We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coco's to your Saves list
Coco's
224 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly U.S. Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The rooms were nice and spacious, bahtroom was good, room could of been a bit cleaner, a bit far from the port but close to the many bars and restaurants and one of the beaches. They offer free transportation of your luggage between hotel and port. It was a bit hard to sleep at night since some people were being very noisy but I'm sure it was a lot quieter than most places on Koh Phi Phi. I booked the half day tour through them that went to monkiey beach, bamboo island, shark point. It was very nice, the snorkeling was good but we really didn't get to spend much time at shark point which was a bit disapointing, plenty of kayaks for everyone, it would of been nice if the boat men were a bit more helpful and gave you some information. But if you're really into snorkeling, skip this trip and go with the Adventure club, much better experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Katana 107,

Thank you for your review and mentioning that Coco's 'rooms were nice and spacious, bathroom was good'.

It is 12 minutes from the port and about 4 minutes to the village and the beach bars. We do offer luggage pick up at the pier (please let us know which ferry you are on).

Some people come to Phi Phi to dive, snorkel and beach hop and others do come for the party scene so now and again Coco's guests are disturbed by others. The standard aircon rooms are off the main village path and are quieter.

The Adventure Club offer great snorkeling tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    37
    15
    11
See reviews for
3
31
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Cocos is basic but has everything you need, good wifi, basic room and bathroom. Staff were really helpful when my friend and I were taken ill one day (we were very grateful!!). Near to the party beach but far enough away to have down time too.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Lara L,

Thank you for your kind comments and mentioning that Coco's 'has everything you need, good wifi, basic room and bathroom'. 1 star guesthouse rating of Coco's means that the fan room and the standard rooms are of a basic level.

Our staff are helpful and we are glad we were able to help you out when your friend was ill.

Our position far enough away from the party beach but close enough to get their in 4 minutes if you want to, is one of the key advantages of Coco's position and location. The village atmosphere does allow for some pleasant downtime.

Thanks once again.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suncheon, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. THE GOOD: the ladies were really nice and helpful; the location is perfect - it's a bit of trek from the port but worth it since it is far away from the noise (we had some inconsiderate neighbors though), but still close enough to everything you want to see and do; the bed is huge. THE BAD: the bathroom was really tiny. The space between the sink and the little shelf was uncomfortable small - this might sound like something silly but I could wash my face properly. Also the pipe to the sink was leaking. And the water pressure was horrible but that might be a general problem on the island

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear elri_nieuwenhuis,

Thank you for taking time to offer a review and feedback to tripadvisor and our guesthouse on our FAN ROOMS our most BASIC ROOM TYPE.

Thank you for mentioning <<the ladies were really nice and helpful; the location is perfect - it's a bit of trek from the port but worth it since it is far away from the noise, but still close enough to everything you want to see and do; the bed is huge.>> Our double beds in the Fan rooms are king size.

As to the bathroom, it is as they say, 'what it is'. These are traditional 1 star en suite bathrooms in FAN rooms our most basic room types. As to the leak at the sink, I hope you were able to tell reception about this issue so that we might fix it before it became inconvenient. Our maintenance man is on site all day.

The water pressure is low, a simple stream which, as you were right to believe is a problem with most of the island in the dry season. Being next to the side of the mountain and near the reservoir Coco's does have above average water supply and pressure.

Thank you once again for your kind remarks. Please come again.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

These days it's quite difficult to find any nice room on PhiPhi island, because the whole island is completely overcrowded. We had a room there for two nights before we got a chance to leave this former beautiful island. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, but it was really expensive. We paid 1300 baht for one room with fan, a double bed and a third bed, wich was a catastrophy by the way!!
The location is quiet, eventhough it's not really nice.
So, if you really wan't to visit Koh PhiPhi (I would really never do it again!!!) it's ok to stay here. There are not very much alternatives anyway!

Room Tip: Don't go to PhiPhi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Tobix921,
Thank you for your review.
Your commentary on the state of Phi Phi is probably correct for most of the people who have been to Phi Phi in January 2014. It has been extremely busy due in no small way to the Mob, crowd, disturbances in Bangkok (and this has pushed tourist south to the islands).

When the island is full the prices go up unless you book online before arrival. This is an old problem with Phi Phi. However thank you for mentioning 'The room was clean and the staff was friendly'.

Thank you for visiting and stating that 'The location is quiet' which it is.

For a quieter time to visit and a lot lower prices (40%), try the middle season 5th July till 31st August when the weather is by far the best low season months. It can also be a lot quieter.

Next time maybe?

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent a few nights at CoCo's and having already experienced some of the terrible hotels on the island we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the place. Great shower, fully functional aircon and they cleaned our room everyday free of charge. However what really put the icing on the cake was the friendliness of the staff. Unlike other places we had stayed, it was not all about money. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure we had a brilliant stay.

Keep up the good work girls!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Will O,

Thank you for your generous review of the Airconditioned rooms at Coco's and were 'pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the place'.

We have tried hard to make Coco's a friendly place and am very happy you had a a wonderful experience.

Happy travelling.
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Coco's is a simple guesthouse in a quiet zone of the bustling island of Phi Phi Don.

You will receive a warm welcome on arrival and the room will have been cleaned to a high standard and have good quality air-con and TV.

