We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So hard to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Zeavola Resort to your Saves list
Zeavola Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So hard to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am fortunate to have traveled a lot and have stayed at some incredible places and I am absolutely adding Zeavola to my list. The property is absolutely beautiful and on the quiet side of Phi Phi island. The staff is wonderful and knowledgeable - from the upper management to the men who attend to the landscape. Every guest gets a VIP treatment and the warm Thai hospitality. The rooms are very indoor/outdoor in feel but still luxurious in an elegant and simple way. I stayed in a pool villa which was remarkable and felt like a resort in it self! Even though there is not a lot to do on the island, it does not matter because once you get here you will not want to leave.

Overall: Food is amazing - both western and Thai options, pool is like silk, views are out of this world, rooms are comfortable and beautiful, small touches like flowers in room and evening surprise gifts, top-notch staff, bean bag chairs on the beach, great for couples or individual travelers. I came with a business partner and had a delightful mix of productivity, play and relaxation.

Don't miss this resort, it is TOTALLY worth the trip and the extra investment!!!

Room Tip: Go for at least a garden room...pool villa if you want paradise plus plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Christine Hassler,
Sorry for the long delay in answering your posting. Thank you so much for your kind review and your positive comments. From our discussions it seems that you have embraced the Zeavola Family with your heart. It looked like you really enjoyed your stay.

We have shared your comments with our Chef and our service team but also with the Back of the house people who are so important to bring the Zeavola Experience to life.

You truly got our concept which is a chill and relax resort. Our luxury is based on Hardwood furniture, Soft Sanded walk way and a friendly service with heart.
We are wishing you an excellent year ending and a successful year 2014, maybe we could come together again in this coming year.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    208
    87
    53
    48
See reviews for
106
692
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose Thailand to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.We stayed in Krabi (Ao Nang) for 9 days then ended our stay in Thailand at Zeavola for three nights. The whole Thai holiday was fantastic, but the cherry on top was Zeavola.

Quiet, peaceful, no screaming children, no loud music. It was chilled. From getting off the long-tail boat to checking in to being shown to our room. From walking out of our room (26) to the beach, to the loungers, to the first beer and Bangkok cooler the atmosphere and service was fantastic. The dive shop was so helpful in choosing day trips.

No concrete to walk on, just cool sand from stepping out of our room to the beach, amazing feeling.

The first night there was a beach barbeque. Divine! Tiger prawns, barracuda and king mackerel steaks bbq'd to perfection. The side dishes were outstanding. Only complaint I have is that the BBQ is not available every night. (but understandable).

A big thanks to Florian. Approachable, friendly, knowledgeable and a credit to the resort.

See you next year Zeavola and staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Mel-Butler,
Thank you very much for giving us a chance to be part of your dream wedding and welcoming you back to our island. We very much enjoyed to have your back. You are very generous with your compliments of Deerake and his team but I totally agree he is "Mister wedding" thats for sure.
It looks like overall you also enjoyed your stay with us and we are very glad about that. Since you left it rained so much that we did not water your love tree. I would think you need to come back in the dry season to assist us in this task.
The Zeavola Family thanks you both so much for returning and for having such a good impression from our team and place.
We wish you a successful and healthy 2014. See you soon at the Zeavola
Florian, Deerake and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A desert island resort, for chillin' out. The rooms are private and in some respects a bit primitive but simplicity is the game and chilling out is the aim! Great food, good choice at breakfast. Pa the head waiter couldn't do enough for us.
Voted one of the best boutique hotels in the world!

Room Tip: Get one not too near the beach as tractors travel past a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Bted,
Sorry for the long delay Thank you very much for your very positive feedback about your stay in our resort. It was great to welcome you back and I felt sad about your Tommy problem. But you recovered and he still managed to have a good time. Now the year end is upon us and I wish you Merry Christmas and an excellent year 2014. Stay healthy and successful.

Looking forward to welcome you back next year
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our second visit to zeavola and this time brought a couple of friends with us.
Once again everything was just awesome from the transfer,check in, villas, food, staff all first class. It really is amazing what has been achieved here ,whilst still keeping the traditional Thai feeling. Its all very understated elegance and no concrete anywhere.
Unfortunately we were unwell for a few days this time (thai tummy), however the resort sent their nurse to our rooms and she checked us over and gave us some medications which helped( and didn't charge us for this service).
This time the 4 of us hired one of the resort speeboats and went over early to phi phi ley and maya bay before all the boats from phuket and krabi, it was really special seeing it so quiet
Thankyou Florian once again for a great holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Bted,
Also to you a big thank you for visiting us again. Thank you also for the nice comments and description of our hotel and our staff. Great that this time you also came with your friends.

We would be very happy if you would visit us once again sometimes next year.
The Zeavola Family is wishing you the very best, stay healthy and successful and have a prosperous year 2014.

Florian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau Region, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my second trip to this oasis ,

Eventhough we were there during the end of the rainning season, and the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic experience in this hotel.
Everything was perfect! the resort was having high occupency but it was not noticeable at all ...

Staff is really an asset here they were all very friendly very professional and dedicated from the reception (first impression )..to the F&B, houskeeping ect .....
Rooms are great all surrounded by vegetation and greens giving you a very relaxing private feel ,

F&B was good ... dining on the beach with your love one at nigth is something you will remember for long
As well a very good breakfast buffet with plenty of cultural options ...

The internet is everywhere, even on the beach,( for the ones who can't let go...)

