We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location - shame about the island!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Hotel to your Saves list
Phi Phi Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Center of Ao Ton Sai Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Hampshire, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good location - shame about the island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is well located and one of the best in the location. The island however has become so busy and lost its charm somewhat. The hotel is clean, a good breakfast is served but the lack of a lift (we were on the 5th floor) made it a trudge! At night the loud music of nearby bars spoilt the charm of what was once a chilled out and beautiful island.

Room Tip: get a room lower down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    259
    128
    39
    43
See reviews for
29
181
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights while exploring Koh Phi Phi.

It is ridiculously close to the pier, just as close to the more desirable beach on the other side as well. Our room looked out over Long Beach, but the other side of the building has views out to Tonsai Bay.

The room itself wasn't the best, but it was clean enough to feel comfortable in. There is no lift so pack light if you can. Getting our suitcases up to the fourth floor wasn't the best.

The buffet wasn't anything to write home about but the omelettes served us well enough.

There is a pool, but it's not very flash. We were so busy boating and out at the beaches that we didn't even notice though.

We found this place well priced and well located near almost everything on the island. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the 4th level to look out on either bay of Phi Phi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed 2 nights while island hoping in Thailand. We had a really bad experience and regret staying here. For the rates charged the hotel is actively running a scam in my opinion! Tonsai beach is awful and if I was to visit Phi Phi again I would definitely spend more money to stay in the better 5*/4* hotels on the other side of the island.

Pros:
- Location is right next to Tonsai pier and you can see the hotel as you approach on the ferry. In heart of Tonsai area and so next to all the big restaurants and tour agents. However if you are looking for a great beach then do not stay here, if you are only after a place to stay while taking boat trips all day then Tonsai is fine.
- Breakfast was good but for hotel rates charged this is to be expected

Cons:
- Hotel has no lift/elevator so you have to take your baggage up yourself if the bell boy is busy which is very difficult if staying on 4th or 5th floor!
- The rooms located in the middle of the hotel have no privacy at all, people walking along the corridor can see into your room by the balcony and so you would need to keep curtains closed all day. After some serious complaining and talking to several members of staff (most don't speak a word of english) we were moved to a 'normal' room where the balcony is facing outwards. Some of the staff were outwardly rude to us as if we were being a major inconvenience to them.
- Security is non existent. A drunk tried to get into my room at 2am and even after calling reception four times no one came to help. Finally I threatened to call the police and then 20 minutes after first reporting the incident a security officer came to take the man away. I filed a report the next morning but never heard anything back from the hotel, no apology from management.
- There is a lot of riff raff staying in the hotel and so I would not recommend this place for families.
- Hotel is probably one star at most and does not represent good value. I do not recommend anyone staying here unless it is for £20 a night or less.
- Reception staff are rude and incompetent.

Room Tip: do not stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hey everyone , I just wanted to leave some feedback with my stay at Phi Phi Hotel.
Week booked the hotel for 4 days because we knew it was in a good location (close to the Pier when arriving on Phi Phi Island + close to the main beach and restaurants).

The staff are the reason why I wanted to write this review.

Mr Naan ... I think he was the duty manager , was the friendliest guy and you knew he genuinely loved he's job and wanted to help us in any way possible. Also the girls at reception were very cute and friendly , and taught me some Thai each time I seen them .... usually hotel reception staff just say ''heres your room key , see ya later!''. The Staff are so nice.

So , here are some Pros and Cons , hopefully it helps with your decision:

PROS:
- Perfect location. Central to everything you need + 2 minutes walk from the main pier on arrival + shopping / restaurants / tour companies and its a 7-8 minute walk from the main NIGHTCLUB areas.

- Beautiful view over looking the main bay of Phi Phi Island. The two girls I was travelling with were very impressed with the view (they screamed like little girls when they seen the bay from the balcony. It was really cute)

- Reasonable price. For location and amenities (free buffet breakfast)

- Great staff as previously mentioned. A special thanks to Mr Daan for he's friendly welcome.


CONS:

- The Rooms were nice and spacious, but it is not a luxurious hotel. Its a medium range hotel.
There were scuff marks on the walls , and no minibar .... it was the little things that made it a basic (although nice) room.

- The breakfast buffet was included, although it was pretty average. Had all the normal inclusions (bacon .... tiny thai sausages , baked beans , fruits , coffee etc).

Im actually trying to find some more cons , but i can't. Hahah if you are like me and the 2 others I was travelling with and are looking for a NICE RELAXED accommodation WITH ALL THE COMFORTABLE AMENITIES and THE PERFECT LOCATION , you will not be disappointed with Phi Phi hotel.

I hope this was helpful :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Phi Phi's Bay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

While the hotel was nice and clean, it's not next to any really nice beaches. If you want that, you should get a hotel at "long beach" like Phi Phi Palace or one of those ones. Phi Phi Hotel is right inside the market area, which is basically a large flea market. You'll hear loud clubbing music all night long pretty much anyway if your hotel is in the main section. Having been there, I just wish we had gotten a hotel on long beach. The hotel also doesn't have elevators and we were on the fourth floor. Not fun to go up and down when it's 100 F. But the breakfast was good! And the rooms were clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Choosing this place mainly on location. We really didn't realise just how small Koh Phi Phi really was! This hotel is great the view we had from our room was immense! Overall it was clean, and I didn't find the area too noisy at night. It was a little a bit pricey for what my friends and I would normally pay but totally worth it. Gutted to leave such an awesome island, I will return one day.

Room Tip: Try to get the Sea view room (not the dock side) absolutely beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We chose this place due to the proximity to the pier. You can literally see the hotel as you arrive and we were helped with our bags by an attendant. Service was quick, friendly and efficient on arrival.

The room was average and I'd say they need to update/decorate as we've stayed in places a lot cheaper with higher quality rooms. We paid just over £55 a night which, all things considered, seemed high but that's Ko Phi Phi in general. With that said, the sea view across Ton Sai bay was breath-taking (make sure you request sea view)

Breakfast was included and in my opinion this was well below average quality so we just had toast.

Some people complain of the noise which we didn't find to be too much of an issue. We were on the 4th floor and you'd have to be a very light sleeper to be woken by it.

I would stay here again but would have to be a cheaper rate.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Hotel

Address: Center of Ao Ton Sai Village, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Phi Phi Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Phi Phi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Ko Don
Phi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.