We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT - beautiful beach and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT - beautiful beach and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Loved the hotel. Great location and great staff. Food was good on the resort. Island hopping was amazing! Went to PHI PHI for new years - it was great! The market behind the resort has some good restaurants too - PAD THAI being my favorite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Cowboy 80

Thank you for taking time to write about your happiness at our resort. We will share your good review to our staff to let them know that you love the beautiful beach, friendliness staff and good food. I'm sure that they will happy to do more and more. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,457
    706
    246
    85
    56
See reviews for
288
1,622
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Outrigger is a beautiful private resort about 20 minutes away from the main pier. Be prepared to get soaked on your long tail boat ride over, which is just part of the experience. You'll be greeted with a warm welcome and towel to dry off. Overall the service was great, the private huts were comfortable, and the large pool, which is located right on the mile long beach, allows for a great view while you lounge.

As mentioned in many previous reviews, make sure to check out the little restaurants behind the resort. The food and drink prices are substantially cheaper and the little street has a memorable local vibe. Other tip: bring bug spray for the evenings.

This resort is very secluded and thus well suited for those who wish to relax in luxury, not for those looking for a bustling night life or to explore beyond the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Val H

We thank you for passing on usful comments of your experience at our resort. W're very glad that you love beautiful private resort, the services, the pool and long beach with great view. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We very much enjoyed our 5 day stay at Outrigger. The villa was lovely and had everything you needed. The pool was great with plenty of towels and deck chairs. The service was very efficient and good except for a couple of the female staff members who could be a bit more patient at times with ordering food etc. The breakfast was great- lots of choice and a great omelette! The resort is a long tail ride away from the bay (the busy part) and therefore difficult to get to at night but if you are after a peaceful time then this is no problem. I would highly recommend going in to the village behind the resort for dinner as the food was great and a lot cheaper. In particular Knock Out bar was very good food and also provided great snorkel trips.
The beach is very picturesque and clean but it does go out very far and also a bit rocky underneath. All in all an enjoyable stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is just stunning. Beautiful location, beautiful accommodation and very welcoming staff. Pool are wonderful as is the happy hour each day at 5pm. We weren't that excited with the food there but the little village right behind the hotel fills that requirement. Pad Thai is especially good. We spent wonderful day with Mr Chet from village who took us out for day to Maya beach for snorkelling and sight seeing. Wish we had stayed longer

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Gayle S

Thank you for sharing your fond memories of our resort and thank you for saying "Paradise". We're happy that you love the location, bungalow, welcome staff, Pool and enjoyed the little village behind the resort. We looking forward to welcome you back here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed at the Phi Phi Island Village Resort and Spa before and this resort has significantly gone down hill in terms of service and overall quality, especially since the acquisition by Outrigger hotels. Although the property is located in a superb setting and blends in nicely to its natural surroundings among palm trees on a large white sand beach, the staff do not know how to properly treat their guests.

As a new guest, you should be prepared for a transfer which is not efficient in terms of organization, time, or service. After your 75 minute resort boat ride from Phuket, you will arrive at Phi Phi Don, but due to intermittent high winds and frequent low tides, you may have to be transferred to/from the back side of the resort or board a large tractor. This in itself is not really a problem, but during this long process, there is no effort on the staff's part to make you feel welcome or even explain what is going on. Additionally, when you do arrive at the resort, expect to be waiting in the lobby about an hour before you are taken to your room.

In terms of room selection, the deluxe garden bungalows are the best deal since these are the newly built rooms and are more modern in terms of appearance. However, they are the furthest back from the main areas of the resort, so expect to walk a lot. Also, there is an intermittent sewer smell coming from this area, so if you end up with your bungalow in that exact area, it really is bothersome. The beachfront junior suites are the nicest option in terms of both appearance and location, but the prices of these rooms are quite steep. I would also recommend that you print out an e-mail or some sort of verification of your room type as the room we originally booked was not provided upon check-in and we were never moved to the proper room or offered any compensation for this mistake. This same type of mistake also happened on a previous visit when we had booked a junior beachfront suite and were given the "hillside villa," -- which is not anywhere near the beach and a cumbersome walk from any of the main areas of the resort.

