We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor cost performance” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Rendez Vous

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Phi Phi Don
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Rendez Vous
Save
You added Le Rendez Vous to your Saves list
47/16 Moo 8 Loh Lana Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Poor cost performance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I would not say that this is a bad place to stay, but I was expecting a lot more based on the price. We've stayed at places that were much cheaper in similar situations (islands/beach areas in South East Asia) and the value for money was much, much better.

The Good
Very basic amenities were there and functional like an air conditioner, TV (but very small and really grainy), WiFi, and mini fridge
Staff was very responsive to requests and polite.

The Not Good
Cockroaches - we found a total of 13 GIANT cockroaches over the course of our stay. It is an island so a person does have to expect bugs, but this seemed excessive. We reported it and they were responsive, but by then the damage was done.
Room was falling apart - Our bed had a weird sag in it on one side and the consents were falling out of the wall. There was toilet paper or something lining the windows. The water heater did not work very well and the shower head would not stay on the wall (the holder was broken)
Irregular cleaning - Not sure why, but room does not get cleaned on rainy days. We reported this as well and someone came by, but by that time it was late at night so we just asked for new towels and to take out the trash. The reason given was "it was raining"
Down to the very, very basics - We weren't expecting toothbrushes or hairdryers or anything, but we thought for the price we were paying we would get at least a bar of soap, but we did not get even that.

Room Tip: Not sure what the deluxe rooms are like, but the family rooms are pretty run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    6
    7
    16
See reviews for
6
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked this not knowing much about the island and transport links. On a map it appeared to be fairly close to tonsai bay, however, in reality the guest house wass in the middle of nowhere, the only way to and from the bay was a thirty minute trip via long tail boat for an average of a thousand Bhart or an hour trek through the jungle. When we arrived the owners seemed very friendly but continuously tried to sell us their boat trip and added extras which we discovered costed twice as much as any other trip for exactly the same intinerary. The room was clean and reasonably decorated with a comfortable bed, however the water stunk of eggs, not pleasnt to have to clean your teeth with. The village has a few run down restaurants and bars, which are generally empty... Pretty much a ghost town. Would advise only stay if you are looking for a remote get away and very very limited entertainment.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived in Koh Phi Phi having booked a room here through Agoda. We rung the guesthouse and asked if we could have a transfer. Despite most other hotels offering this for free we were told it would be 300B per person each way, so for our stay it would be 1200B. This was not mentioned on Agoda, so we weren't too happy, but had to pay it as we'd pre paid the room and couldn't get there any other way. When we got there we had to walk for about 15 mins in the heat with our bags to Le Rendezvous Vous. We then had to walk another 200m or so well away from the guesthouse and lagoon to a back street with a dingey little room. The TV and fridge advertised with the room was not present, and the room stank of smoke. The room was pretty clean except for the bathroom, and generally was OK, but definitely not worth 1500B a night. The rooms and setting advertised on their website are completely different to the reality - they have only just started letting these rooms which is why you won't see any negative comments about it previously. No doubt the deluxe rooms are lovely, but if you book any other room be aware that you are basically staying in a different place. I addressed the issues with the owner Bruno and he just became rude and flat refused any form of a refund. Also be ware that their trips are literally twice the price of other places, and follow the same route. All in all, stay here and you will be ripped off.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Our family of four (two children ages 9 and 12) stayed one week with Bruno and Peth. We had never been to Phi Phi and were a bit concerned upon arriving at the bustling port of Tonsai Bay -- what a scene! Bruno and Julien, though, met us at the pier and accompanied us to Le Rendez Vous which is located about 30 minutes by long tail boat in a charming part of the island. My husband and oldest son completed their open-water PADI dive certification with Julien and both give him an enthusiastic 5-star rating! They appreciated the seriousness and care with which he approached the instruction and the fun they had with him during the dives. My youngest son and I went snorkeling with Bruno and his captain while Bruno filmed our adventures throughout the day. We saw turtles, sharks, and even some of the Red Bull cliff-diving championship. To say Bruno is a good videographer is an understatement. The film he created is EXCELLENT and you really appreciate the time and effort he puts into editing something that he does for free! Peth is an excellent cook and wonderful hostess. We appreciated her culinary treats: banana fritters in the morning or some bruschetta with our fresh lime sodas. You will be well taken care of at Le Rendez Vous. Bruno, Peth and Julien are experts on Ko Phi Phi and love to share their knowledge of the local highlights with you.

Room Tip: Bruno was very prompt with his email communication and is very honest and upfront with costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very good service by Bruno and Peth, room with very good size and super clean, very close to the beach. It is located in a very nice area of the Phi Phi island, but be aware that it is also a more quiet area. I recommend it for a calm and peaceful holidays, and not if you are looking for parties and hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Bruno and Peth are excellent hosts catering for your every need. Peth is an amazing cook and there was always a great breakfast waiting for us-the banana fritters on our last day were a real treat and delicious! They also serve the most delicious tapas with drinks in the bar. The room was huge and very clean, we also had a good sized balcony. Service was fantastic and nothing was too difficult for Bruno & Peth to ensure we had everything we needed during our stay. Bruno also organised an excellent boat trip and diving whilst we were there. I would definitely stay here again if in this part of the world especially considering the value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We totally agree with the last review of this place, it is an oasis of calm! Best nights sleep I had in Thailand!!! The rooms are spotlessly clean, massive and have everything you need and Bruno and Peth really look after you. The view is really nice too and the surrounding area is beautiful and well maintained. We read the reviews and it definitely lived up to the expectations. My tip is to arrange to book with Bruno by going direct to his website (lerendevous.net) and book direct, then you can arrange a pick up from the port or you will be charged excessively 1000 THB by boatmen waiting at the port (it is on the other side of Ton Sai, only reachable by boat). Anyways, the setting is lovely, a little village with great atmosphere, and a few nice restaurants and bars. We mainly came to Phi Phi for the Maya bay "the beach" experience but when I looked on Tripadvisor it seemed a bit of a tourist trap now, so we were not sure if we wanted to do it. After speaking to Bruno, we decided to do his tailor-made speed boat trip and there were 6 of us on it. He is a professional fim-maker so he films the day (after editing he got some pretty amazing footage) too so you get to watch it later at the bar, which was a lot of fun! We headed out at 7.30am and were the only people on Maya beach at 8am, which if you look at some of the pics on TA is pretty impressive because at 8.45am it is packed with longtail boats. It felt really special and this was totally the highlight for me. The snorkeling afterwards was the best I have done in Thailand and he knows all the great spots. My boyfriend LOVED the cliff jumping, which Bruno filmed and got some really great shots. Bruno is a really unique, lovely, honest guy, he is constantly trying to improve his guests experience and make you have an amazing stay. Hearing his stories are are an evening of entertainment in themselves so make sure you stop in at the lovely bar if you are staying nearby. Better still, book a trip-it will be the best one you ever had!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms so you can't go wrong!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Rendez Vous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rendez Vous

Address: 47/16 Moo 8 Loh Lana Bay, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House Le Rendez Vous The Best Area on Koh Phi Phi Don, quiet and relax this small village have 3 beautiful beach accessibles by walk, and we are not fare from Tonsai Pier. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Rendez Vous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.