We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday place with close to terrible food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #3 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday place with close to terrible food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

It is one of these not really frequent cases when the pictures that you may find on the web (including these of the hotel web page itself) show something worse than it is in reality. The accommodation, ambience and services was quite close to perfection with only some really minor problems encountered during our 4d/3n holiday. We stayed in a beach-front bungalow clearly freshly renewed (at least repainted) both interiors and exteriors, clean and nice. All the other bungalows appeared also to be renovated and in similar condition. Living area of the bungalow – very nice and cozy, the bathroom – a bit worse, slightly worn-off but still reasonably nice and clean. The only missing thing was perhaps some more rustic external appearance as the bungalows looked more like concrete boxes than something you would like to see in this kind of tropical island environment.
Things about the surrounding: pretty isolated spot of the island with no crowds typical to Ton Sai beach area; the resort is situated on both sides of the peninsula so you can watch sunrises almost from the doorsteps of your bungalow and sunsets from Sunset Satay Bar; the beach is fabulous with clean and clear sand regardless of low or high tide and emerald or sapphire-blue water; see-gypsies village if you like this kind of things - as a matter of fact not different to me from slums of Bangkok or Phuket – nothing really ethnic, just poorer people making their living by transporting tourists around.
The hotel services were very good, staff always friendly, smiling and trying to be helpful. Also most of the services arranged by the resort like boat transportation were surprisingly of very high standard. E.g. we hired a longtail boat for 6h one day just to get around a bit. I was taking lots of pictures. The boat driver was a guy from the gypsy sea village. Not only we had no troubles to communicate with him but he was like actively looking for nice spots for me and seeing I wanted to take some photos he tried to position the boat the right way with no slightest request from my side – just by watching what I was doing with my camera. Truly amazing. Generally local people of Phi Phi were always very friendly.
The food: well, unfortunately I have to agree with some previous comments: it was a disaster – the worst food we have ever had in Thailand if not in SE Asia. In the resort we tried once the buffet dinner which happened to be cold, with no Thai food included and a strange, limited choice of dishes of questionable taste and quality. This is also how every single breakfast looked like perhaps with the exception of the things making the western type of breakfast (eggs, toasts etc). To be completely fair it was something strange with the food in Phi Phi in general. We are Europeans living already quite some time in Singapore so I think we have a good feeling about the Asian
food. We visited Thailand many times and we never encountered that bad food in average as we did in Phi Phi. This include the Jasmine restaurant mentioned earlier by some people – the food there was much better then in Holiday-Inn but still below average. We also tried two other restaurants with similar feeling. It looks to us like everywhere in Phi Phi the cuisine is tailored to serve the expectations of Westerners (nothing can be too spicy for example). We did not try from holiday-inn anything ala-carte with one exception – so called bbq romantic dinner that was very nicely organized right on the beach, candles, torches, flowers on the sand - perfect romantic cliché that you need from time to time. And the food here was ok. Nothing really good, but just ok – Phi Phi average.
So as a short summary: it was a near perfect holiday in beautiful, romantic setting, with high quality services, more then decent for four stars rating accommodations and very bad food as per Asian standards.

  • Liked — surrounding, service
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    619
    514
    164
    74
    47
See reviews for
230
756
31
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2007

I just spent a few days in May with my girflfriend at the resort and it was fanastic. Very nice beach front bungalow (recommend 116) with direct access to the beach and of course snorkeling. The entire facility is wonderful, tennis court, sunset views from a hilltop, plenty of boats and activities coordination.

Things to keep in mind, it's a long journey from Phuket since it's the furthest resort from TonSai Bay. You'll sort of be stuck at the resort, but can stop by another restaurant on the beach if you want

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — Incredible beach front location
  • Disliked — Cost of drinks
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

We had a fantastic weekend at the Holiday Inn. Having taken the boat trip from Tonsai we could see immediately as we arrived that it was the nicest hotel around. It was very relaxed, friendly and well-run. We had a beach front room which was just right. The beach is beautiful with big trees for shade, and there are plenty of hammocks all over the place. We also loved the sunset bar - what a bonus! There is a dive shop on site as well as free snorkelling gear and canoes. Highly recommend diving around Phi Phi Leh.

We were a bit worried having read other reviews about the food, but as it turns out it was the buffet and western food that was expensive - we found the Thai food delicious and good value considering where you are. All round a lovely, relaxing weekend.

One point to note - if you get the morning ferry, you have to leave the hotel at 0700 in order to get the 0900 (slow) ferry from Tonsai to Phuket. You don't actually get to Phuket until 1100. I would recommend leaving the hotel at 0815 on a longtail, then catching the fast ferry from Tonsai at 0900, which will get you in at around 1015.

