We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven ++++++++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Deal: Save 10% Now
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven ++++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for the 3rd time, this time we splurged on a hillside villa. Well worth every dollar, it was amazing. We ate in both restaurants and both were nice, also ate at pad Thai in village out the back which was amazing and cheap. Had no problems with service from staff. Highlight was returning the the broadbridge education centre in the village behind. Can't wait to go back next year, only thing I'd change is I'd stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    634
    223
    80
    50
See reviews for
257
1,472
32
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in their superior bungalow and two nights in their hillside poolvilla.
Overall it's a good Resort in a great location, but if you compare it to other luxury resorts it's just not enough value for money.
The whole Resort needs to be renewed. And some of their service staff was very unfriendly und very bad organized. The food in their main restaurant is good but far from great.

Superior Bungalow:
Very old
Mold in our bathroom
Toilet with a shower curtain instead of a door

Hillside Poolvilla:
Too old
Hundreds of moscitos and insects especially in the open air bathroom
Doors and windows are not closing properly
so that a lot of moscitos coming in at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, Chief Operating Officer at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear KaDu82

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We apologize that elements of your stay weren't as good as they should have been. We're enhancing our host (staff) training and are upgrading rooms and facilities. We have just opened 44 brand new Deluxe Garden Bungalows as part of our improvement program. We are working on other enhancements too. I apologize again and greatly appreciate your feedback.

- Marc Landgraf, Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place is amazing. We stayed at the villas and had a great view. For a bit more than the bungalows, it's worth it. You have kitchen, two floors, personal pool, wifi, terrace, hammocks, you name it!! The food is a bit expensive but come on! You are in paradise. The service is impeccable. Whenever I return to Thailand I will be staying right here again.

Room Tip: I recommend either the beach-front bungalows or the villas. Between the two, definitely the villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

In spite of reading some of the cons of this resort as described by the Trip advisor contributors, we still decided to give this resort a chance because it had the best Trip advisor ratings at Ko Phi Phi. Also, considering we have generally been extremely adaptable and travelled throughout Asia with a lot of cultural awareness, we thought we could better manage some of the cons that were listed in the reviews on Trip advisor.

However, in spite of our flexibility, we felt very much let down with our choice of this resort .

In comparison to some of the other hotels we have visited in Asia, we did not find the resort to be worthy of the 4.5 stars which is currently stated on its website. This resort may be the best at Ko Phi Phi but is not comparable to the standards of a typical 4.5 star hotel.

Check in being extemely slow was frustrating because it cost us the time we could relax in our room after a long boat ride to the resort. Not very much was complimentary at the hotel. Be prepared to factor in all the extra costs besides the room rental charges. There were additional costs to incur such as transportation and equipment rental for water sports. As an example, the resort’s car service from Phuket airport to the Pier and the Boat from the Pier to the resort was quoted to us at 2,100 Baht per Adult and 1,900 Baht per Child (4-12 years) which would be a significant cost for a couple travelling with two or more children. Kayaks and snorkeling gear could be rented and were not included in the resort’s room rental rates.

Free WIFI was available but only in the common lobby area.

While we can understand that items to be brought to the resort across the sea might make the resort’s costs higher, it does not justify why the service was very poor and slow. Staff visibly and consistently appeared as being unwilling to help and lacked the hospitality spirit. The superior room needs much updating especially considering what is being charged. The Western prices for the resort’s restaurants would have even been acceptable to us if the service charge that is levied was justifiable for the attention and service received. At the nearby restaurants outside the resort, we found excellent food, noticeably more service, smiles and much lower menu pricing!

Due to lack of attention at the breakfast, we saw several other guests at breakfast approaching staff for tea/coffee refills, sugar, etc. which is not what you should expect if you are paying to be at the #1 Trip advisor rated resort at Ko Phi Phi.

On the plus side, the resort property is very lush and green. If you are a smoker, the common open air reception area which has WIFI access is smoker friendly.

Having stayed at so many other 4 and 5 stars in Asia, we realized that adjusting our expectations to the resort's offerings and lowering "Western" expectations did not make our resort experience better because the resort fundamentally lacks value for money, no matter how you put it.

Overall, if you must spend some time at this resort, set your expectations accordingly so you are not hugely disappointed with the value for your money spent. I would only recommend considering this resort when the management change described below has taken place with visible improvements.

