We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service and atmosphere...great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Phi Phi Red Tuna

Koh Phi Phi Red Tuna
Ao Lo Bakao Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue, Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere...great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for five nights in The Outrigger Hotel and ate in the village every night except for the day we arrived. We ate in Red Tuna once and as with all of the restaurants we ate in in the village it is excellent value and really delicious authentic Thai food cooked and served by local people. The cocktails are also prepared with care and generosity.The atmosphere is very relaxed and informal and the staff are very friendly and pleasant. One warning is that the restaurant and the village in general is not built to the same physical standard as the Outrigger resort (toilets facilities etc are functional but a bit rough and ready, a cat may join your table unexpectedly!) but once you understand this in advance you will enjoy this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    47
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice food next to the lagoon - not sure if that is a plus or minus.
Good value as always and the beer is cold.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Thanks to tripadvisor, we checked out this restaurant and were impressed.

As there was 5 of us dining together, we ordered a selection of different meals to share and found each to have its own individual taste and flavour. We had an incredible papaya salad, a yummy fried rice with crab, beautiful chicken pad thai and the best fish cakes we have ever eaten!! Don't be put off by the 450THB price of the fish cakes- they are freshly prepared from fish fillets and are worth every baht!

The service was friendly and personable with out waiter seeming to take a real interest in the guests, having a number of conversations with different tables. Both the chefs were friendly and happy for diners to watch on as they cooked at the front of the restaurant!

This is one of the best meals we have had in Thailand!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found Red Tuna restaurant a couple of years ago and recently went back. They now have bungalows as well so we stayed there instead of the outrigger. Value for money and the food is mana

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great find- much cheaper than Outrigger hotel meals!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant while going for a stroll behind the Outrigger Resort. The kitchen is set up right on the outside of they restaurant so you can see what ingredients are being used fresh- including fish they just caught that afternoon! Good selection of entrees and well made! I had the squid with garlic and pepper sauce and my hubby had the crab. Delish!! The only appetizer is spring rolls- also really good. The owner was very nice and brought each table a bottle of mosquito repellant. Great music, nice ambience. Total for appetizer, 2 entrees, a large beer and bottled water= 710 baht. Good value!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Phi Phi Red Tuna also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Koh Phi Phi Red Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Phi Phi Red Tuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.