We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weird 5 star resort!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zeavola Resort to your Saves list
Zeavola Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doha
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“weird 5 star resort!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Koh Phi Phi Island is undoubtedly amazing!! very peaceful, serene, a perfect place for couples and family who wants to be away from the city life. Staying one night in this property is enough experience! its a rustic place that they transformed into 5 star luxury,.. not even close! Tea and coffee located outside the room, you have to go out and close the door so mosquitoes will not enter, no garbage bin outside , they next day you'll see flies and fruit flies having a feast in your fruits and coffee mugs! the room has no extra sockets to charge your electronic gadgets, you have to remove the lamp sockets instead! room has an over-sized day bed which occupies a lot of space to the walk way going to the bathroom! insects and bugs are everywhere! villas are surrounded by plants but still you can see your neighbors and vice versa! i don't feel any privacy! the outdoor bathroom, you can hear the people passing just behind you between only a thin bamboo fence! buttons are everywhere! you have to spend 2 - 3 days to get used to the buttons to operate the lights, the blinds, a/c, etc. To sum it all up, we are disappointed that its just so difficult to move and we always gets lost on our way to the villa!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Enjay613,

Thank you for your comments on our resort, which were collected during a very short stay. One sentence sums it all up. You stayed only for one night. Our resort is build like a naturally grown Thai village, which does not claim to provide 100% privacy. Same like in a village you have neighbors and if you really bend over you might be able to see them through the very thick foliage.

In the Thai culture it is very common that people spend a lot of time outside in shaded areas. Therefore the living room of each Suite has an outside concept. So that Tea and Coffee as well as the Minibar are outside. my staff normally looks after each villa twice a day, so that fruit and coffee left overs should be cleared in time.

Remember, during check in we provide all guests with a map, so that they don't get lost on their first day. Normally after the first day guests get used to our rather playful jungle garden setting.

We are very sorry that our resort seemed not make you happy, but to come to Phi Phi island for only one night is honestly not enough to appreciate the natural setting of the resort. Also you will not have enough time to discover the beauty of this Marine National Park.

We wish you a peaceful year ending, Please stay healthy and successful in 2014.
Florian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    227
    99
    60
    48
See reviews for
113
770
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been in Zeavola in early November.
Hotel is amazing and nothing to complain about.

Really good were the beanbag chair, much better the a beach chair.

There is also a nice small restaurant (Jasmins) and bar close to the hotel which really good Thai food and it is cheaper than in Zeavola.

Only thing what`s a little disturbing was when the tourist boots where coming to the hotel beach.
What could be a problem is when your credit card isn`t working, there is no ATM close to the hotel.

Room Tip: regular Bungalows enough and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was my third holiday to Thailand and I've stayed in a variety of islands and hotels and overall I wasn't impressed with the Zeavola.

To be fair, it had some very good features such as a lovely swimming pool area, secluded rooms and a nice relaxed vibe.

But here are some bad points:

Firstly if you're expecting a serene beach then this hotel is not for you - each day about 15 boat-loads of people turn up for lunch at a neighbouring restaurant and so there is a constant traffic of people coming and going. The noise of these boats, the sea tractors and the local long-tail boats is very loud and pretty much non-stop. The sea water is not clear and the beach itself is quite littered with cigarette butts and broken glass.

The hotel has a formal restaurant but it only seems to be used at breakfast. The staff encourage you to eat lunch and dinner at their beach bar (which is basically a shack with a few tables and chairs, mostly on the sand, not exactly 5 star, particularly as it gives no respite from the mosquitoes and sandflies no matter how much insect repellent you use. (Every guest we saw had so many bites all over their legs!)

The restaurant staff are surprisingly frowny with guests and seem more interested in having a laugh and joke with each other than serving anyone. And when you do finally get their attention they seem a bit begrudging which made us feel very awkward - and when they bring the food it's just dropped on your table without any smiles or words. Interestingly, when the hotel manager did his rounds to say hello to guests the staff became a bit more attentive and friendly so perhaps they've received training but become lazy when management is not around. Just to clarify, I wouldn't mind this kind of service if it was just some independent beach hut that I found somewhere but this is supposed to be a premium hotel...

Housekeeping was very late in the afternoon and they didn't refill the lotions and potions, the body lotion was empty to begin with.

If you don't like insects then this place is not for you - the rooms are in a jungle setting and there is a vast array of creepy crawlies and as far as we could see there were no plugin repellents in the room. Also, whilst the novelty of the room setup was fun (we had a garden room), you have to leave the room and go outside to the bathroom which is not a lot of fun at night. Also the air conditioning is activated when your key is in the slot so if you're out of your room for a couple of hours then it's pretty steamy upon return.