Room Tip: Given the resort’s proximity to nature, mosquitoes and lizards could be found in the room if you lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, Chief Operating Officer at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear OnTheRoadRun

Thank you for taking time to review our resort. We apologize for the elements of service that were not as good as they should have been. We are reviewing pricing and also upgrading our service standards in key areas. Thank you for your useful feedback. We're working on it.

- Marc Landgraf, Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I visited Phi Phi November of this year with my new husband as we were on our honeymoon. We stayed at a cheap hotel our first night in Phuket since we arrived early in the morning. The resort actually faxed over our transportation details to our current hotel and it was impressive how they coordinated our arrival. We chose to use the transportation provided by the resort, which was easy for us since we didn't want to deal with trying to find an alternative way there. I was caught off guard at first because they charge alot for this, and you think as much as you were paying to stay there they wouldn't charge as much if anything at all. The resort is on it's own and away from the hustle and bustle- ideal for us on our honeymoon-As soon as we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and provided cold towels and complimentary beverages. Check in was seamless although our room was not ready for another hour. Our check in got even better when they offered to upgrade us to a private pool villa for our stay since we were on our honeymoon! We were thrilled and accepted. Because the villas are on a hill a ways from the main area, they have carts available for transport which did not bother us at all. The ride takes about 5 minutes or less. We arrived to our villa and it was beautiful-private pool, two rooms (parlor and bedroom), two bathrooms (HUGE master bathroom), very nice beach towels provided- we even had visits from some local monkeys! All in all-great check in and lovely accommodations! The bed was a bit firm for my taste-so look out for that.

We enjoyed our breakfast every morning- you can have it delivered or go down to the Dolphin Restaurant to enjoy the buffet. The breakfast was very good and I can't find anything that I would change. Eating at the resort on the other hand is probably between $10-$30 USD which is normal for us, but for Thailand, overpriced. We ate at the Marlin restaurant a couple of times and the food was pretty good and the band was entertaining. The Coconut Grill wasn't very good in our opinion-the crab I ate was not prepared well and it was burned. Lesson learned. I got tips from TA to visit the village behind the resort and this was a lifesaver! We went to Knockout Bar pretty much everyday and Chet was so welcoming- He was friendly and seemed to love talking to the tourists. He offers side trips cheaper than the resort-we went on a 5 hour long tail boat trip (snorkeling, Maya Bay etc) and had a fantastic time. The food was very good and was authentic Thai-which we were looking for!

The service was great, never had any issues at all-yes most of the staff does not speak amazing English but I didn't feel this impacted our stay in anyway.

My tips would be to bring a really good insect repellant, even if you plan to stay inside as the rooms are not 100% enclosed, there's still plenty of room for bugs to get in. We seemed to get eaten up by the mosquitos and who else knows what (even when sleeping).

The beach was a bit dirty in the mornings (rubbish, leaves etc), but they actually have someone cleaning it up the best they can which I thought was nice. Other than that, the beach was lovely

I felt this exceeded my expectations for a 4+ star resort and had a very pleasant stay-our honeymoon was truly special here!

Room Tip: Private pool villa is quiet and felt secluded if you are looking for privacy-but bring a good insect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My fiance and I are currently staying at the resort and are checking out tomorrow as scheduled after a 4 night stay. I am inclined to write this review as I'm still at the hotel since my experience here has been very frustrating. I want to first say that we have travelled to many places and stayed at many different resorts from guesthouses to private pool villas and this hotel has left us the most unsatisified out of them all.

Starting off with landing at the airport, we booked the speedboat through the hotel instead of the public ferry to get to the island, which was approximately $70/person. Our flight got in at 11:30am and the resort speedboats leave at 11:30am and 4pm everyday. SInce we missed the first one, we had to wait at the pier, where there was absolutely nothing to do, but sit at a restaurant that was as hot as an oven for 4 hours waiting for the boat to come. Granted we knew there was a possibility we would have to wait a few hours, we had no idea the conditions we were going to be left in. I felt extremely sick sitting in the heat with nothing to do, nowhere to go, and no one to get information from. Spending $70/person for transportation to the "#1 hotel" on Koh Phi Phi in these conditions is unacceptable. If it wasn't for Phet, one of front desk managers, who apologized and really seemed to understand how we felt and genuinely cared, we would have checked out the next day.

