We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tragic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Bay

Maya Bay
on Phi Phi Ley, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world famous Maya Bay, location of the film “The Beach” starring Leonardo Dicaprio, located in Phi Phi Ley, with white sandy beach, surrounded by gigantic limestone cliffs and coral reefs.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Tragic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Read some terrible comments about how this place is being spoilt by overcrowding and too many visitors. For that reason we didn't specifically visit. However, on a break on a dive trip, our boat moored just outsside the bay. Clearly, this is an extraordinary and beautiful place. But we could harldy see the water or the beach for the hundreds of boats and people.

This piece of paradise is paying a very high price for its moment of fame brought by featuring in the movie "The Beach."

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    477
    323
    134
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North West, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“beautiful scenery but beach is overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

best way to see Maya bay is either by dive boat or another excursion which just takes you into the bay for lunch. don't bother with the beach - there are 20-30 speedboats there all morning to early afternoon, so busy you can barely move.

Longtails also bring people on private hire. You can snorkel here but the boat traffic means there is little marine life to see.

Phuket ferries actually come into the bay on the way back to Phuket so you can take photos then.

It is beautiful to see but the commercialism has ruined any romance about the place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A little bit crowded, but amazing place! A place that you must go if you are in Koh Phi Phi. Just a relaxing beach and great landscape.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautifull but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went in afternoon - it was last stop of our tour but still the beach was crowded.
No taking away from the fact that the beach is beautifull - clean waters and great backround.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

On one of our tours to the islands we stopped off here. It was very nice although very crowded, but you can find a nice spot to yourself.

Toilets were terrible, fortunately the boat had a toilet.

I would recommend it to say you have been there but it is very commercial. Very sad as it is a beautiful place... We grabbed the best from it but for another person it could be a nightmare.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Bay also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Maya Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.