We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dire service on paradise island” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi The Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Dire service on paradise island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here on two separate occasions, Christmas 2011 and June 2012.

When staying in June we knew what to expect. A resort with the rudest staff in the world. This is a particular amazing achievement given that on the whole, Thai people are some of the most friendly people in the world.

I just cannot describe how bad the staff are. They huffed and puffed at me asking to pay the £600 to stay at their hotel for a few days! They blatantly ignore you when you are sitting down waitin to be served, meaning you have to shout them I receive service.

A bunch of staff sit on golf buggys watching you struggle with your suitcases as you attempt to walk up the hill with them. That's if they are not busy wolf whistling your girlfriend like a pack of stereotypical builders back in the UK

Upon arrival they request your passport, be careful, as on our first visit I noticed the passports are left outside the office over night. Not something you want to go missing!

The location couldn't be much better. The beach is perfect, powdery sand. Almost like flour. The sea water is crystal clear in the winter and you can snorkel your day away. I had the joy of seeing a shark about 50m from the hotel, at the aptly named shark point.

When walking round tonsai, the main town on the island, some of the hotels look very busy.

It's a compromise, stay in a great location away from the hustle and bustle of the port Tonsai, in a great location that is quiet - but with appalling service.

The choice is ultimately yours.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    295
    158
    86
    67
See reviews for
90
412
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I was excited to stay here, the location is amazing.

However there is little else to recommend the place - though it does have fast free wifi.

We weren't met from the ferry, despite agreement to do so.

Breakfast is a weak buffet, rooms are tired and old, staff are rude and lazy and the food in the restaurant is mediocre and overpriced.

Bit dissappointed by this place to be honest - promised lots but failed to deliver.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a deluxe seaview cabin. Great view indeed, but otherwise just an ok location.
When we arrived, there was a longtail boat waiting to bring us to the hotel. Nice service, but quite load (also during the day you could hear them in your room).
We had a room close to a construction area, so in the morning we did hear some noise from this. Also the breakfast was ok, not great and we actually did have some stomach aches afterwards, probably from something we ate (not sure).
The bar downstairs and the beach were nice though. Nice location, probably better places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First of all, the longtail boats that kept on passing close to the beach consequently it was very noisy all day long.

Secondly, the breakfast was obscene, floating ham & sausages in stinky water, sauteed spinach probably done many hours before, chewy bread, in all a very very poor breakfast.

Thirdly, the service to Phi Phi Don is for free only at the arrival and the departure, otherwise you have to pay 150 bath per person every time you get on board.

Then, we first had a room close to a construction area, as we saw it we asked at the reception if they would have bothered our sleep and promptly the answer was negative. It's useless to say that we woke up thanks to hammers and yelling people all the time. As we informed the reception they proposed us to move to the next room, seroiusly, no difference at all!!!! As we became more insistent to get a quiet room the receptionist got very rude, I'm preatty sure they never had a basic course of "how to behave with customers".

It's not finished yet, as we were living the day after, obviously, we wanted to pay, but the machine didn't work. Even if we had already given the credit card as a guarantee, we had to spend a couple of hours going back and forth from the reception to the bar 'cause they were looking for the line... Crazy!
The next morning we were supposed to leave (Finally!) but the receptionist, always accompained by her rudeness, wanted us to stay at the hotel until the payment was done... She didn't even care of our flight back to BKK and the to EU. 2 minutes before the departure of the boat she managed somehow to make the payment, luckily we could ran out from this Hell embedded in a Paradise land.

Neadless to say, it's not worth the price you pay.

To summerize: NEVER EVER IN THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed six days on Phi Phi Island and were glad that we chose this hotel to stay at. Its away from the central part of the island which can get quite busy. The delux villa was nice. Simple but had everything we needed. Very clean! The staff were always friendly and had a smile on their face. Breakfast was nice. Restaurant was pretty good (loved the watermelon shakes and the coffee shakes!!) Was amazing to be able to walk from your room down to the lovely blue waters of the beach and be surrounded by zebra fish. And the view was just beautiful! My only complaint is that some nights the bar played loud music til 3am...apart from that we were very happy and wouldnt hesitate in returning!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I arrived at this hotel extremely excited for the days we had planned on Phi Phi island. We arrived at the resort and were in love with the room. Little did we know, it was the beginning of a nightmare.

A very long story short, the management of The Beach Resort are without a doubt some of the most dishonest and rude people that I have ever met. Our room was continually littered with both gecko and mice droppings, most notably on our beds, forcing us to move rooms three times. The third room was obviously not a normal suite - there were bags of garbage around the room and a huge sewing machine. Within five minutes of being in the room, we could hear mice running around. After paying for a deluxe ocean side suite, this down grade was completely unacceptable. On top of this, many of our bed sheets and towels had disgusting stains on them. One towel had fecal smears all over it.

The manager here was extremely disrespectful and we could not speak to her in person since she the front desk staff claimed that she works in Phuket. Instead of trying to help us solve our problem, she decided to hang up on my husband and ignore the rest of our calls. The front desk told us if we were not happy at the hotel, then we should find another hotel while still having to pay for the entirety of our stay - this was at 9pm when the entire island is pitch black.

To top that all off, the front desk staff told us we were being difficult and a hassle for requesting to change our bed sheets and move to a different room when there was disgusting animal droppings in our bed. This was an absolute slap in the face.

Also, be aware that there are many stray dogs and cats that openly roam around the restaurant area. The cats jump on the chairs while you are eating trying to get scraps of food. Many guests were upset or annoyed by this during our stay, especially the families with young children.

We received no compensation for what we have suffered. We had to pay for the entirety of our stay regardless of the things we had to endure during this trip. When we requested a discount, the front desk threatened to report us to the police - I was floored by her audacity given all of the hotel's unmistakable errors. We have spent more than half of the hours of our trip switching rooms and trying to negotiate with the hotel management. The Beach Resort is 100% responsible for ruining our vacation.

Needless to say, the management at this hotel is absolutely atrocious. I will never stay here again and will warn everyone I know to avoid this place. Unless you enjoy having mice in your bed, poo smeared on your linens and being continually disrespected by the staff, I suggest you steer clear of this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This resort has 4 "tiers" of bungalows tucked in the low mountain trees. We were 2nd from the top with an awesome view of the sea. The 2 lower tiers are kind of lost in the trees and don't have much of a sea view. Best to spend the extra $ for the top 2 tiers.
My wife had a minor accident which required stiches and before we were longboated back over to the clinic by the pier, she was immediately attended to by the staff (using surgical gloves) to stop the bleeding and help her relax. For the rest of our week's stay she was always asked if she was OK ?
Helpful staff, good English, excellent breakfast and a nice happy hour. The night fire show is well worth seeing in the neighboring bar. Very hard working staff, doing all they can to make you comfortable. We had a great stay and would definately return.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $ for one of the top 2 tiers above the tree line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi The Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.