We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Returning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Definitely Returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My friends and I had been backpacking across few places in Thailand and we knew PHI PHI would be that one place where we would go all out and stay at a very nice hotel/resort. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we picked Phi Phi The Beach Resort and stayed there for one night. The regret = staying for only one night.

The resort was amazing... but I'd have to say the beach and the view were truly amazing therefore the whole experience automatically become Ahhmazing. The beach facing the hotel was pretty much empty, only frequented by the guests of the resort. Perfect. The food and drinks were a little pricey but wonderful. The bar just next to the resort has cheaper drinks and a fire show from 9PM at night. The swimming pool is very small but you really don't need it when there is clear blue beach right next to you.

The rooms are spread out across the steep 'hill' and we called the minicar everytime we needed to get from our room to the reception/food area. Even though our rooms were high up, we had nothing to complain about as the view from it was absolutely stunning. The rooms were also very spacious, well air-conditioned and clean.

The bar nearest to the beach also offers full day/half day boat trips to Maya Bay and other surrounding islands... snorkelling as well. The resort is tucked away from the "busier parts"... we knew about this so we had no complaints about that... we also didn't bother trying to get into the pier area for the "nightlife/scene".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    221
    122
    76
    53
See reviews for
70
302
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
meath
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days with my boyfriend in sept 2013
It is not worth the money at all, yes there is great views but that's about all the hotel has to offer!
To get the good views you need to pay more money, the rooms are nice but in order to get to your room its a bit of a steep hill and steps.
There is no others restaurants or shops beside you so all the food,drinks and snacks are over priced.
Stay in the centre (not in the middle as this is very noisy) the hotels are lovely with great views and half the price.
Its a good 20 min trek to the town and you have to go through dark isolated parts of the woods, not a very safe feeling at all!
they have long boats for 100tb each one way. They stop going to the town at about 8pm and its even harder to get one back at night, its 150tb each but most of the boats wont bring you back and if they do they drop you only at Viking beach which means you have to walk through the woods and along long beach to get to the hotel.
The staff are very rude and have no interest in the guests. They actually ignore you on occasions and talk amongst themselves instead of helping you.
they had a staff party one night we stayed here and they neglected to tell us this so when we went down for dinner, they had stopped serving food and drink. We had to be told by another guest to just take food from a cold buffet instead, when we asked the staff about this she did not care and decided she did not speak English(hotel manager).
Ruined my trip to phi phi as I really did not enjoy staying here at all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Yes it has beautiful view from your room,but how about the rest? Seperated from Tongsai means you have to pay extra transportation if you want to eat outside the hotel. BTW,the food here is not tasty at all, and expensive. I would rather live in another hotel or beach,and just a day tour to phiphi if I only have this resort as my option.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you want relaxing, quiet and beautiful, you will get it here!
The staff are sweet and helpful and full of smiles!
The food was amazing and the cocktails were the best we had on Koh Phi Phi!
Our view was spectacular (Deluxe Villa) and the room was great! Comfy, big bed, tea and coffee and mini bar all inclusive (not much in the mini bar though). Massive balconies and if you want romance, this is the place.
Far enough out of the main town part of Phi Phi so that you can have peace and quiet and enjoy the nicest beach, Long Beach, pretty much to yourself and the other guests. But close enough by tail boat (100 Baht per person) to be there in 5 to 10 minutes. If your up for it though, the walk to town, which is up and down a few rises and a little tricky at times (lit at night and ropes to help in the hardest areas) is about 40 minutes and a nice way to get to see more of the island.
We booked a 6 hour Long Tail tour with the resort around the surrounding islands which was incredible! The snorkelling and swimming is beautiful and you get to see the famous Maya Beach, where they filmed the movie "The Beach."
Do not miss this tour while you are here, its true beauty at its best.
Fantastic resort! If you want to party, stay in town, if you want to relax, Phi Phi the Beach Resort is for you :)

