We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bungalows and beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice bungalows and beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the grand sea view deluxe villa and booked through Agoda.
Positives- Close to Tonsai pier
Excellent beach and lots of sun loungers.
A few different beach bars around the resort.
You can get a long tail boat to Tonsai at night for the nightlife.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Our villa was was excellent, clean, big balcony with ocean view, the room was perfect.

Negatives- The resort is set on a really steep hill so if that would be a problem for you make sure when booking your room its at the bottom of the hill. Although the hotel does offer a free minibus service which takes you from reception to your room, if you phone reception from your room they'll pick you up as well which is really handy.
Pool is tiny.

I would recommend phi phi beach resort and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. I was a bit nervous given some of the reviews. We booked the Grand Sea View Superior room, which was close to the top of the hill. The walk took us 5 minutes, so I wasn't sure why some people have complained. Even when we were offered a ride, we happily walked. The location is perfect. It's practically on one end of Phi Phi (at the end of a small row of resorts) and is just the right distance from everything. It's close enough that you have a small selection of restaurants and massage places nearby, but is definitely quieter than the main town. The views are amazing from the rooms and face Phi Phi Leh too. Beautiful sunsets. The view is gorgeous and worth the walk. The resort also includes free breakfast, as well as long tail boat rides to/from the ferry when you arrive and depart. Otherwise, it's a 100 baht boat ride per ride on your own if you want to check out the town. The bar also does bookings for private long tail boat trips going to various nearby locations. We booked one for 6 hours and it was definitely worth it. The pool is small, and completely unnecessary because the beach is just steps away. The resort also has lounge chairs for guests, which was also a bonus. We never ate in the restaurant as we kept trying different ones on the strip, so can't comment on the food. The free breakfast was decent and another good perk too. We found the staff lovely and helpful too. The room itself was okay. We got our own hut/building and didn't have to share any walls, so that was nice. Our friends ended up in a 2-room hut/building, and they said that they could hear the neighbors the whole time. So if you can, ask for a room with no shared walls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no shared walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Only stayed for a couple of nights just before New Year 2013. Staff great, private beach with beds right on the beach and beachside restaurant and bar all very nice. Our room was a little high up the hill, try and get on one the lower ones in you can as it was a bit of a climb. But a minor point. Would love to go back. Water and snorkelling, the best I have very seen anywhere in the world. A short trip into the main town on a long tail that costs a couple of quid each. Deff recommend a stay at this place. Top notch. Favourite place we stayed in Thailand during our recent trip.

Room Tip: Try and get one lower down the hill with a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Phi Phi the Beach for 3 nights. It is on the far south side of the island and very quiet. Clean and no bugs. They provide a free water taxi ride when you arrive/depart and breakfast was included. We used the free shuttle service quite a bit to get up to our room since it's on a big hill. The view is really good from the resort and OK from the room we had in the 4000's.

The room itself had everything we needed but the bed was very hard. I am 6'3" and my feet and ankles were hanging off. Same with the beach chairs, they didn't have any cushions so something to keep in mind if you plan to lounge around the resort all day. You are better off on the sand.

The food is about double the price in town and not too bad. I feel like the service is slow everywhere on the island so no big deal.

We hiked up to the viewpoint from the resort, which was challenging and took about 3 hours in total. Seeing the resorts on the sandbar in between the two bays was breathtaking and made me wish we had stayed on that side. But it would have been tougher to get to Tonsai at night and for activities that leave from the main pier. We also did a booze cruise which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Utterly disappointed in everything about this place. The rooms are of very low standard and the staff are the worst I have had so far. The island itself is beautiful but this resort has ruined it for me.
Everyone I have spoken to so far is of the same opinion and cannot believe the rudness of the staff. I never write reviews but I felt people should be aware before they come here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aloufor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I booked a 2 night stay here last minute to have a relax in the sun away from Phuket and had a great time.
If you are looking for the type of stay where all you do is sunbathe and swim in the sea then this is perfect. The chalets on the hill have amazing views and the beach is private to the hotel with lots of sunbeds.
The breakfast had a good range of options and there was plenty to choose from in the restaurant.
I would recommend this hotel for couples who are happy to just to have dinner at night and not much else as there was not much happening at night....as you are a boat ride from the main island there was not any option to get there and back in the evening and we were told by staff that the last boat to the main island was 6pm which was too early for us. Whether you can actually go later than this I don't know as we didn't bother.
In the day we went to the island where 'the beach' was filmed however go early to avoid tourists - they even charge to get off a boat and stand on the island, which to me didn't seem worth it.
Great weather and fantastic views made this trip memorable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We were in awe of Phi Phi's beauty when we arrived here for the new year holiday. Someone from the hotel meets you at the ferry dock to take you by long tail boat to the resort. It is situated at the end if long beach, away from the chaos of the main each area, but close enough you can go join in after a quick boat ride. At first we got the impression that the hotel was very secluded, but is situated among a nice cluster of resorts, restaurants and massage places. The view from the rooms is of phi phi don and of phi phi leh- beautiful! You do walk up a hill to get to your rooms, but the view makes every step worth it. I would highly recommend hiring a long tail boat for the day am traveling to phi phi leh, monkey beach (there really were monkeys on the beach), bamboo and mosquito islands. It took about six hours and cost four of us 3500 baht. There were stops to swim an snorkel, but make sure to brig a lunch and drinks for a picnic as well as plenty of sunscreen.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2traveldinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.5 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
#4 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#10 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
4.0 mi away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#2 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing