We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple in good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PP Insula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PP Insula to your Saves list
PP Insula
194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean and simple in good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

You get everything you get from a hotel at pp insula, except things like pool and breakfast (who needs a pool on phi phi??). Solid and nice room with a/c. Friendly and helpful guy in the reception, we borrowed snorkeling equipment for free. Hotel is very central in the town, but good distance to the noisy bars. I can't remember hearing the bars actually.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quieter and has better view than 2nd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    26
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
88
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just arrived & walked five mins from the pier. They had two rooms left so we took one. 1800 bahts due to the islands high season and lot of other places were full. 3 day minimum stay. The bathroom had new fittings / tiles and strong hot shower. The room is cleaned each day with strong wifi. I can't hear any clubbing.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed at the PP Insula with my finace in December at a cost of 1,500 THB per night. This was more expensive than accomodation in Phuket but seemed to be a reasonable price compared to other guesthouses / hotel on Phi phi.

My expectations were high as my fiance told me we were staying at the best rated guest house (per Trip advisor) on Phi phi. Because of this I was a little disappointed when I arrived - however, there are terrible reviews of other accomodation on Phi Phi and so this may be the best on offer for a reasonable price.

The decor in the rooms is very basic - there's definatley no luxury feel, although our bathroom looked recently refurbished and was very clean. We were on the 3rd floor and had a partial sea view and small balcony which was lovely.

Staff try to keep the hotel as quiet as possible to allow a good sleep. There are signs asking you to remove shoes before walking in the corridors - I think this really works.

The location is great - just a few minutes walk to all the bars and action but far away enough to be a little quieter. It is on flat ground so no hills to climb to reach the guesthouse, unlike some of the other accomodation.

There is no food served at the hotel but right outside is a food market full of street vendors and opposite are a couple of particularly good seafood vendors. The 7-11 next door is also useful for water / snacks.

Due to the peak season, we had to pay a deposit via western union which cost a few pounds extra.

All in all an ok hotel which does what it says on the tin - somewhere to sleep and keep your belongings safe.

Room Tip: Due to safety on Phi phi it's better to ask for a room off the ground floor - however, bear in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Okay so the price is a bit more, but it is so worth it. There is a local market below you on the street, which means you are straight into the non-party zone and you can sleep at night without that horrible boom boom (okay so now I sound old, but what the hell I am nearly 40 and I hate that music!). The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. We stayed for two weeks and felt at home. Third floor looking over the market are the rooms to ask for (nice views and great for people watching). - if you enjoy a walk head out to Long Beach on the land, there are lots of idealic beautiful quiet beaches before you hit Long Beach and if you get a longtail boat you miss all the heavenly places! Enjoy

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking local market
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Best hotel in PP perfect price quality range. Very nice rooms, awesome stafff (Aneing is the best!), no stealings very quiet at night ...its just the best place to stay in PP!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Well located hotel with very friendly staff and resonably prices!!!!
We've chosen the place based on the reviews read on TripAdvisor and it was good choice. The place is located close to the pier so you dont have to carry your bags for a long distance. The noise from the clubs do not reach the hotel so you can sleep during the night. The only minus a long distance to beautiful Long Beach (20 min walk). However there is smaller beach just 1 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Great little guest house/ hotel. We arrived on the island with no booking and managed to get 2 nights in a twin room facing the markets. The room was clean, spacious and with great views. We liked it so much on Phi Phi that we stayed for 5 nights and this hotel was a great choice, close to all the action but not right on the main bar streets. Its wasn't the most luxurious hotel ever but for the price it was really good value, can see why all the other reviews rate it so highly.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PP Insula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Insula

Address: 194 mu7 T. Ao-nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your PP Insula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Insula Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Insula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.