The main issue with this resort is that the staff does not provide good, consistent service and for a "4.5 star" resort, they do not deliver the level of quality you would expect. First off, much of the staff does not speak enough English to communicate in the most basic manner. For example, I asked for small face towels, but got large bath towels; I asked for toilet paper three times and got nothing the first time and towels the second time; I asked for hot chocolate and got coffee; and I ordered fried rice and got french fries! Furthermore, the staff working the front desk cannot answer basic questions or explain any discrepancies with the bill. Every single time I have stayed here, there have been mistakes on the bill, and there was no one who could explain the situation or work it out properly. The breakfast, which is included with the room, is OK in terms of food selection, but not great, and interestingly enough, they have now put a limit on the number of cups of hot drinks you can order. For example, you used to get a full mug of hot chocolate, and now they bring one small cup. They will not bring you a second cup of coffee, cappuccino, or hot chocolate either. My poor mom wanted a second cup of cappuccino, and they wouldn't bring her one and my brother only got a half cup of hot chocolate that was mostly made of water -- and cold! Dinner service is also painfully slow, and we got to the point where we would just eat the buffet so we wouldn't have to order off their menu and wait forever to get our meal - which was then also cold. I also ordered a packed lunch from the bar to take on my longtail boat excursion, and was given everything in the cooler/bag -- except for the main course! So, our group was stuck eating just fruit and banana bread for the entire day we were out on our excursion with no access to any other food. I think the final straw was when the waitress at the restaurant asked to look inside my purse to see if I had taken my napkin when in fact it had fallen on the floor!

The resort also does not seem to have any of the finishing touches you would expect from a 4-5 star resort. Most of the staff does not seem genuinely happy to help you and appear to be going through the motions to just provide the bare minimum in terms of service. The ice cream/coffee bar is usually empty, so if you want to order a drink, you have to go to the front desk in order for them to find someone to help you. The gift store is over priced and does not even have anything effective to treat mosquito bites even though they are all over the resort. All they sold was some sort of peppermint oil that was not specifically for insect bites, etc. Their fitness room by the beach doesn't provide towels (only 6 inch face cloths) and has very limited equipment. There are no people at the pool serving drinks or food or offering clean towels. There are no organized programs for young kids. The activities desk offers great excursions but not everyone working there can explain what the excursions include or entail.

It's really a shame that this beautiful resort in such an idyllic setting can't even provide basic service, let alone what you would expect from a 4.5 star resort. It is my hope that something will be done from management to improve the overall quality of service provided at this resort for the future.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden bungalows are new and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Renee C

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We 're sorry to hear that your stay at our resort failed short of your expectations. Your value feedback is very useful information for us to look into details for improvement. We are now on the continuing training on job knowledge, service skill and English with English teacher. Your comments are taken serious and and all issues have been addressed with appropraite action. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This private resort is absolutely perfect! 5 star and would definitely stay again the only negative feedback I have is that because its a private resort unless you catch a long boat back to the main area on phi phi island you have to buy everything from the hotel, food, drinks etc which is rather expensive BUT make sure you walk through the fence at the back of the hotel, it takes to to a small village behind the resort - they have restaurants and bars and the people who work their are the most beautiful people you will ever meet and SO SO CHEAP. You have to visit them!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The resort is a lovely village of bungalows surrounded by palm trees set in between two hills away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area on Phi Phi Don. The staff are all beautiful and will go out of their way to make the stay perfect. Their English skills are substantial. There are plenty of options for food and the quality is very good, the prices are very reasonable as well. Breakfast is amazing with so many choices. The Day Spa is magnificent and a must do. There are plenty of options and the massage staff are very skilled. There are a ton of other options for activities to do around the area, all organised and run by the resort. Overall, the resort is an excellent place to stay if you are after relaxation and a step away from the busy Thai life.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chao-t, General Manager at Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear ZakandLindsay

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We glad and happy that you had a memorable stay. We will share your review to our staff that you love the bungalow, palm tree, service from staff, enjoy the option of food and breakfast, enjoy the massage and other activities. Your compliment will push us to do more and more. Thank you again for your review. We looking forward to welcome you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.