We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zeavola Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Zeavola Resort to your Saves list
Zeavola Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Zeavola for a week in May 2012. We really loved the attentiveness of the staff and felt well looked after at all times. We took a ferry from Phuket to Ko Phi Phi which took around an hour and a half. The Zeavola staff met us on a smaller boat and then transferred us to the hotel in a longtail boat. After checking in at the delightful outdoor reception space, we were shown our little house. Our private bungalow was air-conditioned and was always turned down beautifully when we came back from our dinner. The outdoor shower was heavenly after swimming and snorkeling. Even now, the smell of mint takes me back to using their gorgeous shampoo and conditioner!

The food was possibly the best I have had in any hotel/resorts in Asia. We practically lived at the restaurant! The best dishes were the seared tuna with lemongrass and the sticky rice with mango and coconut milk. Amazing.

We also had massages at the spa (as it rained for our entire holiday!), which were lovely.

The only reasons I haven't given this resort full stars is because of the close proximity to other resorts along the same stretch of beach. The only bad think about this was that you didn't feel entirely isolated and alone when on the beach -although that will hardly be an issue for some people! Also, the weather was too bad for us to be able to go on a speedboat to neighbouring island Ko Phi Phi Leh. It was HUGELY disappointing because this was one of the main reasons we had chosen to go to Zeavola resort. However, this wasn't the fault of anyone but the weather, and the staff were very apologetic. After all, they can't do anything that would endanger their guest's safety.

All in all, this was an expensive holiday, but well worth it if you want a very relaxing and luxurious stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Singaporebadger,
Thank you for your belated review. We were very pleased about all the good comments and shared your points about the food and the service quality with the concerning persons. That you still remember our resort Is a sign that you still have fond memories about your stay.
It seems that you have just caught this one week in which it really did rain most of the time. The so called rainy season is actually not as bad. We do get about 20% less rain than Phuket and Krabi. Phi Phi does not have enough landmass to produce its own rain system. Phuket and Krabi rains seem to get stuck over there, so that we only get the left overs.. We have installed a beach camera to be found on our website. Visitors can observe our beach 24 hours to determine that the amounts of rain we have are really little.

We would love to have you back to make the visit at Mayabay a wish come true. Please write to me directly to assist you in any way possible.

We are wishing you still a wonderful and healthy 2013. We would be happy to welcome you back.
Florian and the Zeavola family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    227
    99
    60
    48
See reviews for
113
770
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Zeavola is one of the most unique hotels to be found. A lot of thought was clearly given when building it and decorating it. If you are into a modern style hotel, it probably isn't for you. We were looking for a more "warm" or "authentic" experience, and it was exactly that. The rooms are very unique. We had 2 showers, one indoor and one outdoor, and the livingroom is wide open (but coverable when desired) which is very nice and fun too (although we didn't spend too much time there due to the damn mosquitos). Most apparent is the excellent service in the hotel. We can't emphasize it enough - after just a day some of the staff members knew us by name and remembered our room number. Always very kind and very helpful for each request or inquiry we had. They are also relatively good English speakers, which is hard to come by. The hotel manager is very nice and friendly as well. We also enjoyed the complimentary cocktail party, and the included breakfast is AMAZING!
What makes it a very good value in our mind instead of excellent, is mainly the location and beach - the hotel beach isn't so nice, we went in the water for a minute and then right out. The actual beach beds are great, but the water is right next to loads of boats coming in and out all day, and besides the lack of peacefullness their engines pollute the air you breath when bathing. There are also strange green/black algy in it, and the water isn't clear as in almost all other beaches in the island. The sand is full of broken glass pieces (the whole beach stretch, not only in the Zeavola beach) and even though it is being picked up daily by some workers it seems to never end (we never understood where it comes from). Walking barefoot is not safe. In order to visit other beatches you need a taxi boat which gets quite expensive after a few days. Other things that could have been better are the pool (not attractive at all) and the WiFI which is very flacky and not very usable, at least not from our villa, throughout the entire 3 days.
All in all, we are super happy with Zeavola. We enjoyed our stay a lot and hope to be back one day...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Vividplanet,
Thank you very much for your very positive review and the very nice words you had for the staff and our efforts. It is correct that during lunch the neighboring resort is visited by speedboats to bring the guest for lunch, which creates some locomotion also on our beach. We try to control it as much as possible. During Feb we did have quite some wind which brought some seaweed and debris to our beach, Our staff is cleaning our part of the beach daily up to three times. Now the water is calmer and clean again. There are no algae any more. A great opportunity to see our beach live is on our website on the left hand lower corner there is a button to visit our live stream from our beach camera. We are just upgrading our wifi to make it better, in the low season we will actually cable wireless points into each villa. But being on an island we depend on the functionality of the links provided by the company.
we are very grateful that you had such a good time and would be happy to welcome you back some time.
Wishing you both an excellent year 2013, stay healthy and successful.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place is magical, it makes you appreciate everything you have in your "normal life" all the while wishing you could take all of it back home with you to store in your backyard as an escape.

