We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - what a nightmare!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phuphaya Seaview Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Phuphaya Seaview Resort to your Saves list
Phuphaya Seaview Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Kent UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OMG - what a nightmare!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My friend and I booked this resort for a 6 night stay through a travel shop in Bangkok at a cost of 18000 baht and it looked stunning on the website. What a shock when we arrived at the pier for our transfer to be faced with a good 20 minute hike, initially through the little lanes of the resort and then up a steep path through what appeared to be a residential area which included piles of very smelly rubbish and stagnant pools of water. The level of steepness increased until we were met by a motorbike driven wagon to take us and our luggage up the final incline to the resort. At this stage, before we had even checked in, our hearts were dreading the thought of having to undertake this trek a couple of times a day to access the town and the beach. By this time it was 13.00 hrs and we were told by the sullen receptionist that we had to wait an hour before we could check in to our bungalow. My friend and I sat on the terrace, and despite the lovely view, had to admit that it simply wasn't an option for us to stay at this location with the steep hill, no lighting on the path and being faced with the rubbish tips and piles of old tyres (god knows where from as there are no cars on the island) every time we wanted to leave the resort. We asked the 'sullen' receptionist if we could come to some sort of compromise ie: we pay for two nights and get a refund for the other 4 nights as we would not be able to make the trip up and down the hill because of a knee injury. We were faced with a completely blank stare and told that under no circumstances was this an option. We reluctantly decided to bite the bullet and cut our losses and asked them to call the Anduman Beach Resort to check availability for our stay as my friend had strayed there previously. This they kindly did and then tried to get us to pay THEM for the hotel with an additional 5 percent credit card charge (it's 3 percent everywhere else). Obviously we refused and a poor young lad transferred the luggage to the another resort. This was an expensive mistake and we should have made sure to have checked Trip Advisor before confirming the booking; we would never have considered this resort based on the mainly poor reviews.

Room Tip: We didn't actually check in!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    23
    22
    19
See reviews for
3
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here ! The staff was very friendly upon greeting us. Helped us with our bags and even took them to our room when we went out for the day. They helped with tours, places to eat and even talked about the island itself.

We stayed in the bungalow which was perfect. Sure you can hear the noise from the beach but it wasn't bad. There is a slight climb to the hotel but its very short and only 5 min walk from town.

We did book one more extra night and we had booked the wrong date through expedia. However, they totally worked with us and obviously switched the date.

The rooms are cosey, clean and close. I would reccomend staying. It really was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at around 6 different places on Ko Phi Phi and this was by far the best.

Yes you can hear the noise of the late night bars, but its the same for most places around the beach. There is a reasonably steep walk up from the beach but not as bad as some of the other hotels on the island.

Breakfast was the best value, the view was the best we found and the rooms far nicer than similar priced accommodation.

We had a mosquito net in our room which worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We made a booking for the wrong night, admittedly our fault. All we asked was to have them switch the day, the room has been pre-paid. They had available rooms & while waiting there they also had a cancellation that evening for a pre-paid booking. They still refused to work with us in changing the booking date. We had booked through Expedia, who also mitigated on our behalf. We understand that they have their policies enforced, however, it was their demeanor that was off putting to us! They were unrelenting, rude, and openly greedy, by saying "We are trying to make money now that it is high season!" We witnessed their rudeness to other guests as well, ignoring their small requests, e.g. requesting for extra towels for kids.
We second the motion on previous reviews, which is don't book here, there are other better accommodations on Phi Phi Island!!!

Room Tip: Be aware that Phi Phi Don (Tonsai Beach) is very noisy as this is a party haven. If you want more pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Phuphaya for one night in December 2012, we had been planning to stay on the island longer but decided to head straight to Koh Lanta after our night at Phuphaya...

Pros:
- As everyone else has already said the view is fantastic
- Phi Phi is a real party island and a lot of fun to visit

Cons:
- There is no mosquito net and even with repellant on we were both bitten multiple times (worse than anywhere else on our trip to Thailand)
- The room was incredibly basic and could get you something much nicer on other Thai islands
- The noise from the bars can be heard into the very light hours
- The walk to the beach/town involves a large hill
- The staff are very unhelpful and despite us booking our boat tickets to Koh Lanta through them and being told it included a baggage transfer to the pier a member of staff drove our bags to the bottom of the hill and left us to make the rest of our way on our own

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for one night during our honeymoon travels. Firstly expect to walk to the other side of the island when you arrive on the pier- allow 20mins. It is in a quietier part of The island. Great views, good service. Rooms are small bungalow style with basic features. Use the mosquito nets! We made the mistake of sleeping without and woke up in the middle of the night covered In bites. Breakfast is small and you can hear the partying of the island until 2am. This hotel is nothing flashy but nice with this setting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

in the heat, you do not want to be hiking up to this hotel. Then a second hike up to your room. Remember you may want to return to your room several times a day, and this location makes you dread returning.
The breakfast is also a big disappointment. Very stingy. You may choose, one of 4 or so choices. If you you choose, jam and toast, you will receive 2 pieces of toast, and a small pat of jam. You may have a small glass of juice OR a coffee OR a tea. Not good compared to all the buffet breakfasts I had at all other Thai hotels.
I was also very annoyed they only supply 2 bottles of drinking water on the day of your arrival. They would not supply us with water after the first day. Not impressed.
Finally, the hotel is covered with security cameras throughout the grounds, that are huge eyesores - at eye level - and pointed directly into the front window of our bungalow!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phuphaya Seaview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuphaya Seaview Resort

Address: 9/1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuphaya Seaview Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Phuphaya Seaview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuphaya Seaview Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.