We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and quiet hotel in a super crowded island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PP Insula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PP Insula to your Saves list
PP Insula
194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really nice and quiet hotel in a super crowded island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is three minutes walk from the pier, however, it is not on the beach. Staff is helpful and nice, rooms are neat and clean, and very bright. This place is extremely quiet despite the fact that tonsai bay is a very crowded and noisy place, so getting back to the hotel after a day outside and roaming around the narrow streets and beaches of tonsai bay in a sea of turists, was quite a relief. The rooms are very confortable and cozy. Two bottles of water are provided every day, there is a safe in the room, and internet is good although the password is changed frequently, so remember to ask for it at the reception if you plan to come back after 7 pm when the recepion in closed. As a last note, the hotel is very safe, so you can leave valuables in the room worry-free.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
88
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Phi Phi seems to be an island of extremes - cheap or expensive. Although PP Insula isnt necessarily the cheapest looking at some of the other accomodation in the 'cheap' category I think it was a reasonable choice.
Its located very close to the pier which is a bonus when getting off the ferry in the heat with your bags.
The rooms are basic but generally clean (please not in responce to the review about the Bed Bugs in 202 when we stayed this room was out of action and did appear to be getting treated which we found reassuring). Our room became very hot as the sun was on it through the day and there was no black out curtain, the air con unit when put on was very smelly and we tried not to use it even though it was roasting.
Overal I think you could do alot worse. To get better your are going to be paying big bucks!
Final point to note you need to leave a 1000Bht deposit (this wasnt mentioned when we booked) as a key deposit. Got it back no issues however.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have to say on of the best managed, welcoming hotels on Ko Phi Phi. Walking on to the island for the first time is a bit overwhelming. First you are struck by the beauty of the Island. The eye is dazzeled by color, and your nose by the islands aromas. The beauty of Long Tail Boats, bright colored shops, tropical fauna and the blues and greens of the water. Okay, enough of that.

So to get to Ko Phi Phi you need to take ferry from Phuket or Ko Lanta. Most of these accommodations are easily made through your hotel or one of many street agent found in your city of origination. Our ferry ticket included transportation form the hotel to the ferry, round trip ferry tickets and a shuttle back to the hotel of your choice. Total cost was 1,100 Baht of around $33.00.
In the morning of your travel, a small shuttle will pick you up and drive you to the ferry. In our case we were in Phuket. It was a 10 minute ride from the hotel for the ferry terminal. It’s kind of a rundown little building with tourist, tour operators and boat hustlers all going a million ways at one time. Our driver quickly unloaded us and herded our little group to the ferry. Crossing tiny little brows and a couple of boats we made it you our boat. We put our luggage on a every growing mountain of bags. Pushed our way through the crowd and found a couple of lawn chairs in the shade of the ferries bridge. It was way too hot to go below decks.
The ride over to Ko Phi Phi is 48 kilometers and takes about two hours to get there. The ride is very enjoyable. It can be rough, so you might want to limit you alcohol intake the night before the trip. I watched more than a few big tough guys sprawled out topside looking a little green around the gills.
The sail over will take you by the island of Ko Phi Phi Lay, which is a specular outcrop of limestone cliffs adorned with tropical greenery, sugar white sandy beaches. After a jaw dropping cruise around the island you’ll come upon Ko Phi Phi Don. As some of you recall the movie The Beach was made there.
Upon landing and fighting the hoard for your luggage, you’ll find yourself on the pier. There is a lot going on here. People loading onto other boats, vendors hawking their goods and services and tourist wondering aimlessly trying to take it all in. There is a twenty Baht tax for landing on Ko Phi Phi. After paying your tax you’ll find yourself walking down the pier into a scene right out of the Pirates of the Caribbean. There are no cars on Ko Phi Phi, but the first thing you’ll be asked is if you want a taxi? A taxi Ko Phi Phi style is a local who will cart all your luggage and you if you want to your hotel. Fees will very dependent on the distances to your hotel. The “roads” are really just paths and sidewalks make of brick. No Hotel is more than a 10 or 15 minute walk at the most from the pier.
PP Insula Hotel is only a few blocks from the pier. Directions are as follows: Walking down the Pier make a right on the main road, wade through the crowd on the corner, then walk a short way to the first left. Then turn left and walk to the tee intersection, you’ll pass Anna’s Café on the right. At the tee make a right. Follow the road/sidewalk, it will zigzag and you come upon the Local Food Market. Right in the middle of the Local Food Market and on the left side between the electronics store and the little indoor conveniences store you will find PP Insula Hotel. The doorway is small and if you do like I did and gawk at the street food vendors on the right side and walk right past the entrance to the hotel.
The doorway is trimmed in gold with a red reader board over the doorway. The staff is very friendly. I was a little surprised that there was a 1000 baht deposit for your room key and night entry key, but no worries there. The manager speaks very good English, but the rest of the staff, not so much. Communication with the staff was never a problem. We were escorted to our room and shown how the key is used to keep the power on to the room. This is to keep people like me from running the AC when I’m not in the room. The room was well appointed. If you are used to staying at the Ritz Carleton, this room will be a bit of a disappointment for you. But if you have traveled as much as I have stayed at everything from two bit shanty to the Wynn Encore in Las Vegas, you’ll find that this room will meet your expectations. The room was very clean with fresh linens, clean towels, free Wi-Fi, in room safe, special night entry key, hot water and wonderful AC. If you are a nitpicker, I’m sure you’ll find plenty to complain about. There is no pool, but two wonderful sugar sand beaches within a three minute walk from your room. There is a pool you can use that is overlooking Lon Dalum Bay for the 60 Baht. We never made it to the pool, because we were at one of the most spectacular beaches in the world. I can go to a pool any old time.
There is no dinning at the hotel, but hey, walk out the front door of the hotel and there plenty of Thai BBQ, baked goods and fresh fruit, literally 10 feet away. There are dozens of restaurants within a three minute walk. What you will not find is a Starbucks or a Mc Donald’s (Thank God!) You want a good Mocha, try Capu Latte. This hotel could not be better located on the island. PP Insula is right in the middle of the isthmus separating Ton Sai Bay and Lon Dalum Bay. Only a two minute walk from the Pier and a 15 minute walk to the furthest part of developed part of the island. It’s very comfortable and very safe. The Inn keep will take good care of you and help you on your way. This is why we will come back to PP Insula… again and again….