  • Liked — Beach, sunset bar, lovely room.
  • Disliked — Advice on ferry times!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

I read a lot of reviews prior to booking this hotel and decided to go with Holiday Inn Phi Phi Island. I traveled to the island with two friends we range in ages 19-22. We were the by far the youngest on the island and the only "threesome" (lot of couples" We had a blast though! The long tail boat picked us up from the main bay and within the hour we were at the Holiday Inn filling out paperwork with a refreshing drink and cold towel for our face. What was nice was that in our room they had it arranged for the three of us, with three robes, slippers and so on.. Other places might not have gone that extra step. The staff was great and we had many special moments with them and it was sad to say goodbye. Everyone at the hotel is service orientated and seem to go out of their way to make you happy. The breakfast was included in our rate and was amazing, very good with plenty of options. We stayed four nights and realized the meals were expensive so we just ate at the restaurants next to our resort (literally a 4 minute walk right on the beach). I highly recommend taking the longtail boats around the islands, we were dissapointed with Bamboo island and I will say that we only had 1 good day of snorkeling as the water was cloudy once you were under the surface. (not the best time of year I guess) Although it did storm, we had sunshine as well and one evening we saw tornados (or water spouts) from the sunset bar. The Sunset bar by the way is amazing, that view woudl be hard to match anywhere in the world. Overall very nice place to stay if you are looking to relax and meet some great people (both staff and other travelers).

  • Liked — Tie between nice beach and wonderful staff
  • Disliked — A bit pricey for the drinks/food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

I've been reading other peoples reviews of the holiday inn and i feel they are a bit unfair. I stayed there for 6 days in april as a group of three girls and we had a wonderful time in what is an incredibly beautiful surrounding.
The hotel is indeed isolated as it is at the opposite end of ko phi phi to the rest of the main tourist attractions, but with a beautiful beach to sunbathe on in the day (you can also make the most of the free snorkeles and canoes ) and the choice of two hotel bars and 1 (admittedly overpriced) restaurant in the evening, there was enough to keep us entertained. As mentioned in other peoples reviews there is also the lovely jasmine restaurant next door which is definately worth going to - great food and atmosphere - and there are two other hotels along the beach from there which can also be used by other tourists, so don't think of a visit here as just being limited to the hotel inn.
The main down side we found to the hotel was the VERY slow service. This does get quite frustrating and you need to plan this into your schedule, but we complained a few times and things got better towards the end of the trip. As with any top end resort food and drink were more exspensive than if staying in beach huts in a touristy town but the sea gypsy village next door has a shop where you can buy beer very cheaply and with beautiful verandas attached to your bungalow then why not sit there and enjoy a drink and soak up the atmosphere.
If you're looking for 24/7 partying then this is probably not the best place, but for day time relaxation and a chance to have a nice meal and few drinks in the evening then i'd thouroughly reccomend the hotel inn as a place to go, and over the course of the six days we made friends with quite a few other guests and staff so i'd say its a fairly sociable hotel too.
Also don't forget that its really easy to go on boat trips for daytime excursions so you can easily get to know the rest of Ko phi phi and the surrounding islands.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

This was my third time to Thailand but first time to Ko Phi Phi and the Holiday Inn. In my trips to Thailand i have stayed in 1 star to 5 star hotels but the Holiday Inn was a wake up call for me - it was the worst value I have experenced in Thailand. The rooms were "nice" but not outstanding. The service was okay but again not outstanding. The food was probably the worst I've ever had anywhere in Thailand (including roadside stands) and easily the most expensive. If you like to eat bad food and pay a lot for it then eat at the Holiday Inn. Everything at the hotel is expensive for what you get. We ended up getting all of our meals at a tiny restaurant next door called "Jasmine" (excellent by the way).

For the price they charge you can get a lot more for your Bat/Dollar in Thailand than at the Holiday Inn Koh Phi Phi

  • Liked — the beach was amazing
  • Disliked — the food
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at the holiday Inn for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. As other reviewers have said Breakfast was delicious & there was a vast array of different foods to eat. But other than breakfast the food at the Holiday Inn was below average & very overpriced. We ate at the Gypst village restaurant Jasmin which was wonderful but be warned it does get busy and we had to book a table for our second night.

Watching the sunset form the sunset bar is a wonderfful way to "wind down" after a hard day relaxing on the beach.

Took a trip into Tonsai one day for shopping but would hate to stay there much too busy.

Do not come here if you want a night life but if you want to relax in a beautiful setting then this is the place for you

  • Liked — The beautiful setting and quiet
  • Disliked — The food in the resturant is overpriced and generally dull
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Address: Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Watersports activities, including snorkelling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.