We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot have changed....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ao Ton Sai

Ao Ton Sai
Phi Phi's main beach, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A lot have changed....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my husband where there for 3 years ago, and stayed at the right side when you arrive with a boat (don´t remember the name of the bungalows). Very nice, and we took a longtailboat to Ao Ton Sai in the afternoon/evenings. A lot of people but it seemed nice. This januari (-12) we passed Phi Phi from Koh Lanta to Phuket, and we would not put our feet on that overexploated island. New bildings very closeley to each other (from harbour to Monkeybeach). There was a green area för football and markets 3 years earlier. And all this "Oootch, ootch, ootch, - music pumping out loudly! A croud of boats crosses..This is now a partyisland for teenagers! I´m so happy that we where there earlier.....

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    40
    47
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you're not on mainland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Ton Sai will offer you more variety of shopping, lots of little souvenir shops.

We stayed on Phi Phi Island village resort and spa and they charge ridiculous prices for a massage.. like 2000-3000 Bahts.. so visiting tonsai bay was good because I got a full body coconut oil massage for 400 Baht, much more reasonable for Thailand.

The food prices are cheap and the shops mostly sell souvenirs. Most of them will bargain, some won't. Keep walking if you see something you like and they won't bargain.. Ive seen the same items sold over and over again and if you keep walking you will find someone wanting to bargain :)

There is a starving cat on tonsai bay.. All the animals I saw there looked deprived. if you visit and see it, feed it, because nobody else does. You can't miss it, it looks like death. I understand these people are poor and sometimes work 2-3 jobs, but it costs 30 Baht for a tuna sandwich. Thats $1. I don't know how much cat food costs, but it revolts me that they let animals get this skinny and that nobody feeds them. Why bring them onto an island if you won't feed them?

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“pretty and interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

this harbour is really cool and scenic, and you can walk for 5 mins through a little tourist-shop town, and get to Loh Dah Lum, which is even prettier!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Why would you stay here?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I don't understand why you would take the time to travel to Phi Phi and then stay in Ton Sai? It is dirty, crowded and ugly. Do yourself a favour and head out to the beautiful beaches

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worst island in Thailand”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I live in Thailand, and I have been pretty much everywhere.

Koh Phi Phi is by far the worst place I have ever seen in Thailand. It's overcrowded, dirty, there is trash everywhere, people are not friendly at all, and you see young drunk backpackers lying in the streets from 9pm 'til late.

Island to avoid at all cost.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ao Ton Sai also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Ao Ton Sai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ao Ton Sai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.