We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Bayview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Bayview Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Bayview Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Koh Phi Phi, T. Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice resort, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just had a 3 day stay at this resort while visiting Thailand. This is the second time I have stayed at this resort as i was very pleased the first time. Still was nice but wasn't told when booking that they were carrying out renovations and there was a dirty big barge moored on the beach right outside the resort with a dirty big noisey tractor moving building supplies and sand off the barge at all hours of day and night. Really nice while you are sitting there having dinner and a tractor is going past within 10 mtrs of the dining area. Wouldn't have stayed there this time if I had known.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    300
    212
    117
    97
See reviews for
64
391
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have stayed at Bay View twice once back in 2008 were we had sea view rooms which were amazing second time was less then a month ago we did get crapy room this time round as we were put right up the back which was SUPER hard walking upto the room as the hill is very steep and no view saying that we had already upgraded but found out that the sea view rooms were under renovation so we were unable to get a good view anyways. We didn’t complain or anything so if you do get a room you’re not happy with im sure they will help you as the staff are quite nice. I like this resort as it’s a 15 minute walk from the pier being the last resort to the left were you have a private beach which is good for swimming. Also not a big walk to the main shopping area phi phi is all walking distance there is no cars but you can hire a bike to ride around but its not great when busy. There is a nice swimming beach on the other side of phi phi were there are great bars and restaurant’s to eat and drink at. Mind you it’s the party side of the island. Phi phi is great for all people as its for oldies for relaxing and great for nights for the young ones. this resort is one of the cheapest but great resorts on phi phi as for the price you pay you get a good room much better then most on phi phi

Room Tip: ask for a beach view or a room closest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

You need to be fit to stay here its a real trek up to the rooms but a great view over Tonsai Bay. The room was clean and comfortable, fairly basic but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was ok but nothing to rave about not much choice and more geared up for the asian market. The staff in the restaurant and bar were lovely, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The staff in reception didnt speak good English which was a problem if you needed anything. Far enough away from the noise and craziness of the beach parties and bars so you could get a good nights sleep. The beaches need a good clean up and its not good for swimming unless the tide is in. Pool is hard to find and is at the top of resort which is a real hike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the bottom of the resort if you have any mobility problems but even then I wouldnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's a very nice hotel, focused on nature preserving. We hve spent 2 nights here while travelling around southern Thailand.

Great island hopping excursions, very nice national & european cuisine, clean and equipped room on the 2nd row.

Just remember, there's much of living things on the island, lizards, flying cockroaches, probably snakes, so just beware of that when intruding to the land of local inhabitants ! )) Anti-mosquito spray wouldn't hurt as well.

I assume that the higher you will be accomodated the greater view you'll have. Just take notice of the stairs steepness.

If you'd like to visit Phuket and inland - it'll take you about ah hour+ so you'll have time to go there and back easily. Just clarify the schedule in advance.

Have a great time! Any questions? mak@zelife.ru

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiya, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It's not very often you can find a well-priced hotel right on a nice private beach. The bungalows were a good size and had everything you needed. Ko Phi Phi is a beautiful place and this was exactly what we were looking for. It was definitely the highlight of our Thailand trip. The breakfast is delicious and included and someone from the hotel will meet you at the ferry to help with your luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was very satisfied with the stay here. It's on the bit pricey side for Thailand (2,000 BHT) but compare to the U.S., it's very cheap for the quality and everything was well worth it. Very clean room with wooden floor. Ocean view, quiet area, you can enjoy that in the patio with lounge chairs. Bathroom is very clean and toilet/sink and shower area were separated. No bugs in the room. They have A/C and the ceiling fan. A small fridge is in the room which was convenient. They have dinner service right on the beach which was romantic and the food was good. Free shuttle boat was provided when we arrived at the pier but it's about 10-15 min walk to the village/pier which was very convenient. Beautiful beach at the hotel site. Hotel had several lounges. Also 5-10 min walk to several different beaches if you would like more private/quiet beaches. Free wifi but it was only available around the lobby area. They also have 2 computers at the lobby for free internet. Customer service was great. I would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Well, I did read the reviews for the BV, as well as for most other mid range hotels on Phi Phi, and the consensus was that there is very little to choose from. In the end I went with the BV and have mixed feelings. First, the location is okay, being at the end of the developed promenade which offers some quiet and privacy while easy access to restos, shops, etc. However, the beach area that the BV fronts on is really not at all nice for swimming or sunning. As reported by others, the hotel staff are at best disinterested and at worst curt and unhelpful. The resort has a "pay for wifi in the rooms" policy (really absurd in the Thai context) but free wifi in the reception area (though agonizingly slow). Breakfast is not bad, with lots of choices. But ... incredibly on one morning there was no milk at all, not even creamer, and another morning the coffee was only put out well into the b'fast period. The rooms are old and tired, though spacious enough and the air cons sort of grudgingly worked, though with plenty of noise. There was also heavy construction underway at the BV in late June and this contributed to the general poor experience.

Overall I suppose I would not stay at the BV again. It needs too much effort to be a decent choice, starting with an overhaul of staff and management. However, having said that, I doubt I would likely want to stay on Phi Phi again, for that matter. There are far too many people, even in the off season, prices are high compared to other Thai beach locations and the town area is filled with the usual touts - wanting to sell everything from massages, to beach wear, to tailored suits to dive trips. The latter is the saddest given that most of these are young Euros/Aussies, competing in the "most annoying" category with Indian suit sellers..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Bayview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Bayview Resort

Address: 69 Moo 7, Laem Hin Beach, Koh Phi Phi, T. Ao-Nang, Muang,, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Bayview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Phi Phi Bayview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Bayview Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Bay View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Bayview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.