We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID... AVOID... AVOID...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort

Save Saved
You added Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   107 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“AVOID... AVOID... AVOID...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Please do not stay at this hotel! It’s dirty, not only the accommodation but the grounds (piles of rubbish left all over the grounds), toilets continually get blocked and the hotel maintenance staff are very slow to respond and the pathways are a danger! The reception staff and Manager are very friendly when they are taking your money, but extremely rude and impolite when you have an issue! I also booked B&B only to be told that they no longer do breakfast even though it had been paid for in full!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    34
    34
    50
See reviews for
10
67
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3nights in August. We arrived in Phi Phi with nowhere booked and found this was the cheapest place available at the booking offices (crowded with people) just off the pier.

Someone from the hotel wheeled our bags through the small village to the end of the bay to Viewpoint. (~10mins) ( had to pay 50baht each going back to the pier on checkout )

We had a fan bungalow up on the hill for 900baht a night. At the start we thought the steps would be a challenge but found they were fine as the days went on. Staff members were friendly and helpful. I lost my wallet walking back from their ( beautiful )infinity pool and a member of staff found it at night and returned it.
This is the best spot for a sunset loh dalum bay!
Rooms were basic but did the job. A bit hot on a fan room so would go for Aircon next time. Rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Although the bed was quite uncomfortable after a few days!

Although music could be heard from below beach party it was still one of the quietest compared to other places.

Would recommend and would return!

Sunflower bar next door is a really nice relaxed bar for A game of pool, a shake/beer and a lovely sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Viewpoint in July 2012 for 3 nights. Overall, I felt like it was a disappointing experience. It wasn't that it was bad, just that it wasn't good value.
Cons:
Rooms felt dirty - the toilet seat was all scratched and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly
The shower only had cold water on one day and was dark and dingy - with our window facing directly into the bungalow next door
The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. This alone would deter me from staying there again.
The noise - it really is loud. I was at the parties most nights myself, but it was still ridiculous how loud it was. Not that they can help this I guess
No wifi
Staff weren't friendly or helpful. I asked to loan a butter knife and spoon one morning, apparently they didn't have any in the hotel. At all.

Pros:
Large rooms
Free water
Pool view was beautiful on a sunny day

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is at the end of the busy party beach, so you can still here the music late night, if you hate late night noise probably not for you, nothing on this side of the island is quite though. We got a deluxe sea view room, it was amazing. Our room was nice and our view was incredible, when you have a view like that nothing else matters. The pool was nice, not many places with pools on this side of island. The manager/owner was very very friendly and very helpful whenever we needed anything. We booked our stay longer than we meant to and they had no problem refunding our last night, always wanted to be of assistance. This place wasnt as cheap as other bungalows on this side of the island but it was definetly nicer than the cheap bungalows.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Phi Phi is fairly expensive when you compare to Ao Nang

Phi Phi Island has gone downhill.. it is just a place to come now and get absolutely drunk til the wee hours. Even the locals are money hungry..

We paid 1300 Baht for 1 night. I visited here in 2009 and then for around same price we got breakfast. They dont do breakfast anymore

It is on the hill so away from it all. Some of the rooms are a bit of a hike. Still hear the sounds pumpin all night

This place is now catering for lots of backpackers..so has become grotty..

I feel kinda sorry for the staff that work there, with a bit of a renovation could be a great place

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked a Deluxe Room - Sea View, for one night on the date of our arrival to Phi Phi.
The hotel have a bell boy who meets you at the pier with a trolley to take your bags to the hotel. There are no cars or mopeds on phi phi and its is a good 15 min walk to the hotel but what a great way to get to know the island quickly. The hotel is the fathest point away from the pier by foot located at one end of the beach.

The hotel was however extremly run down and in real need of an update. We were upgraded as the hotel had taken our booking with breakfast but the restaurant had shut for the season. The upgrade was a joke! Old and tired, chipped furnitre and the bathroom was like something from faulty towers. The towels and bed linen were stained and torn but the room did look clean overall. As we were only staying one night we chose not to say anything but if we had any more days there we would def have been complaning. The rooms are all up extremly steep steps bar the beach front bungalows so would recommend booking these if you can.

No lock box in the room but shabby lockers at reception, they ask you to leave your key to your room when going out for the evening also. The reception staff spoke little or no english bar one extremly nice lady - who is a credit to the hotel.

The pool is a welcome attraction to the hotel with a fantastic vista across the beach and an amazing place to watch the breath taking sunset. This hotel really is the only place for a fantatsic view - and this is really what your paying for here. Pu's bar is a great little find - turn right at reception past the beach bungalow rooms and up the slight incline - what a brilliant place to enjoy a fantastic cocktail and watch the sunset.

The noise from the beach front bars is deafening - which of course the hotel are honest about and we can not blame them for. The beach bars absoultley ruin phi phi on this side of the island. What a shame the thai governament or authorities cant close this atrocity down.

In all our one night here was ok and the view took our breath away - i would not recommend for more than one night. It is such a shame because with some work on this hotel it could be fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the first couple of nights on phi phi. To be fair to the place the pool has a phenomenal view of the beach. Sadly the noise that comes off the beach is extremely unrelaxing. If you are going to be up and partying until 3am every night then this won't be a problem but we weren't that energetic! They do warn you of the noise before but I had no idea it would be so loud, even with headphones it was ridiculous as the bass is so loud!

The rooms are big and clean but the bed was cripplingly uncomfortable. We moved after two nights to pp casita which also has a pool but doesn't have the noise issue. Viewpoint also has a rather unfriendly collection of staff, especially the women at reception, who originally wanted us to pay for the whole week upfront, which we thankfully didn't!

I wouldn't recommend this place on the grounds of the uncomfy bed and unfriendly staff... The noise is something that won't bother all travellers but if you are going to phi phi to relax it will be an issue.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort

Address: 107 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Otel so you can book your Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Viewpoint Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Viewpoint Hotel
Phi Viewpoint Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi ViewPoint Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.