We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute private bungalows” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Bayview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Bayview Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Bayview Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Koh Phi Phi, T. Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Cute private bungalows”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just stayed at Bayview for a few days in a Deluxe Villa. Bungalows are very spacious, amazing view as well. Staff was okay, some at front desk were a bit snippy but overall I would recommend this hotel, especially if you want something more private and quiet but with easy access to everything.

Pros:
- private bungalow with amazing view
- located at the end of tonsai bay so not much pass-thru tourists so basically like a private beach!
- complimentary breakfast, was actually really good

Cons:
- can be a bit of a trek to bungalows...ask for one closer to the main lobby
- it's about a 10 minute walk to the central town area

TIPS
- ask for bungalow closer to main lobby
- watch the fireshow that happens at the beachfront twice a week
- use the longtail boat service right next to hotel...make sure you negotiate...we paid about 1500 baht for a private longtail boat for 2 people...3 hours to monkey beach and bamboo island. This seemed the lowest that any longtail boat would go but maybe bc it's peak tourist season.

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow closer to the main lobby...also specify if you don't want to walk up too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    267
    181
    90
    73
See reviews for
53
333
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in room B318, it had an incredible view of tonsai bay and our room was the cheapest one of the hotel (that isnt cheap at all if you compare with other places in Thailand). Besides that I think not all the room have our view.
The room was ok, nice bed, bad pillows. Even we re a young couple the climb to the room was tiring.
The breakfast was very good on the restaurant, you can sit on the beach, that was the best part.
The beach (last part of Tonsai), isnt the best, but we walk to Longbeach every day, it's about 5-10 min. Walking to downtown is about 15min.

Room Tip: B318, breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be ready to walk up and down a hill a lot, as that's where the rooms are. Rooms are actually more like cottages. Comfy enough inside, though a fair number of bugs inside too, though mostly in bathroom, not in bedroom. Did see a small lizard in the room, I think. Shower lacked pressure. Nice views outside the room from our balcony. Breakfast and dinner here were good. At bottom of hotel, where entrance is, you can get laundry done cheaply. Little bit of walk to where interesting places nearby are. Staff not the friendliest, I found that a bit annoying. Also despite there being two of us in room, we were only given one key, which seemed pretty ridiculous and caused more burden than necessary.

I did like the pool. It was nice to eat lunch sitting at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Towards the bottom of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I loved the seclusion of this hotel, having your own bungalow was really cool even though they were quite old and pretty average. At least they were clean and had a lot of complimentary water! This would be great for people who were not keen on going into town all the time because it is a very long walk and you do have to walk on the beach. However the good thing is that the beach is right in front of reception and the views are absolutely amazing! You also get a free workout walking up the steep hill to your cabins, and also to the pool which is down the other end!
The service was pretty average but not too bad, and breakfast was pretty good (I love the egg man) cocktails were pretty expensive and didn't taste that good, but I found buying a few drinks from the seven 11 and sitting on their beach chairs at sunset was awesome! Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for a few nights in February and we wish we would have stayed longer! Fantastic views, clean quite beach, great food and a nice, clean room. Breakfast had a good selection. Yes there are stairs, but a little exercise doesn't hurt! Service was slightly slow our last night at dinner, but the server was apologetic, and we had no where else to be. The town was a short walk away, which made our stay peaceful, yet you could easily go to any of the restaurants in town for lunch or dinner. The hotel offered a couple different tours, we opted for a half day snorkelling trip. it was great, for 40 CAN, we had a speed boat with one other couple for 5 hrs and went snorkelling in 3 different locations and toured various other tourist attractions. Overall a very relaxing time and we'd love to come back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for 1 night. We got a free boat taxi from the main pier. The hotel is right on the beach and looks amazing.
The walk to the hotel was a hike, but we are quite fit and only had an overnight back, so it wasn't too bad for us.
As part of the service they do carry your luggage to your room.

The rooms were very clean and had a beautiful view. I did think it was overpriced, but after reading a lot of reviews on Trip Adviser about cheaper hotels and bed bugs we thought it was worth it.

The location is great if you want to be away from all of the noise and all night beach parties. The walk to the town takes about 10 -15 minutes

We loved this place and loved being on the beach after our previous hotel in Phuket was so far from the beach. We did try to book in for a second night, but they were fully booked.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The location is quite far away from the center where all the action is. So a nice and quiet location, but there are resorts closer to the town center that offer the same, Bay View was just a bit too far for us. The resort itself is quite streched out as well and on a hill, so if staying here you'll have some climbing and walking to do.

The bungalows have a beautiful view over the bay but are a bit dated. They were clean though, but could have done with a floor towel to prevent the whole bathroom from getting wet after a shower, more than just the one grounded electrical outlet (just the one in the room, located in the bathroom) and a bottle opener was not present as well, despite soda bottels in the fridge.
But all in all the bungalows were good IMO.

We were not very happy with reception though: not very friendly on checking, despite us arriving by private transfer, so no other guests checking in at the same time. On our request we received a one hour later checkout time, but after half an hour we were chased out of the room by the reception manager, even threatening us with an overstay charge. On checkout it became clear she had overlooked the note made on the room schedule for that day. We were also sold tickets by reception for the transfer back to Phi Phi, on our very specific question: is a transfer to our hotel, location, included, we were told: yes, included. On the ferry we were told it was not included though, so we had to sort this out on the spot.

So all in all we were reasonably happy with the hotel, but would not return unless others we would prefer would be fully booked. On the other hand, this hotel, like all businesses on Phi Phi, is much more interested in making the sales now than they seem to be in returning guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Bayview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Bayview Resort

Address: 69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Koh Phi Phi, T. Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Bayview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phi Phi Bayview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Bayview Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Bay View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Bayview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.