuket arrive you have non stop boats going by. I tried to snorkel across to shark point but were early hit by a boat.

Think twice if you want peace and quiet, resorts more north has much lower "traffic".

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    221
    125
    77
    55
See reviews for
71
305
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We just returned after staying 2 nights in this resort and still can't get over with the beauty of Long Beach where the hotel is situated .

The resort is beautiful located on a beach with crystal clear water . Rooms are very nice and the views of rooms are breathtaking . Loved the beach restaurant and beach bar good food and nice ambience . To said is just 10 minutes by boat so basically you have best of both world .

I would highly recommend this hotel you would not even regret a bit staying here .

Room Tip: We were booked to 2141 still have the hangover of the beautiful view from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ok the price is ridiculous. However, if you choose the delux villas up high with views to die for, and to be away from the horrors of Tonsai and stay on a beautiful beach you won't regret it. We didn't. Don't worry about the climb up to your room as they take you up there in buggies whenever you want, and you can ring down for any service you want from your room. For example every evening we asked for them to spray our room, collect our laundry, fix the shower which had a leak. We never had to wait more than a few minutes for this.

The restaurant is way overpriced - but the food is lovely as is the setting by the beach.

Room Tip: Choose delux villas high up with seaview. Don't stay in any with no view, as price not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

It's no doubt that Phi Phi Island is beautiful, with the torquoise beaches, powder-fine sands, it is also no doubt that Phi Phi is flooded with tourists and tourist-touts. The hotel is away from Tonsai pier. Unlike the other hotels, it does not provide a free pick-up long tail boat from the pier to the hotel. All tourists will have to find their own way to the resort. The jungle trail is tough to navigate with luggage and most of us will have to find our own long tail to the resort. With all the haggling with the touts, the first impression is really no good.

All the rooms are beach front villas, cabanas or bungalows. Internet connection and WIFI are only available in the office area and a fairly complex set of log-in details and password will be required.

The rooms are simple and in my view too simple for the price. The aircon is rather loud, light sleepers please beware. The bathroom is simple with a shower, water pressure is not great. The hotel does not have a restaurant but the surrounding hotels have 2-3 restaurants where guests can stock up and load up.

I personally find the price on the high side given the quality we are in, I guess all goes to being in Phi Phi which is now increasingly over-rated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at Phi Phi the beach for 3 nights in Jan 2014. Overall, a very nice place to stay with courteous, responsive staff.

Pros:
- excellent views as their bungalows are built into the hill
- good selection for breakfast. Be warned, selection doesn't vary greatly day by day.
- staff are always willing to drive you up since the stairs are quite steep and numerous to get back to your room
- Fresh fish grill, while significantly expensive, offers unbelievably fresh seafood. We had 2 tiger prawns, 1 blue crab and 1 red snapper and the bill was about $55. (Sold by weight)
- the resort offers a private trip to Maya bay, which is definitely worth it. Don't expect to do much snorkelling, just enjoy the beach.
- regardless of what you read, there is free wifi and it spans the whole area including rooms and beach very well.
- completely complimentary mini-bar that is restocked daily.

Cons:
- the beach itself isn't much. There is about 30 - 40 feet of water before coral and rocks take over and you need water shoes. Bring water shoes!!
- air conditioning in our bungalow takes several hours to cool the place down.
- stairs are quite steep and not very well lit in the night
- safe in the room comes with no instructions. After 3 failed attempts, I called the front desk. They sent someone over within minutes.

Altogether, an excellent place to stay for a few nights.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights (we were originally booked for 5 but stayed longer due to political unrest in Bangkok. We stayed here with our 2 teenaged children. travelling with teenagers is a trial which I will not bother to go into but our kids had a room that was lower down the hill and we had the deluxe suites high on the hill- it felt safe. Our room had views which were simply breathtaking. The rooms looked exactly as on the website. The kids rooms ('superior villa') were a little 'tired' but had excellent views from the balcony. I followed previous TA advice and splashed out on the Grand Deluxe villa with sea view room for my husband and myself which was good advice- very hard on the thigh muscles but SO worth the effort when you get there! This resort is not 5 star but so close to it- a little way away from the busyness of Tonsai village which frankly - in my mind- is a relief unless you are a 20 something party animal! You can apparently walk to the village in about 40 mins but due to illness unfortunately I never got to it- we always took the boat which cost about 100 baht each person each time.
My advice is - take insect repellent as mosquitoes can get into the room.
Ladies- do not bother taking any strappy high heeled shoes to Phi Phi as you will feel overdressed. Do snorkel outside the boundaries out the front of the resort- which is allowed- the snorkelling there is really great! Do go and visit Maya- the Beach- it is worth it! Read up on the history of Phi Phi as it is interesting. Visiting the very small Tsunami memorial at Tonsai village was moving. Do try the Thai massages at the resort which (like all Thai massages) are very different but oh so good. Staff at this resort may struggle with English but overall were very helpful. Would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Splash out- you may only ever come here once in a life time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the grand sea view deluxe villa and booked through Agoda.
Positives- Close to Tonsai pier
Excellent beach and lots of sun loungers.
A few different beach bars around the resort.
You can get a long tail boat to Tonsai at night for the nightlife.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Our villa was was excellent, clean, big balcony with ocean view, the room was perfect.

Negatives- The resort is set on a really steep hill so if that would be a problem for you make sure when booking your room its at the bottom of the hill. Although the hotel does offer a free minibus service which takes you from reception to your room, if you phone reception from your room they'll pick you up as well which is really handy.
Pool is tiny.

I would recommend phi phi beach resort and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.