My father got married here a year ago, they came back on their anniversary, and we came on our Honeymoon as we were unable to attend the wedding.
In short, we were blown away by the detail, the staff, the style of living, the atmosphere, the joy and the ability to completely escape.

The service we recevied was second to none, the resort is a whole new world and the staff must be hand picked with the happiest and nicest people from thailand.

We stayed 3 nights and it was just perfect. We also hired the Zeavola speedboat and went snorkling around the islands. It was just magical, lunch provided by Zeavola which was exceptional down to the last detail.

It is definitely something you must experience, atleast once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Tulli Rae F,
Wow thank you sooo much for you compliments. It would be wonderful to handpick so wonderful people but we were actually very lucky to find them. We also have a great owner who supports us very much so we are able To make our staff as happy as possible. I truly believe that our staff is more friendly because we not only work here but we live here. So after work we all go home together. We respect the Zeavola as our home, so when our guests enjoy it it makes us very happy and proud. Thank you.

We are wishing you a wonderful Honeymoon year and would like it very much if you could find time to visit us again. Stay healthy, Stay Happy, make it work.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This resort came with high praise from several sources and I was looking forward to spending time here. Although it is pleasantly located away from the very touristy part of Koh Phi Phi, it is still closely situated along a strip of 3 or 4 resorts/hotels or varying quality. It is quite expensive and, frankly, does not merit the cost.

The villas were comfortable but lacked privacy. They are fairly close to one another and the villas have a lot of windows so you had to pretty much close everything up to have privacy. There is a designated swimming area at the beach but there are a lot of boats coming in and out all day long so it's like swimming in a parking lot. Also, there is quite a big tide variation with the beach being basically unusable around low tide.

The food was average. At dinner, there were not enough tables out for the number of guests in the resort and the service staff got into a bit of a fracas with a table full of customers over how many candles they could have on their tables ... not very professional. Also, during the dinner hours, there was a constant stream of workers hauling things onto the beach from boats which disturbed the peace.