Room Tip: If you want the view, go for the deluxe rooms. The walk up is tough after a few cocktails but worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spend 4 night in Phi Phi the Beach Resort.
The + :
- really spacious bungalows, 100% wood, big balcony/terrasse, nice ocean view
- friendly staff
- delicious breakfast
- The beach !!!
- the proximity of Koh Phi Phi Leh (long tail boat snorkeling trip)

The - :
- as we were there on low season, the dive shop was closed.
- the location on Long Beach implies to take a long tail boat (100bth/pers) each time you want to go to sairee (shopping, diving, etc...)
- the restaurant is a bit expensive. But it's always possible to go to the restaurant at the Paradise Pearl (the other resort on long beach, 10min walk by the beach)

Room Tip: Move for an ocean view bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great hotel, simple as that. After staying near the main town for three nights it was great to get away from it all. The Ocean View rooms were just amazing, inside and outside the rooms was just great. Only downfall to the rooms was the ants that crawled around outside on the private balcony. Other than that the service was great, the receptionist, restaurant workers and bar workers were all so friendly. The staff were a small community as well, so there was a very friendly vibe around the entire place. Definitely the first hotel I'd book if you're going there.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are well worth the price, nothing like waking up to the beautiful view of Phi Phi I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during August.

Travelled via a 2-hour ferry from Krabi to Phi Phi(Tonsai Pier). Upon arriving, we were greeted with hordes of motivated-sales personnels trying to get you to their long-tails (a kind of wooden boat) to their hotel or dive company. Do note that before you book this hotel, do set aside some monetary expenses for long tail boat taxi as you'll be charged from 100-200 THB / person depending on the long tail operator - We were charged 200THB / person for a single trip from Long Beach (where the hotel is located). The answer we got was 'rough sea condition' (yeah right!) when there was NO WIND upon questioning the operator about the price. I would say at least half of our expenses went on the long tail boat each time we need to travel out of the hotel, i.e making a round trip (double the cost) when heading out for diving, island hoping and etc, as the transit point is located at Tonsai Pier. Not forgetting to mention that, after 7pm (TOO DARK!) Long tail boats are not in operation and that's where you either 1. get a motorbike taxi (at least 100-150THB) or 2. Free-of-Charge -- jungle trekking (1-2 hours of trekking) through the dark and rocky track.

Let's talk about the hotel. Before the trip to Phi Phi, we actually took a 50-50 gamble about the room outcome based on previous reviews; such as bugs / ants infested in the room and many more. Well, we did not experience the aforementioned (definitely mosquitos are inevitable!), however we have CATS coming into our room from the Balcony! ;) Some advices to share - do bring along some mosquito coils and allow it to burn at night. Also, keep your windows / doors close when necessary! - unless you would like to sleep with the bugs.

Our room was awesome. One of the grandest view from the windows and balcony. - Take the room located up the hill. Phi Phi-Lei is just ahead of us. Stunning beautiful scenery in the day. ;) If you are expecting to catch the sunset with your love one (like I do), I suggest you don't even think about it because they are all blocked by the gigantic rocks on the right . >:D Still, it would be nice to sit by the balcony and watch the sky changes it color palette.

The room facility is great. ;) Woody-cabin feel. Our toilet light was faulty and have to resort to using torch light as an auxiliary light source. Flat screen telly and TV Box are included in the hotel but they are faulty as well. Wifi is available from the room but signal was so-so.

In summary, what's more could we ask for. The stunning view axes the flaws away; i bet you will be more incline towards the beautiful view of Phi Phi-lei than wasting your time away watching the telly. We would still recommend this place. Friendly receptionist and staffs, food prices are reasonable too. (We recommend the chicken Basil rice and Pratt Thai)

Oh one last thing to highlight, upon checking out of the hotel, we have to walk an estimated distance of 400m, bashing through the bushes to and down the rocky path under the sweltering sun in order to board our long tail boat. Though I was sloshing myself with some alcohol in my body (drank Mojito) prior to departure. Seems like as if we were in the movie scene of 'Behind Enemy Line'.

Go for the view! ;) That's all I can say. And you will be contented.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.