We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful thaistyle resort at a quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful thaistyle resort at a quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed with my partner at the Holiday Inn Resort end of January for 2 nights. The location is at the other side of the island, a quiet spot if you want to stay away from the main tourist streams at Tonsai. It is a bit of an adventure to get there and you feel you discovered a hidden place. The resort has its own beautiful beach and the accommodation is simple but clean, the resort in a thai style built into the nature. Staff is very friendly and helpful and the resort offers a variety of restaurants, even cheap dishes available as well. The entertainment is little and the shopping options also almost not existent, you would need to book a longtail boat to get to Tonsai which is expensive unless you take a ride on the big ferry which runs a couple of times a day. But you want to chose the Holiday Inn only for relaxation and to book a day tour around Phi Phi. The hotel has a romantic atmosphere and ideal for couples, not so much for kids. The pool is very small but there doesn't seem to be much better options around on Phi Phi but you have the beautiful beach and ocean after all. Overall a very good experience, thank you.

Room Tip: it doesn't seem to make a big difference what room you chose, even close to the ocean and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Haxemitsauerkraut

Thank you for your comments and review about our hotel.
You are most right about the relaxing and romantic atmosphere our hotel offers, this is as you said mainly because we are far away from Tonsai.
We appreciate the compliments about our staff friendliness and the service we have provided.

We hope that you will be able to return to our hotel in a not too distant future

Sunny regards from Phi Phi Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    569
    177
    80
    54
See reviews for
257
833
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to this resort for our honeymoon and it was a very good choice ... Great location , Restaurants was good , helpfull stuff , the sea view bungalow was very romantic. I would recommend this place to anyone who want to relax

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear dalia_yousry

Congratulations once again on your wedding and thank you for choosing our hotel to have your honeymoon.
We are delighted to read that you had an amazing stay and hope that you and your husband will be able to return and celebrate your anniversary with us too.

Sunny regards from Koh Phi Phi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed its quiet location right on the beach. researching hotels on Phi Phi I was not sure if the location is too remote but I am glad I booked it. There are a few restaurants along the beach, we ate there most of the time. Our room (522) was at the end of the property, with view of the ocean (through a tree). It was spacious and very quiet. I agree with other reviewers that the furniture needs upgrading.

The beds were very compfy, the AC working quietly and the flat screen TV had some good channels. I particularly liked the outdoor shower. They have an indoor showe as well. Water pressure and temp was good.

Internet access in the room was practically not existing.

The resorts is large and for us the walk to the bar or main area of the hotel was far. We did not mind because it was beautiful and at least we got some exercise.

Overall the prices are on the high end, not only for the hotel but for all the restaurants along the beach.

On our last day we went to Tonsai Bay and I have to say that booking the Holiday Inn was a good decision. Tonsai Bay is overcrowded, loud, sticky and we felt the entire town is run down by too much partying.

Getting there: We ask the hotel for a pick up at the Tonsay Ferry pier. Upon our arrival there was a staff member waiting for us. He walk with us to the other side of town to another bay (only a 5 min walk) he carried our luggage and got it into the long boat. he put it into large plastic bags as it was raining and gave us towels and offer us rain coats. The long boat was 1,000BT. The ride took us about 30 mins. It was easy and smooth.

We did the same for the return and left about an hour earlier as suggested from the hotel to have lunch and walk around Tonsay Bay. This was plenty of time for us and we are glad we did not book the activity offered through the hotel to see Tonsay Bay.

We stored our luggage at the pier (3 pieces for 100BT).

Room Tip: If you are not into walking ask for a room close to the main area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Bettina369

Thank you for sharing your review about your stay at our hotel.
I am sorry that our golf buggy was not available during your stay to take you from/to your room, but am glad to read that you have enjoyed the walk through our garden.
As we are aware of the connection problems at the resort, we have decided to provide Internet free of charge and are looking to change some of the equipment so the signal can reach the rooms on the far end. I am most certain that our team will be able to resolve this in due course.

I agree with you that Tonsai can be crowded and not the perfect spot for relaxing, however if you are looking for parties it is a good place to visit.

Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your break, I truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Sunny regards from Koh Phi Phi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here.
Big, clean room with outdoor shower. Room was a bit uphill (just had to take some stairs) but in front of swimming pool and looked out of the sea. Restaurants/bar was good (breakfast, lunch and dinner), not special. Ok staff, nothing special there as well. Expensive hotel, but we did want the couple of days we were on koh phi phi to be good and all hotels on the island are quite expensive, so..

Do the trip to kho phi phi leh, magnificent!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Jacquelinevdhaar

How nice to read your positive review. You are certainly right in saying that Phi Phi Island becomes quite pricey during the high season. Maybe you would like to plan a second trip maybe in October? The weather is very pleasant too and the rates are lower than in November. We also provide repeating guests with preferential rates and benefits.
Please do not hesitate to contact me, should you plan to return.

Sunny regards from Koh Phi Phi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very secluded hotel only accesible by boat, incredible beach. The Hotel boat is a little spendy, you can get a better deal negotiating on your own. Food was expensive, Try the Restaurant Jasmine next to the hotel on the beach. Hotel has great rooms, and even has movies you can check out to watch in your room.

Room Tip: Try to at least get a partial ocean view, all of the rooms are individual cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear benjamin M4

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
For your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact us again, as we will have our own Speedboat and preferential rates for returning guests, which makes speedboat more affordable.
I am also sure that you will enjoy the delights offered by our New Executive Chef, who started a couple of days ago. Next month's signature dish: Tiger Prawns with tamarind sauce, coconut foam and Starfruit, which I have tried today and it was to die for.

Look forward to meeting you next time

Sunny regards from Phi Phi Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great location but nothing more. Rooms are dated, service is mediocre, everything costs extra and is far more expensive than it should be. This is a 3 star holiday inn like any other, don't expect more even though your paying 5 star rates.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear MTM155019

Thank you for you sharing your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel.
We are sorry to read that you found our resort overpriced. Please note that all goods get transported from mainland by boat once a week and that the island itself does not provide all the goods we need to run our operations. That is the main reason you will find why our hotel, as all other hotels on Laem Tong, are slightly more expensive than mainland hotels.
Pricing as with any other hotel, is based on season and demand, and I would be delighted to assist you in the future, to chose the best time of the year for you to visit us again and give us the opportunity of restoring your views on our resort.
Thank you very much once again for taking the time to upload your review

Should you decide to visit our hotel in the future again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on carol.waller@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wow...........what a place, location is amazing and the shacks are great,would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to KO Phi Phi!!i did get very sick for 3 days after eating a chicken dish at one of the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Salzy1980

Thank you for taking the time to recommend our hotel to future travelers. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We have noticed as per your review that you have stated getting sick after eating at one of the restaurants. We take very seriously comments like this and would appreciate if you could contact me via private e mail with more details about which restaurant you have eaten. Was it a beach restaurant in Koh Phi Phi or our hotel restaurant? Please feel free to reach me on carol.waller@ihg.com with a full recount of what has happened to you.
Thank you very much once again for the high score and I look forward to hearing from you soon and welcoming you once again to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island

Address: Lam Tong Beach | Phi Phi Island, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee-krab! Welcome to Paradise. Where else in the world can you walk from your bungalow straight on to a magnificent white sandy beach with coral reefs teeming with marine life? The resort is fully accessible from Phuket or Krabi. Guests from all over the world escape to Phi Phi to experience the tropical haven of Laem Tong Beach national park where Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island is situated. Tonsai Bay, the island's main township, can be reached within 35 minutes by long tail boat offering more than 100 shops, restaurants, bars and the fascinating sea view point. Watersports activities, including snorkelling, diving, canoeing, fishing and long-tail boat charters are available. For your convenience, contact the reservations team to assist you with your transfer bookings by speed boat or ferry from either Phuket or Krabi. To ensure a warm & efficient welcome, please provide us with your arrival and departure details ie. flight number and hotel or transfer details before and after your stay. Thank you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Holiday Inn Phi Island
Phi Island Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ko Phi Phi Don
Ko Phi Phi Don Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.