There is functional wifi in the villa. The pool is nice and was a break from the heat when it was low tide.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Ary218,
Thank you very much for your review on trip-advisor. While still a positive rating, I'm sad that you did not perceive the value which we try to provide. There are things in our resort which are just facts. Yes we are located on a beach with 3 other hotels and we have to make the best out of it. Our resort style is that of a Thai village 30 years ago, so privacy was not the most important aspect of our concept. In order to increase privacy levels we installed Bamboo curtains for the outside living rooms we also installed sheer curtain so that the light still can come in, while protecting the privacy and certainly black out curtains are there too. If our guests look for a very private room please talk to us we will try to find a better villa.
In regards food quality, I just mentioned in another response that we are cooking for up to 30 nations on one day. If you perceived our food as average I'm sorry but rest assured that we will continue our efforts to get better.
Once again thank you for your review and giving us the challenge to get better.
We are wishing you a healthy and successful year 2013.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Wow, pulling into the Palm tree swaying, white sand beach after a 1 hour speedboat ride from Phuket, you knew this was going to be special. Gracious, attentive & respectful staff from the gardeners to the masseuse staff, the superlatives extend to the numerous parts that make up the Zeavola experience.
My wife & I treated ourselves to 1 week of scuba, snorkeling, a great trek to a gorgeous cove but for foodies like we are, the cuisine of the chef & his staff was simply a joy, every day. This is a first for us. We have never stayed one week at any property covering 15 countries of travel, and had no desire to "try something different" No need as every day at Zeavola, the culinary team executed traditional & innovative Thai cuisine that was nothing short of exciting & satisfying. Bring many books & drift for a week in the slow lane as the accommodations are much more idyllic that the photos on their website, and when have you ever experienced that ?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Pepperchef,
Thanks for your very positive review, which we enjoyed reading. Its great that you settled in for one week. That actually gives you a lot of time to get to know us and the wonders of PHi PHi as well as just relax and be yourself. This is what we want to achieve.
Being in the business to we are extra happy that our food was to your delight. Its sometimes not easy to cook for such a grand selection of different Nations. Imagine sometimes we have 30 different countries in our hotel all with different expectations and tastes. But we try it one guest at a time and it seems most of the time we can celebrate small successes.

Once again thank you, have an excellent 2013, we would be very happy to have you back one day.
Florian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We were blown away by the attention to detail at Zeavola. Everything has been thought of, it's clear the staff really care.

The end result was an extremely enjoyable and relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle you find in the main area of Phi Phi. I wish we could have been here for longer than 3 nights!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear EeSBEEGEE,

You really brought a big smile on my face that morning I read " Rancho Relaxo" for the first time. If any chance I would love to rename the Zeavola exactly this. But I guess 'm bound to branding guidelines. Maybe a future hotel of mine.

Great review and great description, we all thank you for your efforts and are delighted that you had such a good time. We would love to welcome you back to our little Rancho.
All the best for 2013, stay healthy and productive.
Florian and the Zeavola Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and loved it. We had a garden suite which was amazing! All outdoors except bedroom and bathroom, but also had an outdoor shower. Can make your area more private by putting down bamboo blinds if wanted. Mosquito equipment was provided. Literally just walked out and were on the beach! In lots of reviews, people have mentioned about it being busy with boats etc. There are some boats on one end of the beach, but they didn't bother us at all - how else do you do any excursions?! They have an area where the boats can't go, and therefore isn't noisy or busy at that part of the beach (right in front of hotel).
There are a couple of other resorts around which was nice as had a few restuarants you could walk along the beach and choose from. Was very nice eating on the beach. Breakfast was very good.
We did 3 excursions with the resort and loved them all. We did a sunset cruise, diving/snorkling, and maya bay/monkey beach/blue lagoon. Cian, Dan and our snorkling guide (we cant remember how to spell his name!) were all very friendly and helpful and we had a brilliant time. They helped you in the water if necessary and the provided food was fantastic.
Would very much recommend, was a lovely place to stay! We had an amamzing, relaxing time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florian H, Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear tinksamore87,
Sorry for the late reply I was traveling but enjoying to read all the great comments we have received in the last 2 weeks. Thank you for your very positive review and a very accurate description of our resort. We are delighted that you had such a good time and so many great impression.
Cian and his team is trying very hard to fulfill the expectations of our guests and show them the beauty of our island. Its our pride to do a good job and introduce you to a couple of sharks and turtles to them.

We are wishing you the very best for 2013 and all the success. We look forward to welcome you back.
Florian, Cian and the Zeavola Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zeavola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeavola Resort

Address: 11 Moo 8 Laem Tong, Koh Phi Phi | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zeavola Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Zeavola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeavola Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Zeavola Hotel Krabi
Zeavola Resort Krabi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeavola Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.