Finally the transfer service that they provide (and charge a premium rate for) was disappointing on our way back as they dropped us on the other side of the island and we had to walk about 500 metres carrying our own bags wading through the low tide - again this would not be a problem if we were expecting it but it's not exactly a premium service.

Overall I just don't get why this hotel is number 1 in Ko Phi Phi - the service does not seem to equate to the luxury price tag.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Bluelike5

Thank you for your very long and detailed descriptions of our resort. I can see that your expectations of our resort and your product did not match very well which created many of the points of tension. Please allow me to go into details.

I understand the issue with the day visitor boats, but since the beach is public I can not change this situation as the neighboring resort is doing lunch business for them. The beach is very lively between 12:00 and 14:30 that is correct.In regards to the cleanliness of the beach we are cleaning the beach up to three times a day in order to collect all possible garbage. As it is currently the time of changing current the water is not crystal clear but this will improve over the next some days.

Our Baxil Restaurant might be better protected and housed but its not a formal restaurant. While we normally have the restaurant open during dinner most of our guests choose to sit on the beach in order to dive their toes into the fine sand. And Tacada Bar and Restaurant is actually one of our dearest attractions as guests feel more comfortable and chilled. At least it should be called a Designer Shack since there was a lot of love poured into this outlet. Mosquitoes are in both restaurants. Please note that we do not have any Sandflies on our beach. Most importantly all menus are available in all restaurants so that guests always have the full choice on our menu selection.
I have addressed your comments with my service staff which actually is known for their sunny deposition. They were reminded to be their friendly self regardless if I’m around or not. But seriously I have talked to them and they understand that their smile and friendliness is our business card.
The rooms are based on our concept: “ A Thai village from 30 years ago” Therefore the living area is an outdoor area in a jungle setting. The bathrooms and toilets are separated from the sleeping area in most cases but we also have rooms were the bathroom is attached. We would invite our guests to communicate with us if the outside bathroom is not according to their expectations so that we can find a solution for this matter. Also the Lotion bottle could have been communicated. Sometimes little human errors do creep into the daily work of my staff. We are very sorry for that.
Due to our Jungle Setting we do have insects but behind the bed we also have a electrical repellent. There are insects repellent free of charge in the room and in our restaurant we also provide all kinds of repellent for our guests.
We are trying to be as sustainable as possible in order to preserve water, electricity and reduce our impact on the local ecosystem. That is why we did install breakers in our electrical system, Please understand that running an air-condition while guests are outside for almost half the day goes against our philosophy. We truly appreciate if guests are willing to assist us in these efforts.
The transfer was send to the back side beach since we had very strong wind on the other side. So it was a safety issue and we tried to protect you and your belongings. Since our check in and check out is based on few boats per day it is difficult to send our staff with you to assist. We are sorry for this shortcoming.

Once again thank you for your comments which allow us to retrain the staff and explain some of our restrictions to potential new guests. That is always helpful.
We wish you a peaceful year ending and a healthy and successful year 2014
Florian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

After arriving at tosai pier, and being our first trip to phi phi island, we immediately thought that the island was a dump - rubbish everywhere, building rubble, boats and ferries jam packed from one side of the beach to the other with black exhaust fumes sputtering out, and dodgy local touts holding up cheap signs saying "you need boat? Where you go today?".

Fortunately, we quickly jumped into a long tail boat and 20 minutes later, we were pulling up into zeavola. At this point, all you can really see if a bunch of sun beds and umbrellas, and a small bar and restaurant. Doesn't really look like there is a 5 star resort nearby. We were greeted by hotel staff on the beach who had extremely some ice cold lavender scented face towels which were absolutely amazing in the sweltering heat. We were checked in and then escorted to our room. This is where you realise just how private and secluded and peaceful the resort is- walking along the sand paths between all the bungalows, and seeing how each each bungalow is free standing with large hedge like plants surrounding them for privacy. We got to our room ( garden suite) and it was like a giant tree house! Absolutely amazing, with electric drop down bamboo shutters on all sides for additional privacy. It really felt like you had stepped back in time and escaped the modern world but with really nice touches.

The pool was great, again, set back from the beach, nice and secluded. Going for a swim early in the morning and lazing on the sun beds, and then returning in the afternoon to drink cocktails watching the sunset - this is the "post card" experience of phi phi island. Life does not get much better than this. There is no photo that could do this any justice, or any drug that could make you feel as relaxed.

The food at the restaurants was great and considerably priced considering you are at a 5 star resort. My wife used the massage service, which was incredibly expensive compared to the rest of Thailand, but she said it was the best massage she had ever had. So worth the money.

