We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable small room, but close to noisy bars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orange Tree Phi Phi Island

Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Orange Tree Phi Phi Island to your Saves list
Orange Tree Phi Phi Island
125 / 85 Moo7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000 , Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Clean and comfortable small room, but close to noisy bars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The orange tree was a bit hard to find, we came off the ferry in the pouring rain walking around the smelly alleys (street) with our luggage, had to ask the locals where it was and when we found it, it was hidden down a small alley. The reception was a small hut outside, the staff were friendly and took us to our room which was further up the alley in a small block of rooms. The room itself was very clean and comfy, looked a bit like a prison cell but that's not a problem for a short stay. Free wifi which was good. The shower was more like a wet room and you had to hold onto the shower hose as the entire bathroom would get wet otherwise! Can't put toilet paper down the toilet, If you do and it breaks there's a 10000 baht fine!

It's really close to an Irish bar so it was very noisy most of the night so not good if you're a light sleeper! Phi phi itself isn't a very nice island and it's really smelly and dirty! But the hotel itself was fine for the 2 days we stayed. Close to the ferry port which was good.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in April and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful! The main guy also spoke very good English. Located in the heart of the action, yet away from most the noise, the rooms at the Orange Tree were nice, a fair size and we found the beds to be comfortable to help get a good nights sleep. The rooms could do with being a little bit lighter as there are only 2-3 very small windows in the bathroom which is shut out by the bathroom door (but this probably helped us get a nice lie in to be fair!). You also had to make your own bed daily but this wasn't a problem. Facilities were ample and would certainly stay here again if we were back on Koh Phi Phi.

Room Tip: If they're out of double bed rooms, you can request that they put 2 beds together in a twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very clean and safe place. The host couple did everyhting they could to help us with absolutely everything. Clean towels everyday pls 2 bottles water complimentary. Good TV channels and a fridge. Room 3 is the best room, designwise.

it is placed in the mid of Tonsai Village so you can hear the biggest club from the room. So make sure to stay out until 2, when everythign quiets down.
I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Room nr 3 is the best one, when it comes to design of bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

- it is in the middle of the action,walking distance from the pier, close to the beach but if you can choose go to another beach, they have parties during the night on that beach so imagine what is in the water
-the owners are working at this guest house, very nice people, they can help you with anything, trip to the other island, it was even cheaper than booking at the pier, washing your staff, any advice i am sure that they will help you
- it is small and basic, they have i think 5 rooms.the rooms are clean, with tv, internet, ac, in room safe, hot water but small and with no window.
- l checked for hours for a hotel/ guest house and this was the best i could find for the price
-the french restaurant in front of the guest house it was my favorite from the entire trip of 18, days(good breakfast, lunch and dinner)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Extremely disappointing. The owners (husband and wife) seemed very nice when we arrived and were quite helpful with the laundry service and that. The room however was very small, no windows except for a small one in the bathroom, so with that door closed there was no light in the room. Lots of ants. Airconditioning was fine. Noise from the bars outside was very loud and went on throughout the night. My friend had put some jewellery in the safe on our first day there which we kept locked throughout our stay. On the morning we were leaving the items were gone. We both searched the safe and the room thoroughly but could not find them. When we were checking out we mentioned it to the owners who said they found nothing and had no idea about it. We were about half way to the pier when he came up behind us on a bicycle with the items in his hand and said he had found them in the safe under the mat. Not true. We had both checked the safe thoroughly - including under the mat. We were very glad to have the items back but if we had not mentioned it I am sure my friend would not have seen them again. In conclusion, the room conditions were sub-par and the owners are deceitful. Don't stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Basically, we arrived in November 2011 and already had accomodation booked for 1000 baht for the night at the hostel at the end of the alley where Orange Tree is situated. But it was horrible and smelt SO bad. The air conditioning unit leaked onto the light switch and there was this awful smell from the bathroom that made me gag A LOT. I've never smelt anything worse in my life. You could smell it from OUTSIDE the room too, it was that potent.

So, I got up early and went literally next door to Orange Tree and was shown the first room in on the right. It was lovely. Very small compared to the previous place, but it was SO clean, the bed was big, and the tv was MASSIVE. Despite the room being very small (only room for the bed really and to walk around 2 sides of it) it was so much better than anything we'd seen online or the hostel we stayed at the night before. Because we were right by the street there was a bit of noise, but you have to expect that in such a lively environment. So that didn't bother us at all.

The price - the man offered me the room for 900 baht, which was cheaper than next door and for the quality i was very suprised. Because I wanted to stay for more than one night, without me even asking, he knocked it down to 800 baht per night for each night i wanted to stay.

They couple at reception were so accomodating and were desperate to get in the rooms to give us a fresh towel each day! I was very ill wtih food poisining on one of the days and they seemed genuinely worried and caring. For some reason, one day when we came back from the beach, the cleaning lady was cleaning my boyfriend's flipflops because they were sandy which was very lovely of her!

I would recommend this place to anyone to stay. It made us completely forget our horrible first night in the hostel next door! If you want a big room, this is not the place, but if you like cleanliness and good service then it definitely is! By far one of the best places we stayed in all our travels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Negatives
The room is small, there were ants in our bed, there was a cockroach in our shower, there is alot of noise that continues well into the night, the water that came out of the shower was yellow, the staff were rude and imitated my accent when they thought i wasn't listening.

Positives
Location

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.3 mi away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#15 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
0.1 mi away
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
P. P. Palm Tree Resort
#8 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#10 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Dee Dee Beach House
Dee Dee Beach House
#1 of 52 in Ko Phi Phi Don
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
#7 of 39 in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Phi Phi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Phi Phi Island

Address: 125 / 85 Moo7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Orange Tree Phi Phi Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange Tree Phi Phi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.