We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Power Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Power Beach Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Power Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Phak-nam Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 50 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

awful location, awful service, staff spoke terrible English and did not seem to have record of our booking.... we re named the place "powerless beach" as they turn the power off and on through out the day.... that being said the fan rooms had no fan during the power outages. wifi would only work in lobby. no real food available. thank god for the place next door or we would have starved. our room was up a long and very sketchy flight of "stairs" (if you can even call them that) varying in both shape and size making them very hard to navigate especially during the night.

there was so much trash littering the grounds and they seemed to dispose of it by lighting little fires all over the property....

place is a decently expensive boat ride away from the Main pier and once you're there you are basically trapped until morning.

if this was a cheap hotel I would chalk it up to "you get what you pay for" but this hell hole cost almost $100!

do not waste your money!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    3
    36
See reviews for
1
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've done my fair share of travelling around the world, Asia, Africa, Europe. This is by far the worst experience I've had. Check in was painful. Our room was at the top of the hill, the steps to get up there are an utter joke, so dangerous its unreal. We got into our basic but clean room, chucked out bags down and went for a drink in the resort next door. I came back alone on the evening for a shower and clean up before dinner. The whole 'resort' was in complete darkness. I asked the staff why there was no light. They laughed at me and said 'not today'. They gave me 'candles' which were beer cans full of petrol with a rag coming out like a little petrol bomb. I went into the room to try to have a shower, to find that there wasn't any water either!! I just went to the resort next door to have dinner filthy dirty. After dinner and few drinks i went back to the room, to find it riddled with bugs and a huge spider under the pillow. Luckily, I had friends staying next door so i slept on their hard wooden floor. I had a night there the next day too. I had to check out, this place isn't fit for human beings. Even ones ones on a budget. AVOID THIS 'HOTEL'

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a piece of crap! We booked in here to find absolutely nobody else at the "resort." You have to take another ($800 Bot) boat from KPP Harbour to this hole for starters. The beach is terrible and sharp. The restaurant was out of everything and the staff (also the hotel staff) didn't speak a lick of English!

Not bad enough yet? K here's the two final kickers. The electricity in the rooms (including wifi) is turned off until 6pm everyday cause the owner is cheap and cuts corners wherever possible. AND last but not least...the toilets in these raised bungalows do not have a pipe connected out the bottom. Meaning when someone in a room flushes...oh yea...you see it all fly out the bottom of the bungalow.

I'd rather try my luck sleeping in the ocean than spend another night here!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at the power beach resort at night to find the whole place in complete darkness. The staff just sat us down and then carried on doing whatever they were doing.
After a while we asked when we could go to our room and they didn't seem to have a clue what was going on and it was almost like they weren't even expecting us.
The room itself was okay, huge bed, sea view etc. But after digging out a torch to use the toilet all I found was cockroaches and an ice cold shower.
Within an hour of being here I was in tears.
The management couldn't care less about anyone's complaints and the whole attitude of the place was terrible.
The location is either a 1000tbh (£20) boat ride away or an hours trek through the jungle. The only positive of this is you are far away from all the noise and have a nice quite beach to yourself.
We made the most of our experience staying here but was glad to get away after 3 long nights.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Basically, we landed on Koh Phi Phi without having booked anything in advance expecting there to be at least a small choice of rooms - there wasn't, so we ended up with Power Resort and no wonder it was the only hotel on the island still available! We begrudged paying as much as we did being backpackers but it looked nice from the brochure and the situation sounded beautiful so we didn't dwell on it.
It is definitely NOT worth the money. The brochure lies and the beach is definitely nothing special. They obviously chose the name power resort to be ironic as they had at least three power cuts while we were there. People were trying to check in and they just abandoned them in the dark! Luckily we already checked in so we headed to the restaurant at the neighbouring resort (FAR better, stayed there the following night for less money, nicer beach, nicer staff!).
When we finally decided we'd have to return to our actually resort at some point, it was to more disappointment. The whole bungalow shook with every step, it smelt musty and left the smell on my clothes, the bathroom was like a concrete prison cell and the gaps in the floor were so big any number of bugs could crawl in. In fact I found the biggest spider I've ever seen hiding in my towel. It's like they've rushed to finish the place and done a rubbish job in the process.
The reception area doesn't have any information regarding tours or the local area but we did book a great half day tour again with the resort next door (Relax Beach Resort). Basically, go next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I will try to sum up as much as i can, this was the worst experience i've ever had in my life! total rip off for even 1$ (we paid 90$).
The hotel is far away from everything and can only be reached by boat, so you cannot go out at night to escape the miserable experience.
There was no electricity!!!!! rooms were full of bugs!!!!!!! Girls with us started crying after this experience!

DO NOT EVER GO THERE!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't EVER go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ok so we made the mistake of thinking we were booking the Phi Phi Beach Resort, which Expedia told us was the same as the Phi Phi Power Beach Resort. Expedia advertised this hotel (if you can call it that) as having a restaurant, wireless internet, stretch of beach, and fitness facilities. Upon arriving at this sad, tiny inn, the receptionist told us there is NO restaurant, NO wireless internet, NO electricity in fact from 6am to 6p, only a .15 mile sand area infront of the hotel which is both dirty and bug infested, and clearly no fitness facility or any other for that matter.

The hotel rep said we had to go next door to the Relax Beach Resort for a restaurant, coffee shop, convenience store, and to book any activities. HOW DOES ANY HOTEL NOT HAVE A PLACE TO BOOK ACTIVITIES?!

After an hour of sitting in our room miserable, having no electricity to freshen up, we decided to go to another hotel. We booked the Cabana Hotel on the main pier town. It is much nicer appointed, has a pool, restaurant, breakfast in mornings, and gym. It is of course, a little louder as it is in the main town and there are partyers, but we did not find the noise interfered with our sleep (it dies down at midnight). Also, this hotel had an actual stretch of beach and plenty of places nearby to eat and see. We are hoping Expedia will refund the power beach hotel as it was completely misrepresented by them as having a gym, restaurant, internet etc

Unless you are a fugitive on the run looking for an obscure place to hide or a writer looking to sequester yourself until you produce a novel, just don't book this. You will be SO disappointed, and for an island this pretty its just not worth it to have bad accomodations ruin your experience.

That being said, the Phi Phi Beach Resort looked nice from our longtail boat. Its off the main town area so it has seclusion, but it is a very short ride to town if you want more action.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Power Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Power Beach Resort

Address: Phak-nam Beach, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Power Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Phi Phi Power Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Power Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.