We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, location, and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great view, location, and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. I was a bit nervous given some of the reviews. We booked the Grand Sea View Superior room, which was close to the top of the hill. The walk took us 5 minutes, so I wasn't sure why some people have complained. Even when we were offered a ride, we happily walked. The location is perfect. It's practically on one end of Phi Phi (at the end of a small row of resorts) and is just the right distance from everything. It's close enough that you have a small selection of restaurants and massage places nearby, but is definitely quieter than the main town. The views are amazing from the rooms and face Phi Phi Leh too. Beautiful sunsets. The view is gorgeous and worth the walk. The resort also includes free breakfast, as well as long tail boat rides to/from the ferry when you arrive and depart. Otherwise, it's a 100 baht boat ride per ride on your own if you want to check out the town. The bar also does bookings for private long tail boat trips going to various nearby locations. We booked one for 6 hours and it was definitely worth it. The pool is small, and completely unnecessary because the beach is just steps away. The resort also has lounge chairs for guests, which was also a bonus. We never ate in the restaurant as we kept trying different ones on the strip, so can't comment on the food. The free breakfast was decent and another good perk too. We found the staff lovely and helpful too. The room itself was okay. We got our own hut/building and didn't have to share any walls, so that was nice. Our friends ended up in a 2-room hut/building, and they said that they could hear the neighbors the whole time. So if you can, ask for a room with no shared walls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no shared walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    262
    141
    81
    60
See reviews for
81
363
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Only stayed for a couple of nights just before New Year 2013. Staff great, private beach with beds right on the beach and beachside restaurant and bar all very nice. Our room was a little high up the hill, try and get on one the lower ones in you can as it was a bit of a climb. But a minor point. Would love to go back. Water and snorkelling, the best I have very seen anywhere in the world. A short trip into the main town on a long tail that costs a couple of quid each. Deff recommend a stay at this place. Top notch. Favourite place we stayed in Thailand during our recent trip.

Room Tip: Try and get one lower down the hill with a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Phi Phi the Beach for 3 nights. It is on the far south side of the island and very quiet. Clean and no bugs. They provide a free water taxi ride when you arrive/depart and breakfast was included. We used the free shuttle service quite a bit to get up to our room since it's on a big hill. The view is really good from the resort and OK from the room we had in the 4000's.

The room itself had everything we needed but the bed was very hard. I am 6'3" and my feet and ankles were hanging off. Same with the beach chairs, they didn't have any cushions so something to keep in mind if you plan to lounge around the resort all day. You are better off on the sand.

The food is about double the price in town and not too bad. I feel like the service is slow everywhere on the island so no big deal.

We hiked up to the viewpoint from the resort, which was challenging and took about 3 hours in total. Seeing the resorts on the sandbar in between the two bays was breathtaking and made me wish we had stayed on that side. But it would have been tougher to get to Tonsai at night and for activities that leave from the main pier. We also did a booze cruise which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Utterly disappointed in everything about this place. The rooms are of very low standard and the staff are the worst I have had so far. The island itself is beautiful but this resort has ruined it for me.
Everyone I have spoken to so far is of the same opinion and cannot believe the rudness of the staff. I never write reviews but I felt people should be aware before they come here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We're not whinges, but for the first time during our extensive travels, we left our booked accommodation after only one night.
(we paid for two weeks, with no refund offered, but were happy to cut our loses on this place - YUCK!)

Negatives:
- Our cabin had a cat living within, we were forced to ask staff to remove the cat from our cabin.
- Sheets had obviously not been changed from the last occupant.
- Air conditioning doesn't work unless you are actually in the cabin. As you can imagine, air conditioning is required 24/7 in Thailand's climate.
- The buffet breakfast smelt of rotting fruit and salad.
- Noisy construction work within the resort.
- More of a backpacker feel, than resort.

Positives:
- Dinner was lovely (Thai green curry was amazing).
- Lovely view.
- Quick boat ride to Phi Phi markets.

It may be that we simply had a bad run of luck with this place, we understand this can happen, however we recommend you avoid the risk and skip this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friend and I booked a 2 night stay here last minute to have a relax in the sun away from Phuket and had a great time.
If you are looking for the type of stay where all you do is sunbathe and swim in the sea then this is perfect. The chalets on the hill have amazing views and the beach is private to the hotel with lots of sunbeds.
The breakfast had a good range of options and there was plenty to choose from in the restaurant.
I would recommend this hotel for couples who are happy to just to have dinner at night and not much else as there was not much happening at night....as you are a boat ride from the main island there was not any option to get there and back in the evening and we were told by staff that the last boat to the main island was 6pm which was too early for us. Whether you can actually go later than this I don't know as we didn't bother.
In the day we went to the island where 'the beach' was filmed however go early to avoid tourists - they even charge to get off a boat and stand on the island, which to me didn't seem worth it.
Great weather and fantastic views made this trip memorable

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were in awe of Phi Phi's beauty when we arrived here for the new year holiday. Someone from the hotel meets you at the ferry dock to take you by long tail boat to the resort. It is situated at the end if long beach, away from the chaos of the main each area, but close enough you can go join in after a quick boat ride. At first we got the impression that the hotel was very secluded, but is situated among a nice cluster of resorts, restaurants and massage places. The view from the rooms is of phi phi don and of phi phi leh- beautiful! You do walk up a hill to get to your rooms, but the view makes every step worth it. I would highly recommend hiring a long tail boat for the day am traveling to phi phi leh, monkey beach (there really were monkeys on the beach), bamboo and mosquito islands. It took about six hours and cost four of us 3500 baht. There were stops to swim an snorkel, but make sure to brig a lunch and drinks for a picnic as well as plenty of sunscreen.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.