We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serene and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed at phi phi for 5 days with my husband ,as it was our honeymoon we have decided for a silent and peaceful island and this was the best choice we have made.

Right from our arrival at phuket till transfer to isalnd the hotel staff were really helpful and we had an amazing time during out stay. Everthing was well organised and we had a wonderful time.

We have visited phi phi aorund june and there were heavy to moderate rains, so I would suggest to visit phi during dec to may which is the perfect time for any adventure like scuba diving and snorkelling.

Room Tip: We choose coral sea view studio but the view wasn't good as it was covered with full of trees ,s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    617
    199
    86
    59
See reviews for
293
923
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This resort is stunningly beautiful. From the idyllic beach (for snorkeling and sunbathing) to Lookout Bar (with views across to Phuket and neighbouring islands) to the lovely swimming pools this resort was my idea of paradise.

Helpful, friendly staff offer a genuine welcome and do everything they can to help make your stay perfect. They arranged hassle free transfers for us from Krabi airport (car, ferry & longtail boat) and back to Krabi.

The breakfasts were amazing, but sadly the dinner service was poor and rather expensive.

Sea Bees Dive center on site were brilliant. My wife dived and I went our snorkeling with them.

Room Tip: Garden View rooms are quieter and offer a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Holiday Inn, Phi Phi for 5 nights in July (low season). This is the perfect quiet location for couples and families.

Just a few steps away from your room sits the turquoise waters of your own private beach resort. You can rent out snorkelling kit for free or a kayak boat which is great fun for a couple of hours every day.

The breakfast was fantastic and the location is very quiet and tucked away to the North from the main 'party' section of Phi Phi Island. The room we stayed in was great and the staff were very friendly (especially 'Sea' at reception!).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to any couple or family wanting a quiet peaceful few days in paradise.

P.S. When you are at this hotel you MUST go snorkelling on Mosquito Island (make sure you wear flippers - take for free from reception) and check out Bamboo Island. You can do this on a long tail boat trip from the hotel.

Looking forward to visiting again.

Khob kuhn!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights, not really realising it was at the quiet end of Phi Phi, away from Tonsai Bay. Our garden bungalow was nice, but the bathroom was quite dated, in need of renovating. To get to Tonsai (markets, restaurants, nightlife) you need to haggle for a boat ride, which can be expensive, and takes at least a half hour each way. Next time I would probably stay closer to the action.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear AnnaFrances86,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you liked your room. However, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the bathroom. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hey all. Me and my husband we on honeymoon during our stay on phi phi island, buy unfortunately we weren't staying at this hotel, but wished we did!! We stayed at p.p erawan palm resort but only to sleep, we spent most of our day at the holiday inn resort as we found it was cleaner and the staff were more helpful and most of them understood English.
Sad thing about our honeymoon was our second to last night my husband left our brand new camera on a chair in the restaurant whilst having dinner and forgotten all about it. Next morning went back to see if anyone had handed it in. "Nothing". Left us feeling sick inside. As all the memories and fun things we've both had, had been taken away...
Still desperately wanting memory card if found pls...
Other than this thanks to holiday inn for caring and looking after us while on honeymoon vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was fine. Rooms were decent (except for the shower which was terrible) and the surrounding beach area was lovely.
Transport to and from the resort is a chore. You need to pay THB400-500 for what ends up being about a 4 hour ferry journey which is full to the rim of people. If you can afford it or your group is large enough, I highly recommend chartering your own speed boat. For THB7,500 we got back to Phuket in under an hour.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary. We booked the Romance Package that included a bungalow of your choice (we did the beach front), breakfast, private transport to & from the Phuket airport, ferry fees, and a private dinner on the beach one night. Our driver picked us up in a nice van, brought us to the Rassada Pier ferry terminal, and helped us check in for our tickets. The ferry ride was miserable for just about everyone on board (luckily we took prescription seasickness medicine an hour before!). The ferry wasn't very big and the waves were rough due to the weather. The ferry on the way back was much newer and nicer! The ferry stops first at Tonsai to let people off, then goes on to Laemtong Beach where the resort is. You stop offshore and load onto longtails that take you to the beach. It was raining and kind of miserable. Luckily the staff made up for the rough trip with welcome drinks and a prompt check-in. They gave us room 116, the nicest beach bungalow since we told them upon booking that it was our anniversary. We had a bigger porch, an amazing view framed between two palm trees, and flowers on our bed when we arrived.

The resort is older, but our philosophy on older resorts is they always have the better locations! This is very true for the Holiday Inn. I looked at several hotels on Phi Phi and was glad I went with this one. The Outrigger's beach is much smaller and more narrow with no snorkeling. The beach here was cleaned throughout the day, was large enough to never be crowded, and had snorkeling better than a trip we took to Phi Phi Lae! And unlike what I've seen at other places, when the tide was out the water didn't create a muddy field in front of the beach. The rooms are not 5 star quality, but frankly we didn't care as it had plenty of amenities, was well decorated, and had comfy beds. Plus who stays inside all day when paradise is right outside your door? They provide free water everyday and welcome fruit & cookies in the room.

Private Beach Dinner: We had a private dinner on the beach at the nicest hotel in Moorea on our honeymoon, but the Holiday Inn blew that one out the water! They went all out with a white linen canopy made of wooden poles with fresh floral arrangements on each one, holes dug in the sand with citronella candles placed inside for a romantic glow, candles & lanterns placed on a large piece of driftwood nearby, and the table & canopy was placed inside a heart shape made of sand. Also, we appreciated that the dinner was set up by the spa in a private area away from others which made it that much more special & romantic. Our waiter was great!. We picked the main courses the day before at the restaurant. The food was excellent and we left stuffed!

Resort: We both got traditional Thai massages at the spa which were fantastic. They have several options for massages with very reasonable prices. You book at the front desk of the hotel. There is a scuba center on site with FANTASTIC instructors! There is a gift shop with a large variety of snacks and drinks, but a disappointing selection of souvenirs. There is an activities desk where you can rent snorkel equipment and arrange day trips. We booked a longtail boat to Tonsai (only worth it to climb to the View Point) and a speed boat to Maya Bay. The trip to Maya was expensive (a little over $200 USD), but the boat was big & nice, they provided lunch, fruit, & drinks of your choosing, and the guides went out of their way to make sure you had a great time. We went to the bay and then snorkeled nearby.


Restaurant: Very good for lunch and dinner. The breakfast buffet wasn't fantastic, but I enjoyed the pancakes, made to order omelets, and fresh fruit. The cocktails at the beach bar were delicious & strong! Everything was very reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly, but I found the restaurant service to be confusing. You don't have one waiter. There are several people that serve everyone which made for bad service. I had to flag someone down for refills and to get our bill. The restaurant is somewhat open air so expect mosquitoes, but they provide a great bug spray and citronella boxes placed under the table.


They did a closing ceremony before we left on the ferry. A great ending to a beautiful vacation!

Room Tip: Room 116 is a beachfront bungalow with an amazing view! Let hotel know when booking if you are trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Address: Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Watersports activities, including snorkelling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.