There is not much else to say, but if you want value and a decent night's sleep you should not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
travelbaggies,

Thank you for you review. It's great to comment on reviews where people have enjoyed themselves at Coco's. We spend a lot of time and make great effort making Coco's 'Clean and tidy' and the great location will always go in our favour.

By the fact you are staying in an air conditioned room with a TV I know you stayed in a Superior room which is our best room type.

Finally thank you for mentioning Coco's as good value and will offer guests a good night sleep.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Firstly, all the people who work at Coco's are so so nice and really friendly and helpful. We booked our trips through them and they gave us lots of advice about phiphi. My husband and I both got sick, but u recovered quicker than he did. This meant that he had to pull out the trip that we had booked the next day. At the last moment he turned up saying he was feeling better so he paid again as the guesthouse gave him a full refund. When on the boat he started to feel ill again and so went back to the room. He felt really bad for messing them around but instead of being hacked off they gave him a full refund again and were really concerned about him, told him to go to bed and rest.

I would give this place 5 stars just based on the staff!

The room was expensive for what it was...BUT that's phiphi, we generally found everything on phiphi more expensive than other thai Islands in the area.

The room had gone through a mini 'freshen up' so was very clean and bright. Unfortunately the bathroom was still a little worn with very low ceiling with ceiling tiles which meant if you brushed your hair in there your hand ended up in the roof.

The aircon unit was brand new, bed was comfortable.

The biggest downfall to this place is how thin the walls are...and only mosquito net on bathroom window instead of glass. The whole unit is made of wood, so can hear people in room next to us VERY clearly and could hear people in bathroom below us. When people walked on the balcony outside you got the vibrations in the room. Although the guesthouse is in the quiet area, this doesn't really mean much as other guests and people near by don't really pay attention to this. Although there are signs up saying to be quiet after 11pm, no one really pays attention to it. This meant we very rarely had a good nights sleep, even with ear plugs. Although during checkout we were told that the C block which we were in is going to be renovated to make the walls thicker. They are fully aware of the situation and are planning on doing something about it :)

The room wasn't cleaned during our stay either which was another mini downfall. Although I did ask and the cleaners did come, but my husband was ill that day so they wouldn't come in. I had to kind of point to the toilet roll to ask for more and they did come and empty the bin in the bathroom before they left.

Very simple room, with limited furniture, but it was fine for a few nights stay. If you are on phiphi for the parties then you will get on well here, unfortunately we were here for the scuba diving and the sights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzppcoco, Owner at Coco's, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Senior Contributor,

Thank you for your warm review. It is good to receive positive feedback from the experienced commentator. We do specialize on making our guests feel welcome and giving them some good ideas that might make their stay even better.

We are always sorry to hear when people get ill and hope this temporary bout of sickness has fully past. Suree and Kyla were only too glad to be able to help you through this difficult moment.

You are right to point out that Phi Phi Island is expensive. As one of the most photographed island tourist destinations in Thailand, if not South East Asia, it is no surprise that many come to see and stay on the island. As most of the island is mountain there are very few rooms and this pushes the prices up. Along with the inconvenience of bringing in everything by boat and transporting it all by trolley, it makes for a lot higher prices than the mainland and sometimes for less quality.

The Coco's standard air con rooms do have low ceilings (probably 10 cm lower than normal) and though it might make combing hair a little bit cramped for the taller person, it has the advantage of making the air conditioning work really well.

Thank you for mentioning the Coco's ' The air con unit was brand new, bed was comfortable.'

The traditional wood build of Coco's of the Standard Air conditioned room building does mean sound will travel. As said in previous mails, Coco's is on a public path and noisy walkers at night will occasionally cause a disturbance but I think this is par for the course in a 1 star guesthouse on Phi Phi Island. Thank you for commenting on it to the staff as this feedback does get back to the owners and helps them plan for further improvements.

The room wasn't cleaned because your husband was in the room (as he was ill). This is our policy and hope you appreciate that our cleaning staff are not trained up to deal with customers (this is a 1 star guesthouse) and do find this part of guesthouse life awkward.

Finally, thank you for commenting the following on Coco's ; ' Very simple room, with limited furniture, but it was fine for a few nights stay. '
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco's

Address: 224 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly U.S. Guesthouse)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco's Guest House is 250 m from Loh Dalum Bay. It offers clean and comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi. For guests' convenience, the property has a tour desk and airport shuttle service. All rooms are equipped with a seating area and en suite bathroom. Simple backpacker 1 star fan rooms over look the public road. 1 star Standard air con rooms are set back from the public road and though cosy have excellent air conditioning. Superior rooms have a flat-screen cable TV. The Superior air conditioned rooms offer the best quality accommodation and can be classed as 2 star. 4 people Family or group superior rooms are also available. Local restaurants, cafes can be found 3 meters from the property. LOCATION In the quiet end of the Phi Phi Don Village Coco's has a village charm, surrounded by other low key guesthouses, cafes and shops. Cashpoint ATM are 30 meters away from reception. Coco's is 30 meters from the start of the famous Viewpoint walk. The property is 2.2 km from Long Beach and 800 meters from Ton Sai Bay. Phuket Airport is 66 km away. DIRECTIONS On arrival at the pier, pick up our free trolley service and walk 12 minutes through the center of the village, past the Dojo and Reggae Bar central night bazaar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Coco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.