The only down side would be the beach at low tide where you really have to walk far out to be able to swimm not a major issue as the problem is not existing at higth tide at all

The diving center is really good as well very professional with new equipment .... It was the only day i could go to blow some bubbles and unfortunatly the weather was not good at all , but the zeavola staff managed to turn what could have been an average diving trip to a great one bringing us to some new diving site with a lot to see down there ...

We had the opprtunity to go and visit the hotels around and even try some of their F&B outlets but it is not comparable at all ....the zeavola really step at a different level and make a difference

I will be back !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear YPD,
Thank you for your excellent Resort review, the fact that you have chosen our resort for a second time is a great compliment. Your description is very detailed and describes the resort very nicely.
The Zeavola Family tries to create a special place where one can forget about the daily stress and expectations to be one self. We would be very happy to welcome you back sometimes.

Stay healthy and successful
The Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Zeavola and a few years ago to Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort. - So this is in part a bit of a comparison.

The Villas are very big and very open. - You can get a very bad draw or a very good one. In the worst case, when it is not so well situated, you can close it from all sides anyway. (The Outrigger Villas are smaller, a tad more luxurious, but closed up from the start.)

The terrace is very spacious and cleverly made, so you are very likely to use and enjoy them.

According to my taste the food is very good. I loved the Currys and seafood offered. The international food is mediocre (but for snacks and sandwiches, they are very good as well). A great experience is also the romantic candle light dinner at the beach.

The staff is exceptional friendly (as in the Outrigger..) - but here the people seem to be a bit more outgoing and you can have a little chit-chat with them as well.

The internet is everywhere, even on the beach, which guarantees that there are people with smartphones everywhere.. but fortunately the internet is not good enough to stream videos.

The Spa is very good, the massages creative and offer a wide range. To my taste, they were already too much infected with the western massage practices. - Very professional and friendly staff, totally clean, everything up to 5 star standard.

A minus in comparison to its competitor, the Outrigger, is the Pool. While the Outrigger offers a spacious pool with bar and beach view, here it is a rather small one in the middle of the resort (but nicely framed by plants).

The beach was a let down on first sight, but I started to like it much. The beach is shared with neighboring resorts and so twice a day boats are coming and going to them. There is an exclusive Zeavola beach area, though. The resort was pretty full, but we did not feel it at all - there was plenty of space and no fights over beds. The Outrigger beach belongs to the Outrigger only and is much calmer - but except for the event of shooting a photo, also much more boring. And - the Outrigger beach is very (!) shallow. You have to walk a very long way before you can swim. So in the end, if you prefer a pool over a beach, you will be happier at the Outrigger, but then - why do you want to visit a beach resort anyways?

A word of warning for the pool villas: they are very spacious and placed well so that you have a lot of privacy and your own private pool, but you have to walk up around 50 stairs from the resort to get to your villa. (is not that big deal for me, but would have been for my parents..)

Overall, our Zeavola stay was very nice and I would recommend it over the Outrigger. The Zeavola is more relaxed and original and offers a lot, the Outrigger is a tad more luxurious (eg. kopiluwak coffee at the snack bar and flowers in the toilet every day).

One last word of warning if you are looking at the price.. The resort is very expansive compared to thai standards. This is true for the whole of Ko Phi Phi!! If you want to enjoy your stay, be ready to spend around 80 USD per person and day for food, spa and activities. Everything has a rather high price tag - eg. laundry costs as much as in a typical european 5 star hotel. If you don't care, you gonna have a good time, though.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Markoff Chainey,
Thank you very much for the detailed comparison with our friendly competition on the island. I think it was the first time that we had such a comparison published and it was very good read.

Our luxury is a bit more hidden and does not involve golden faucets and marble floors, we try to provide barefoot luxury in our resort. Our villas a completely built from Teakwood which by itself is already luxury. The Garden paths are from the finest sand so that all our guests can enjoy walking without shoes for their entire vacation. My Gardeners are cleaning them daily in the morning.

Thank you for the compliments on the Thai food. We normally receive also very good comments on the Western food and on our Buffet events. I regret that it was not totally to your liking. We will however introduce a new menu by 1st of November for both sections.

Thank you for your comments about my staff, it seems that the 6 months English training paid off to give them more confidence to speak with guests and make all our guests feel at home.

Thank you also for your very positive comments about the Spa. Traditionally the Thais are world champion in pressure point massages such as the Thai and the Foot massage. Many other aspects of a modern Spa is a collection of different cultures such as the Lomi Lomi massage which was a Royal massage reserved for the Hawaiian Kings and Queens. We try to provide an interesting selection to attract all our guests with their favorites.

I'm happy that our beach finally convinced you, with the very high tide difference it does take some getting used to, thats for sure. In regards to the Pool villas they are situated higher on the hill, but some of them are within the 20 steps range and are also suitable for middle aged persons.

Once again thank you for the detailed description and comparison. Your endorsement is very important for us. We wish you a good year ending, stay healthy and successful, We would be happy to welcome you back sometimes.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a great experience . We were picket up at our Phuket resort ( or airport ) and taken by speedboat to Zeavola at Phi Phi Island . Stayed 5 nights . The staff was great . The food was great . Around Zeavola there is other restaurants available but nothing better than Zeavola .
Return by speedboat again to our next resort in Phuket .
Accommodation great .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Willem P,
Thank you very much for your positive comments about the resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. We would be very happy to welcome you back sometimes in our resort.

Wishing you a healthy and successful year ending
Florian and the Zeavola family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeavola Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.