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel, much more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

clean hotel close to the pier. Stayed for 2 nights dec 14-15th.

One major problem though on the first night, we were given room no 202 on the first floor and the bed was infested with bed bugs.Did not sleep the whole night. The bed bugs were seen mostly on the white comforter which i suspect has not been washed for long. Bitten all over and itching all over, could not have been more irritated because the hotel is definately not cheap either. There was no staff around at night to complain and get something done,. AT 5 AM in the morning, just could not stand it anymore and ran downstairs to wake up anyone around and she was like you ave to wait till 8 AM for the staff to arrive who can make discisions. SO until then, we asked her to make a bed on the floor with clean sheets and slept on the hard floor

When the staff came at 8AM, they were quite apologic and immediately gave us a new room, But was so scared of the ordeal the previous night, kept aside the comforter and we did not have problems of bed bugs .

Giving this hotel 2 stars because of the friendly staff, else it was a terrible stay cos now after we left thailand, whenever i think of the beautiful phi phi, the terrible night at PP insula haunts me.

If you ever stay there, once they assign you a room, test the bed to make sure its bed bugs free and ask for a replacement immediately if you feel even the slight ichiness. I felt it when we checked in and rested for an hour but thought it was some allergy from something else and ignored it.

Also notice that though the bathroms and the floor is spotless, i doubt if the linens ar changed after every checkout.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had some trouble finding the hotel at first, but when we got there we really liked it!
free internet access, and the rooms are very clean. They provide loundry service too.
Good location in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We stay here for 2 nights,between 7 and 9 december 2012.Lovely hotel în Phi Phi.Near local market,near seven -eleven, near Phi Phi beaches, near shops! Clean rooms.Take rooms on the top floor.But reserve with few weeks before your arrival!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Me and my girlfriend chose this due to the positive reviews. The rooms are nice and clean, but the place is a bit of a soulless large hotel.

Good location in the centre of Phi Phi, very easy to find.

It's a bit pricey and you can find cheaper places which are a bit more personal.

In terms of Phi Phi in general - be aware that it's way too crowded (particularly with people who looked like they took a wrong turn on the way to Marbella) and the hub of Ton Sai is pretty smelly. The main beach is crowded and littered. This island is all about the nightlife (which is really fun) and going out on day trips to the more untouched areas. Explore a bit... Also, be aware that it's a little pricier than other islands and the mainland.

Room Tip: They all seem the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PP Insula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Insula

Address: 194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your PP Insula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Insula Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Insula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.