We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband and I stayed here for our...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My husband and I stayed here for our...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon on the 7/05/10 and it was absolutely spectacular we were greeted by wonderful people who were all extremely organized. Once we arrived at the resort we were upgraded from a beachfront suite to the hillside pool villa room 505, and we were just blown away!! The service was amazing and we were spoiled. As for the food that was spectacular although a little pricey but wat can u expect from a 4 & a 1/2 star resort. The beach and entire resort was clean with nothing out of place right down to the smallest detail and the staff were courteous and wonderful. This was a dream start to our honeymoon and we have vowed to return as this place was paradise. I cannot sing its praises anymore than I have other than To say I highly reccommend if u go to phi phi do yourself a favour and stay here :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    708
    246
    85
    56
See reviews for
288
1,623
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in Superior room whcih was okay. The location was amazing which made up for the outdated room.
We were disappointed that we werent offered any room upgrade which I had requested as part of our honeymoon booking but didnt really change our holiday,
The resort is beautiful and I could not fault it. We only ate breakfast here as all other meals were eaten at the villge behind the resort.
We made friends with Tuna from Red Tuna. His cooking is the best we ever tried over 3 weeks and he is very friendly. We even booked a long boat tour through him. Cost us 1500baht for 5 hours and we went to 4 different sites it was the best day of our whole honeymoon. Im so glad we didnt go with a speed boat on this tour. Seeing it all via long tail is the only way to go.
Ton Sai is overcrowded with backpackers and we only stayed here for lunch on our way back from the day tour.
Phi phi is beautiful and relaxing and this resort is right up there with the best of them. If they just updated the rooms it woudl be better but Id amagine with this the prices would go up.
We booked the resort boat transfer and while it was expensive $260 total for 2 people return back to phuket, we dont regret it at all. It just added to the whole experience of it all and I definate would recommend you to book the resort boat. We didnt worry about our bag from pick up to drop off. The staff did everything for us and you are treated like a vip the whole time on the transfer. Much better than the hassle of the public ferry.

I would recommend this to anyone after a relaxing holiday in an amazing location. Whilst it is expensive for Thailand if you stay here you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

The hotel is absolute paradise the food is amazing (bit over priced) but we were honeymooners so we didnt care , the service is amazing, the pool the sea the banglows everything however....... some points to eb taken:

-The timings mentioned are not clear and every employee has a different message ie: IT WAS MENTIONED WHEN WE FIRST ARRIVED BY RECEPTION THAT THERE IS A FREE MASSAGE OV ER THE POOL FROM 10- TIILL 01 PM ONLY...WE WAITED A LOT NO ONE APPEARED BEFORE 01,30 PM, THE SECOND DAY WE ASKED THE EMPLOYEES OVER THE POOL THEY TOLD US THEY D COME BY 01,30 WE FOUND THEM AT 12PM.....EVERYONE HAS A DIFFERENT MESSAGE......

-They charge you for the fairy that takes you from the long tail boat which is totaly unlogic as it is the only way to reach the hotel and they charged both ways for that we found it really bad and informed the hotel that we will not pay for such service as the only way to get our bags and us was by the shuttle boat otherwise we would have to swim it!!!! :(((

We also asked for an upgrade to sea front however all the banglows were occupied they informed us that they woul;d get back to us within the coming days but they never did and we lost interest anyways.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The hotel is a must. I've stayed in several hotels of this kind around the world and I must say this hotel is much better than it looked in the photos. Everything was perfect. The superior room was more than enough. The thing I enjoyed the most was the beach. The hotel was full and you didn´t see a soul even at dinner time. During the day everyone goes to the pool and leave the beach empty. Thank you all!!
Be advise the hotel is very far from the crowded Ton Sai bay. They make sure you stay to dinner in the hotel by increasing the shuttle boats price by night, Not a problem! Just go outside the hotel to the well known village behind. There are some really nice restaurantes and very cheap comparison the hotel prices but still higher to Thai standards. Dont miss the viewpoint restaurant for a real friendly meal with Pat and Na! The one before the bridge on the left is also very good. There is also a supermarket and a massage shop. Dont arrange your boat tour in the hotel! Go to the village where you will find the same boats leaving from the other side bay and much cheaper.
We went by foot the Ton Say Town. Its a complete 45min jungle experience. The adventure is great and when we arrived to a beach next town we were so pleased for a fresh bath...but minutes after arriving you just want to go back to the hotel. Its a big shock! the town is a big shopping center completely crowded with backpakers.
Dont go by big boat to Maya Bay...get a private longtail for a real romantic experience and dont forget to swim in the Mosquito island and relax in the beautifull Bamboo Island.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at Phi Phi Village resort as part of our honeymoon. We had such a stunning time.... what a beautiful resort in a spectacular part of Thailand.

We stayed in a superior garden bungalow which is the resort's most "basic" accomodation. We found the room very comfortable and clean. To be honest, it is quite dated, but this really didn't bother us. We would have preferred to have a bath in addition to a shower but the cost difference to upgrade to a Deluxe or Beachfront junior suite simply wasn't worth it for us.

