We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel in the middle of town with clean comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Banyan Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phi Phi Banyan Villa to your Saves list
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Moo 7, Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reading
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A hotel in the middle of town with clean comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The rooms were clean and tidy and the bathroom of a good standard.The hotel was very quiet considering it was in the middle of town. Although I didn't use the pool it looked nice. It was a very good location to experience the bussle of the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    151
    88
    30
    41
See reviews for
43
134
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms are very old looking. The bathroom and shower looked very dirty. The shower head and faucets are all rusty and it smells like sewage everywhere. The air con made so much nose at night that it was hard to sleep.
The pool had so much chlorine, that the eyes and skin seriously burn. There are only 4 sunbeds for the entire hotel. Very weird.
In all, I would have picked out terrible as a score, but moved it up to poor bc most of phi phi is rundown and filthy since the tsunami.

Room Tip: Not for kids....but the location is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just managed to get a room in the middle of January and happy we choose Banyan Villa, was easy to find and close to pier, nice pool and gardens. Close to all shopping and restaurants. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The highlight of this hotel for me was definitely the location. It is close to the pier, easy walk to Loh Dalam beach, and has loads of restaurants and amenities around it. It was so nice to not have to walk far in the heat with our backpacks after getting off the ferry.

Our room was clean and comfortable with a king size bed. The bathroom was also newer, and the air conditioner worked well. No complaints at all!

We also borrowed beach towels from the hotel on several occassions and found this to be a fairly easy process. They ask that the towels be returned by 8:00pm, but when we went on an evening boat tour one night and they told us that it was no problem if we had to hand them in later. They even let us borrow them when we checked out since we wanted to spend some time at the beach before we took the ferry in the afternoon.

This hotel doesn't have wifi (not sure how many hotels on Phi Phi do though), but there were a few restaurants close by that offered free wifi for their customers, which we used once to send an email home.

It is a very busy hotel during high season, so don't expect to be apply to check-in early or check-out late. It wasn't a problem for us though - they held our bags for us when we arrived early and also when we checked-out since our ferry didn't leave until mid afternoon.

My only complaint is that the walls seem to be fairly thin and in the early mornings we could often hear staff walking around the hotel and the beeping and incoming messages from the two-way radios they all carry around. A bit of an annoyance, but relatively minor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in the PP banyan hotel for 3 nights in middle February, price was a bit high, 3600 THB for 1 night to the standard room ( which was big and with a balcony to the swomming pool but feom some reason considered to be standard).
The price includes breakfast that was pretty basic (not the best we had).

Staff is amazing ! The clark lady were smiling each time we arrive asking for our room keys, the bell boy took our bags to the pier when we left and waited with us on the 7eleven for buying water (without even asking him to do so) and again with a smile.

Rooms are good, not something special as in Bangkok for those prices but in a very good condition, room covered by wooden floor. The only issue was with the shower that tends to slowly drain.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently whilst backpacking with two of my friends. The 3 of us shared a room with an extra mattress on the floor. The extra mattress was the same thickness as the normal beds which was a bonus however it was very squashy and we had little room to meander around. The bathroom is quite small, two of us struggled to stand by the sink at once. The location is wonderful and even though the breakfast is very average the view makes up for it. You're literally eating on the beach which makes getting out of bed that much easier! Very good security guards at night, however rooms can be fairly noisy if you're on the side facing the restaurants on the 2nd floor so if you're a light sleeper ask to be on the other side. I would most likely stay here again as it was cheap and a nice luxury for a backpacking trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Pros:
• Relatively quiet location that’s close to the amenities/attractions of Tonsai
• Rooms are fairly clean by Phi Phi standards
• There’s a well air-conditioned and equipped exercise building if that’s your thing
• There’s an electric kettle and the mini fridge is sufficient for drinks and outside food

Cons:
• AC barely functional
• Thinly staffed by overworked and occasionally rude employees
• Check-in / Key-Check process often sees you in a line of 5-8 people all waiting for assistance.
• Requests for change of towels necessitated a 4 hour run around…twice
• Everything is made of wood and it’s easy to hear through the walls and to hear people tramping up the covered walkway at all hours

ProTips:
• Be patient with the staff
• Skip the gym and go for a run on the beach and a swim instead
• The pool and it’s rent-a-towels aren’t really worth bothering with.
• Don’t be afraid to skip the hotel’s breakfast. There’s a fresh fruit stand on nearly every corner
• Take a longtail taxi to LongBeach for 100 Baht p/person. Relax and snorkel then get a beachside massage.

