We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice, well located, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really nice, well located, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spend 4 night in Phi Phi the Beach Resort.
The + :
- really spacious bungalows, 100% wood, big balcony/terrasse, nice ocean view
- friendly staff
- delicious breakfast
- The beach !!!
- the proximity of Koh Phi Phi Leh (long tail boat snorkeling trip)

The - :
- as we were there on low season, the dive shop was closed.
- the location on Long Beach implies to take a long tail boat (100bth/pers) each time you want to go to sairee (shopping, diving, etc...)
- the restaurant is a bit expensive. But it's always possible to go to the restaurant at the Paradise Pearl (the other resort on long beach, 10min walk by the beach)

Room Tip: Move for an ocean view bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    245
    135
    79
    59
See reviews for
75
343
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great hotel, simple as that. After staying near the main town for three nights it was great to get away from it all. The Ocean View rooms were just amazing, inside and outside the rooms was just great. Only downfall to the rooms was the ants that crawled around outside on the private balcony. Other than that the service was great, the receptionist, restaurant workers and bar workers were all so friendly. The staff were a small community as well, so there was a very friendly vibe around the entire place. Definitely the first hotel I'd book if you're going there.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms are well worth the price, nothing like waking up to the beautiful view of Phi Phi I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during August.

Travelled via a 2-hour ferry from Krabi to Phi Phi(Tonsai Pier). Upon arriving, we were greeted with hordes of motivated-sales personnels trying to get you to their long-tails (a kind of wooden boat) to their hotel or dive company. Do note that before you book this hotel, do set aside some monetary expenses for long tail boat taxi as you'll be charged from 100-200 THB / person depending on the long tail operator - We were charged 200THB / person for a single trip from Long Beach (where the hotel is located). The answer we got was 'rough sea condition' (yeah right!) when there was NO WIND upon questioning the operator about the price. I would say at least half of our expenses went on the long tail boat each time we need to travel out of the hotel, i.e making a round trip (double the cost) when heading out for diving, island hoping and etc, as the transit point is located at Tonsai Pier. Not forgetting to mention that, after 7pm (TOO DARK!) Long tail boats are not in operation and that's where you either 1. get a motorbike taxi (at least 100-150THB) or 2. Free-of-Charge -- jungle trekking (1-2 hours of trekking) through the dark and rocky track.

Let's talk about the hotel. Before the trip to Phi Phi, we actually took a 50-50 gamble about the room outcome based on previous reviews; such as bugs / ants infested in the room and many more. Well, we did not experience the aforementioned (definitely mosquitos are inevitable!), however we have CATS coming into our room from the Balcony! ;) Some advices to share - do bring along some mosquito coils and allow it to burn at night. Also, keep your windows / doors close when necessary! - unless you would like to sleep with the bugs.

Our room was awesome. One of the grandest view from the windows and balcony. - Take the room located up the hill. Phi Phi-Lei is just ahead of us. Stunning beautiful scenery in the day. ;) If you are expecting to catch the sunset with your love one (like I do), I suggest you don't even think about it because they are all blocked by the gigantic rocks on the right . >:D Still, it would be nice to sit by the balcony and watch the sky changes it color palette.

The room facility is great. ;) Woody-cabin feel. Our toilet light was faulty and have to resort to using torch light as an auxiliary light source. Flat screen telly and TV Box are included in the hotel but they are faulty as well. Wifi is available from the room but signal was so-so.

In summary, what's more could we ask for. The stunning view axes the flaws away; i bet you will be more incline towards the beautiful view of Phi Phi-lei than wasting your time away watching the telly. We would still recommend this place. Friendly receptionist and staffs, food prices are reasonable too. (We recommend the chicken Basil rice and Pratt Thai)

Oh one last thing to highlight, upon checking out of the hotel, we have to walk an estimated distance of 400m, bashing through the bushes to and down the rocky path under the sweltering sun in order to board our long tail boat. Though I was sloshing myself with some alcohol in my body (drank Mojito) prior to departure. Seems like as if we were in the movie scene of 'Behind Enemy Line'.

Go for the view! ;) That's all I can say. And you will be contented.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our last stop on a whirlwind, week-long Thailand vacation, and a wonderful opportunity to relax in seclusion. With such incredible views from our private stilted bungalow, I took the opportunity to propose to my girlfriend! She said yes, and we spent the evening on the private balcony, watching the sunset over the beautiful island of Koh Phi Phi Don. Obviously, this hotel will always hold a special place in my heart.

The location in general is absolutely stunning, but I would not recommend staying here if you have any interest in visiting the small island town. We were swindled by the lone boatman willing to take us the 15 minute trip to town, and it was even worse on the way back, where we were almost stranded for the night! If you stay at Koh Phi Phi The Beach Resort, you're better off literally staying there the whole time, with the exception of a boat excursion to the smaller uninhabited neighbor island to see the picturesque hidden bay where the movie "The Beach" was filmed. You can arrange for this through the hotel, and the prices are fixed, so you won't be ripped off by an opportunistic boat driver.

Other than the boat-ride swindling, and an abundance of ants in the hotel room (which are probably inevitable in these type of bungalow structures), we had an incredible time, great food, a gorgeous beach, and the best views imaginable. Would recommend and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher up the hill means better views and more privacy, but also requires a ride to/from the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the views and appearance of the hotel are most probably the best in the long beach area and even in the town, the hotel is badly organized and explored. Most of the facilities have really short open schedules and some of them are even randomly open like the diving center. The rooms are good but have alot of room for improvements suchas the showers, the doors and other overtures to the outside which can invite some friendly geckos to say hi. The hotel also should provide a regular transportation to town since the path through the jungle is trecherous for some people and makes a short walk take over 20 minutes obstacle course experience, with all the extras you can expect in a jungle (bugs, frogs and snakes!).

I do however highly reccomend this hotel, since in comparison with the surrounding it is vastly superior and good value for the paid money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When reading the reviews and booking this hotel I was in two minds due to some negative reviews but this place was truly amazing and the best place we stayed in Thailand.

Great views, great snorkelling from your own private beach! there are a few rocks but only if you go in from the side if you use the centre then it's just sand.

With regards transportation you can get Tuk Tuk's at any time of the day no matter how rough they only difference is at night they don't go straight to the resorts platform. They stop about a 1 minute walk away on Long Beach not the miles everyone has said.

Will go back to this resort next year and is highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location! The rooms were spacious with beautiful outdoor bathrooms. Our view from the bungalow was like a picture on a postcard. The price of meals and drinks were cheaper then the mainland. The night time fire twirling was so much fun. We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.