As with all great things, there were some minor annoyances....
1. About 15 speedboats turned up everyday from 11am to 1pm and unloaded hundreds of day tourists ( hence why it is important to get to the beach early so you can enjoy the serenity). They were quickly herded off to the resort next door, and while they did not encroach on the zeavola stretch of sand, it kind of ruined the atmosphere seeing all these people being unloaded and having 15 speedboats sitting in the water ruining the scenery. The good news is that they were all gone by 3pm so the beach was deserted again after that.
2. As with the review below, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, including house keeping and the grounds keepers. However, there were 1 or 2 staff working in the bar/restaurant area on the beach that just looked angry all the time, and you kind of felt a bit awkward asking them for anything. Not really a good image for a 5 star resort.
3. Staff at the bar/restaurant could have been a bit more attentive. Each time we sat down we usually had to ask for menus, had to wave someone down to order, and had to wave some down again when we wanted something else. It would have been nice to have someone check on you and see if you needed anything else once in a while.
4. We noticed that some guests must have been getting up at 6.30 am and reserving beach beds by placing a towel or book on them and then not coming back to the beach until 9.30am. While this did not impact us as we were at the beach around 7am anyways, we thought this was a little bit unfair to other guests who we saw come down around 8am and who could get a beach bed because they had already been reserved by other people who were not even at the beach. Maybe management can introduce a first come first serve system, with no reserving.

Overall, a great experience, and strongly recommended for couples who want a nice, quiet, and relaxing time away to enjoy the phi phi island that they see in the postcards. We will definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our ten day stay at the Zeavola was almost everything we would have hoped for in a luxury 5 star beach holiday. The Thai magic created by this wonderful "rustic chic" resort is heavenly.
The accommodation is cunningly private, set amongst gardens, and linked by sandy paths which meant shoes and even flip flops were abandoned for the entire time. We spilt our time between a few days in a garden villa then moved up to a Pool Villa set high up in the hills with the most stunning views across the sea. Everything is informal and laid back and once you lock into this you can feel the stresses of busy life leave you. Both restaurants serve fabulous food if a little expensive. The standard of service from the staff was of very high quality as one would expect of a hotel such as this, but some of the Thai smiles were missing, occasionally replaced by a somewhat moody service by certain individuals. The on site Spa is serene and immaculately designed and we experienced exceptionally good massages by the very skilled and welcoming masseurs. I have travelled extensively and stayed in many exceptional Hotels, but if you want to relax and don't want a buttoned up type of luxury the Zeavola really is a bit special.

If only the Zeavola was the only resort on site on the beach, it would truly be an extraordinary holiday destination.
Koh Phi Phi is an idyllic island, a jewel in the dark blue waters of the Andaman Sea. It really is everything you could imagine a tropical island to be - if it was in the middle of a roundabout in a major city. Sadly the very beauty of it attracts tourists - by the hundreds! The first revving of the engines of the long tail boats begins at 7.30am and echo around the bay like 20 motorbikes on the start line of a race. They are joined at 11am by up to 15 speed boats bringing in tourists from Phuket. The boats moor up next to each making swimming impossible. At 3pm they all disappear off again to be replaced by the return of the native long tail boats. Mingling with this during the day at regular intervals are two tractors carrying luggage up and down the beach. On the side of one of the tractors reads the legend "The tropical Island Paradise" - the irony totally lost on the driver.

I know that none of this is the responsibility of the Zeavola Resort and in fact it's worth stating that the management of the Zeavola works very hard to protect the environment and local culture of the Island, but it is a sad reality that unless this insane level of boat traffic is controlled the very reason you would want to visit this resort and this island will be destroyed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Splendid place to stay, spa, relax on the beach. I spent 5 days here and we took advantage of the boat trips with the hotel which really where worth the money for the experience of a lifetime.
Beautiful villas, wonderful breakfast amazing Thai massage.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Zeavola. The Zeavola captured our hearts on our first trip to Thailand several years ago. We decided then and there that we would love to have our dream wedding at the resort.
When it came to planning our small intimate ceremony early this year, after contacting the Zeavola and their wedding co-ordinator Deerake we found the planning experience easy and hassle free. Deerake was attentive to our wants and needs, and with the help of the wonderful staff organised us a small ceremony/ reception that exceeded our expectations.
Our stay, once again from start to finish was perfect for us. The calibre and training of the staff is commendable, with our every need catered to. Waking up every morning to the sound of the waves in our beach front villa and a short stroll down the beach paths to the amazing restaurant had us never wanting to leave.
We would like to say a massive thanks to Deerake and his team as we look forward to returning to water our 'love tree' that we planted in our special ceremony.

Room Tip: The beach front villa is well worth the extra money spent. How ever you would not be disappointed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeavola Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.