The food was adequate, but the prices were very steep (e.g. $11 for an individual pizza,
$8 for 5 fried prawns, etc) and the service was terrible. You are better off going to the small village in back of the resort that they don't really tell you about for food 1/2 the price. You can also book excursions here and on Tonsai Pier for 50-60% off the hotel prices, which is what we did. However, we discovered the hotel only had shuttle boats going to the pier at 12pm and 5pm, which was 200 baht per person per way. If we wanted to go at any other time, we had to pay double. This was the most frustrating thing about this resort is that we had to operate on their schedule instead of our own, and we are the ones on vacation. We were able to take the 7:30am boat that was only for the people checking out twice, but this was after talking to three different people at the front desk for 30 minutes. To round up the negatives: toiletry essentials in the room were minimal compared to other hotels, service was horrible (Phet was the only person at the hotel that seemed to understand customer service), and no wifi in the individual villas as most hotels have in Thailand.

Pros:
-Great beach and pool, probably the best we've ever seen
-Bed was very comfortable
-A few movie channels
-Breakfast buffet

Overall, the hotel seemed to care more about its bottom line than its guests. They really encouraged guests to stay on the hotel grounds by racking up the shuttle boat prices and not informing us about the other villages and food choices. If you are okay with spending more money on food and don't plan on leaving the resort, this hotel is a great place because the grounds are beautiful. This resort really does have a lot of potential; however, it seems the staff is poorly trained and the hotel should really put more effort in accomodating guests and going the extra mile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, Chief Operating Officer at Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Tracey H

Thank you for your comments. We are grateful for the complimentary things you say and apologize for the aspects of our service that were below expectation, especially the delay at the jetty. We are making sure that this doesn’t happen again. The hotel is pleased to be part of the community on Phi Phi Island and is happy for guests to explore outside the resort grounds. Many guests appreciate that sense of being ‘away from it all’. We are doing a review of our food and beverage offerings and constantly compare our prices. We will soon be addressing the other issues you raised such as WiFi and in-room amenities. Thank you again for your understanding and feedback.

Marc Landgraf – Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here during a recent tour of Thailand, we were collected by catermaran from Phuket by the resort which was a great way to travel, we then had ro transfer to a smaller boat just off he shore which was interesting with the swell of the ocean but all great fun.

Check in was ok, although a bit slow, even though we arrived at 3pm in the afternoon we still had to hang around and wait for our room, a superior bungalow. The room was nice and we had a good location just behind the reception area. There was a lack of towels in the room, no hand towles or face cloths at all during the stay, just a bath towel each, which is poor for accomodation of this standard.

The resort itself is beautiful with a lovely beach front and good pool area, although we couldnt get a sunbed around the pool the first afternoon that we were there.

We ate in the Cocunut bar and grill twice. The food was ok, but a total rip off everything in the resort is plus VAT and service charge which adds 17% to the listed prices. The first night that we ate there we waited 45 minutes for our starters to be served. Then when our mains arrived we had to send one steak back as it was rare, we ordered medium. The steak sauces were brought to our table after we had finished our meal. The second night the food and service was better, but still very over priced.

Staff around the resort arent the typical helpful and friendly nature that we have seen in other resorts in Thailand. When we checked out we noticed that one of our bills from the cocunut bar was quite high, when we reviewed it the amounts that we had signed for had been changed and items added to the bill, we questioned this and hit a brick wall due to the very poor english of the staff. The bill had clearly been changed and more drinks added,
Calls and discussions were had with he restaurant and reception but we couldnt get it resolved. The reception wouldnt issue our transfer vouchers unless we paid it so we had no option. This left us feeling rather disapointed and I would not recommend this resort. There are nicer place to stay in locations just as picturesque that won't look to rip uou off at every turn.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa

Address: 49 Moo 8 | T. Aonang, A. Muang Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream-like boutique resort situated on a private 800 metre stretch of pristine white sand beach lapped by the turqoise waters of the Andaman Sea. The resort is set on 70 acres of coconut palm plantations, in the privacy of Loh Ba Gao Bay on Phi Phi Island. Accommodation is comprised of 144 traditional Thai style bungalows and 12 exclusively private Hillside Pool Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort And Spa
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Island Village Beach Hotel
Phi Island Village Beach Resort
Phi Phi Island Village Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Phi Phi Island Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.