We had a fairly mixed experience at this hotel. Having stayed at several places on Phi Phi this year running the gamut from one of the big 5 star resorts on the other end of the island to budget hostels in Tonsai I feel I’m able to review this hotel with some perspective. Firstly if you want to remain close to Tonsai and stay somewhere clean and comfortable you have very few choices. You can stay at PiPi Cabana or at one of the 4 hotels in the group that own/run PiPi Banyan Villa. That’s about it. Everything else is either a significant walk from Tonsai and/or catering to the budget hostel crowd either in price or standard of accommodation. In this respect we felt lucky to snag a few days in central Tonsai at Banyan without prior reservations. Hotels on Phi Phi are overpriced and in the high season often overworked as well. It’s not uncommon to pay over 3000 baht for a room that would command no more than 1000 in Phuket or Krabi Town. It’s simply a byproduct of the island’s steady stream of tourism. The rebuilding after 2006 has been fast and this has come at the expense of quality lodgings which are few and far in-between. Most places will have the omnipresent bathroom funk as well as a few dings in their appearance. I have learned that this is simply the cost of staying on Phi Phi. Some of the resorts, like Outrigger and Zevola are exceptions to this but just barely and there you are dealing with an isolated experience (this can be both good and bad).
Breakfast is small and sufficient for the purpose but otherwise not worth mentioning. They have a rather xenophobic and Orwellian policy at Phi Phi Banyan of denying anyone other than paying guests access to the rooms with signs that threaten “a 2000 baht fine and/or delivery into police custody”. I found their towel policy, whereby you must sign for and then return towels for the pool by 7pm or be charged a 350 baht fine a little tiring as well. Ditto for holding us, obviously sick and with a sick 3 year old, at checkout for 20 minutes while housekeeping tried to account for… wait for it… ONE WASHCLOTH. They threatened to charge me 250 Baht. I told them I’d give them 500 if they’d quit being so ridiculously pretentious and let us leave and find a pharmacy to get our child some medicine. In the end they apparently found said washcloth and we were allowed to leave. No charge. This place could be great with a larger staff that cared but one of the employees told us that they all work non stop 7 day a week shifts rotating between the 4 hotels in the Phi Phi Hotel Group so this seems unlikely. I think they will most likely continue to rely on the high turnover and demand for rooms that Phi Phi provides while continuing to muddle through with the rest. This isn’t the worst place to stay in Tonsai. In fact it’s probably one of the better options but I wouldn’t recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Banyan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Banyan Villa

Address: 129 Moo 7, Ao Nang | Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Banyan Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi Banyan Villa locate only 5 minutes walks from Tonsai Pier. From the pier, just turn right down along the beach road. You will find a big banyan tree with the hotel reception on the left and on the right is the hotel's beach front restaurant Tonsai Seafood. Phi Phi Banyan Villa is a second hotel of Phi Phi Hotel Group. The hotel has just renovated and finished on November 2009. Bed room and bath room are clean and brand new Banyan Fitness Center is free of charge for the hotel guest. The fitness consist of work out machines, sauna room, stream room and yoga class which guest have to pay extra to join. Please note to use the fitness, a pair of proper sport shoes is needed or you have to rent one at the fitness. The hotel is 2 story building. Two room type are Banyan Wing Room and Garden Wing Room, wooden floor for Banyan Wing Rooms and tiled floor for Garden Wing Room. All rooms are with balcony facing the garden. Please note extra bed at this hotel is only a mattress on the floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Phi Phi Banyan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Banyan Villa Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Banyan Hotel
Phi Banyan Ko Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Banyan Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.