The superior bungalows are set back a few rows from the beach but this didn't pose a problem for us whatsoever. We basically just slept in the room and the rest of the day was spent on the beach (which we would have done in any case if we stayed in a more luxurious room), by the pool or on day tours.

The resort does have 4 or 5 restaurants which offer a variety of western and thai foods. Personally, I would have liked to see more authentic thai dishes in the main restaurant. The Thai restaurant up on the hill at the back of the resort is exquisite but very expensive and therefore not an option for dinner every night if you are on a relatively tight budget like we were.

The pool area is stunning. We really loved the swim up bar..... the cocktails were fantastic! If I remember correctly, my favourite was Mrs. Phi Phi, delicious!

The staff at the resort are just amazing.... they are so courteous and really make you feel incredibly special and welcome. They even upgraded us to the luxury Hillside Pool villa for our last two nights! Really amazing..... talk about serious luxury!

I must say though, the hidden costs at the resort were just exorbitant. Bear in mind, everything additional to your accomodation will go onto your final bill..... food, drinks, activities, spa treatments, hiring of any equipment. And these are super, super expensive. Due to the relatively remote location of the resort, you really don't have a choice but to pay! We got quite a shock when paying our final bill on check out. We're very active people and really wanted to make the most of our week on Phi Phi by participating in plenty of activities, tours, spa treatment etc. But this really ended up costing us a fortune.

However, overall, Phi Phi Village really is a spectacular resort and definitely comes highly recommended. It's a must see for sure. If we ever go back to Thailand, we will look for a cheaper option, but we will always have amazing memories of our week on Phi Phi island.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Phi Phi Island Village for 5 nights in April, and although the resort and rooms are beautiful, clean and views are stunning, I felt as though I could not enjoy as much because of the resorts hidden costs.

Everything (and I mean everything) that you eat/drink/look at, at the hotel you must pay a 10% service charge, and then a 7% tax on top. So the price you see is NOT the price you pay. The prices are very expensive for Thailand anyway, but with these hidden charges, it soon mounts up!

As previously mentioned, there is a village at the back of the resort where we ate quite a few times, and I cannot recommend the massage highly enough here!! It's the best massage we have had in Thailand, and is a quarter the price of the Phi Phi Village Spa! As long as you don't mind the power going out every now and again!

Don't be conned into thinking that you have to get the hotel ferry to Phuket - the public ferry was fine.

Plus, if you want a half day trip around Phi Phi Ley and Phi Phi Don Snorkeling, there's a guy in the village between the supermarket and a restaurant (sorry I can't remember his name) but he's underneath a tent (!!?) who we went with and had an excellent day!! Reasonable too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. It was a lovely location and the resort was good quality as you would expect. However, we left with quite a negative impression of the place overall for a number of reasons:

1. Additional charges

In addition to paying an exhorbitant room rate (for the beach front suite), we found that the resort charged you for EVERYTHING. Unlike a number of resorts we've experienced, PP Island Village seemed to charge an insane margin for everything you did. Eg we spent $60 on internet access alone for these nights. The hotel wanted to charge us 18,000 baht (about $500) to get a speed boat to phuket, when we found a place just behind the back fence of the resort that did it for 8,000 baht. They charged for every use of snorkel wear, flipper, every drink, etc. Then add 10% service charge and 7% VAT to everything. All of these costs are not significant compared to the room rate, but it certainly does destroy some of the charm of the resort if you can't take a footstep without it being added to the bill.

2. Locale

The resort is certainly in a lovely locale, although I would warn people that development has kept apace and there are a number of (particularly ugly) resorts that have been built on the side of the beach. This is no longer the only resort on this part of the island unfortunately, and the other resorts are very visible and built of concrete. Not a massive problem but just a bit disappointing as we were expecting it to be isolated.

3. Food

Despite having 4-5 restaurants on the property, we found the level of variety fairly limited. Furthermore, there was next to no authentic thai food available on the property. For a country with such an awesome culinary tradition it was disappointing that we had to spend 6 days locked up with western style pizzas, basic grills and average pad thai. To be fair, the pizzas and other foods were quite good - just not what we'd expect of a thai resort i guess!

4. Value for money

I would advise all potential customers that the upgrade to the beachfront suite is definitely not worth the c. 100% extra that you need to pay versus the deluxe suite. Of course it was beautiful but the only real advantages seemed to be a slightly larger room, a bath, and a slightly larger balcony. The beach front positioning was nice but only 1 row in front of the deluxe suites and twice the price. I cant quite work out why they charge so much for this one.

5. Service

Was professional but not friendly or flexible - again suprising for a Thai resort.

Overal my recommendation would be to take care before booking this resort - if there is a good deal or promotion available then it may be worth it, but it lacks the charm and friendly service of a place that is suitable for a honeymoon or romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.